The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Laura Van Houten Is this you?
  • 13
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
10.7 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Laura Van Houten?


18 Ratings with 4 Comments

1.0 Rating

October 30th, 2013

Was a horrible birth experience. I was disappointed in her lack of professionalism and bedside manner. I am changing OB's. I would not recommend her. She also would not give any recommendations when there were options and was asked her opinion on which was best. She has only been in practice 4 years, I would recommend finding an OB with more experience.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 29th, 2012

Little time for patients and little care

My experience with Dr. Van Houten has been unfortunate. She does not seem to give time nor care for her patient, in my experience. I have been left with a feeling that I am on my own. I would like to have a doctor who seems to care about the patient and would be a bit more involved, even if it were at least during the check ups. Dr. Van Houten is a pleasant person, but does not give the care I would expect for something that required real attention and care such as preparing for a birth.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 5th, 2011

Very caring doctor

Dr. VanHoutten was an awesome baby doctor. She was so sweet and seemed to really love her job. My other kids loved her and she was very kind to their many, many questions. I will definately refer my friends to her and use her again if I have more children.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 19th, 2011

Great Doctor

Dr. VanHouten made my first pregnancy experience a wonderful one. She is a caring doctor who always answered all of my questions (I had a lot) with honesty and always made me feel comfortable and well cared for. I am certainly going to have Dr. VanHouten care for me again for my next pregnancy.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

May 7th, 2016

5.0 Rating

April 24th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

January 28th, 2016

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

October 7th, 2015

4.0 Rating

July 7th, 2015

5.0 Rating

June 9th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

February 27th, 2015

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

January 16th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Laura Van Houten is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Portland, OR.

  • Dr. Timothy Dooley

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Portland, OR 0 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    40
  • Dr. Jessica Voge

    Obstetrics and Gynecology, Anesthesiology

    Portland, OR 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    7
  • Dr. Carmen Doom

    Obstetrics, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Residency

    Portland, OR 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    8