Dr. Laurence Higgins MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.2
  • 51 patient ratings
  • 16 comments

Last 12 months:

3.5 (-0.7)

16 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    69%
  • Satisfied
    10%
  • Neutral
    2%
  • Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    12%
  • Wait Time 31.9 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
August 29th, 2016
Made a BIG mistake
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'ma 57 years old phd mathematician in Amherst university, I went to Dr. higgins for left shoulder pain impingement back in 2012 and since then he has done 3 surgeries on me and all failed. Now I have pain and limitation more than ever. My rotatorcuff suparspinatus and infraspinatus is ruined and the failed biceps tenodesis has completely deformed my arm. I spend so much time in the waiting rooms past 4 years with him and months and months of PT all gone to waste I feel sad and regretful. If you want to see an orthopedic surgeon do in depth research and don't fall for the appearance and the show they put on to get you in the surgery room. GOD BLESS
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 26th, 2016
Rude and Condecending oh ya 3 hours late too
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
His PA was fantastic but after waiting for 3 hours to see him he was very brief, Condecending and rude. Decided to go to someone I trust as I don't trust him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 17th, 2016
Mixed Reviews
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Waited over 3 hours to be seen!! Saw his assistant who then acted as if she was reading my paperwork, yet then continued to ask me the same questions (an obvious stall tactic) Poor bedside manners by all staff at the Chestnut Hill location. Dr. Higgins was knowledgeable, and pleasant once I saw him. Reluctantly I booked surgery with him anyways based on the fact that I'd prefer expertise over manners for this surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 15th, 2016
BAD Doctor
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Higgins was constantly late for my appointments with no explanations. Never returned my phone calls until weeks after. Always saw an intern and not Dr. Higgins. He was over two (2) hours late the day of my surgery. Wanted to do another procedure after the one he performed did not rid me of my pain. I would never go to this SELF CENTER Doctor again...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
April 29th, 2015
Definitely disappointed!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
After waiting over a month to see Dr. Higgins for shoulder pain he was an hour late for the appointment (no apologies) and he sent his "fellow" in first who was so arrogant and condescending ;I was speechless. All swagger--no people skills. Higgins himself was fine; but that's about it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
February 11th, 2015
Too busy for in-depth care pre and post surgery.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Definitely felt like a number. You only see Dr. Higgins every 2nd or 3rd visit. Obviously he has a busy practice and has no problem letting his assistants let you know that every chance they get.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 8th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Higgins has done both shoulders and I cannot recommend him highly enough
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 24th, 2012
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Higgins is one of the most skillful, dedicated, and compassionate doctors I know. The waiting time is sometimes long, but it is only because he takes the time he needs with you. He also has an extremely busy practice, and that says something about his skills as a doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 7th, 2012
One in a Million
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was afraid to have a shoulder replacement. When I met Dr. Higgins I was instantly confident he would make it better. Not only did he make it better but he did it with kindness and patience which is an unusual quality in Surgeons today. He gives his time and shows he cares. He will be my Surgeon forever.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 25th, 2012
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Higgins is one of the most knowledgeablem sjillful, and caring doctors I have ever known. He is an amazing doctor. He is an amazing person.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 13th, 2012
Absolutely the best!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I visited Dr. Higgins for shoulder pain. My problem wasn't the most extensive, but he and his staff made me feel that fixing the problem was as important to them as if I'd still been the professional athlete I'd once been. He was sold to me by someone from Duke University as the best and that person was right. Arthoroscopy and the PT he recommended were spot-on. My fixed shoulder is better than the one I was born with. I have recommended him highly to others who have all raved about him as well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 21st, 2011
Simply the best
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After being operated on by supposed experts for my dislocating shoulder (4 failed sugeries at NWH, Baptist and MGH, Dr. Higgins performed a miracle and I am pain free and playing tennis again. He is kind, compassionate and truly cares about his patients. I have sent my family and friends and they all agree - he is a star.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Laurence Higgins, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Boston, MA.

Doctor

Dr. Mark Hatch

6 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Sophia Strike

5 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Thomas Thornhill

46 years experience

4.6 of 5