ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Laura Mcmahon Is this you?
  • 13
  • 0
  • 3
  • 2
  • 16

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
8.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Laura Mcmahon?


34 Ratings with 18 Comments

1.0 Rating

September 14th, 2014

Not an option

As a colleague in the mental health field looking for a psychiatric referral for a patient, I was extremely disappointed in Dr. McMahon's treatment. She was rude, unprofessional, impatient and inappropriate in her comments about a troubled person in addition to misdiagnosing the person. I am not sure if that was "a bad day" for this doctor but I would not take my chances again.

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 18th, 2011

Gross misdiagnosis & treatment of my child....Arrogant, unprofessional

This doctor is now on staff at an in patient adolescent treatment facility in upstate New York. She not only misdiagnosed my 11 year old daughter and put her on antipsychotic medications she didn't need, she over medicated her to the point where I feared for my daughter's safety. Dr. McMahon completely disregarded the fact that I continued to voice concerns over the treatment and the quick increases and dosages of medications. And although I verbally objected, she continued with dosage increases. Dr. McMahon has no time for parental concerns or parental insights on their own children.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 11th, 2011

she was the best doctor!

I have been seeing Dr Mcmahon for over 6 years, she is great, smart, educated and a wonderful doctor. I am blessed to have had her in my life and be a part of my treatment.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 6th, 2011

All around excellent Dr.

I have had nothing but great experiences with Dr. McMahon in the 3 years that I have been seeing her. She is extremely prompt with appointments, full of knowledge and suggestions, and I have never felt rushed or put off. She always has time to answer any questions I have. Dr. Mc Mahon goes out of her way to make herself available to her patients and answers her calls promptly. Her staff is also very helpful, I have never found them to be anything but kind and professional.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 2nd, 2011

Misdiagnosed my daughter

Dr. McMahon misdiagnosed my 13 year old daughter- put her on medication that had harmful side effects. Furthermore, she misdiagnosed my daughter and set her on the wrong course for life! We are now suffering the repercussions at age 18 from this tragedy!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 8th, 2011

Pediatric Visit

I take my son to see Dr. McMahon- She makes us very comfortable at every visit. We have no problems with scheduling imprompt to appointments or getting medication refills. She is a great doctor for our son and has helped us out a lot. Sometimes I feel like she could spend more time talking to him, but that is hard with his condition.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

December 4th, 2010

she is very knowageable and didn't just start a medication until she evaluated the full situation.She is good with children and supportive to parents

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

October 19th, 2010

Rude and Cold!

Dr. McMahon was rude and acted as if she didnt care about my son at all. She hardly talked to him and said he would never go to college because he couldnt handle it and recommended he get put behind a year in school because he has a learning disability. He is 7! What a horrible thing to say to someone!! I was rushed at the appointments and when I talked to her, she just kept writing in her notes and never looked at me. The kicker of all this, my insurance changed and I could no longer afford to take my son to her. I asked for her to call me and help get my son of meds and she refused to help unless I went into the office. I couldnt and I never heard from her again. She left my son hanging and that tells me she never cared about his well being! I had my family practitioner call me and she helped me out. I would never recommend her to anyone, ever!! She needs to go to a school for manners!!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 6th, 2010

Bad bad bad doctor

Very rude to her patients. She insulted me.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

July 27th, 2010

Office staff is rude and unhelpful. Dr. was rushed and made me feel as though I was a burden. She seems to have good knowledge, but I will not be returning. I felt judged by her and her front desk staff.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 25th, 2010

Might seem uptight but give her a chance....

Many of the reviews rate her as cold or uptight and she does come off that way at first, but give her a chance. She has a lot of insight to offer and is an expert re: meds. The more appointments I have had with her the more I benefit from her knowledge.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

May 18th, 2010

Not personable

Seems very well educated, but you can tell she likes to be in control all of the time. Never looks at you when she is talking to you and is almost rude at appointments. She likes to get you "in and out" of there as quickly as possible. Counceling staff are newly out of college and don't have much experience.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Laura Mcmahon is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Saratoga Springs, NY.

  • Dr. Arlene Nock

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Saratoga Springs, NY 0 mi

    4.7
    (10)
    32
  • Dr. Catherine Ushchak

    Adolescent Medicine, Psychiatry, Child Psychiatry

    Saratoga Springs, NY 0 mi

    4.3
    (4)
    16
  • Dr. Adrian Morris

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Saratoga Springs, NY 0 mi

    4.1
    (23)
    37