ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Lawrence Crossett Is this you?
  • 61
  • 7
  • 5
  • 7
  • 14

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
23.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Lawrence Crossett?


94 Ratings with 26 Comments

5.0 Rating

August 17th, 2017

Hip and knee replacement. I'm very satisfied.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 31st, 2017

Disabled for Life

I was referred to this man by my cousin, who is also a physician. I was told that he was one of the best in Pittsburgh, so I overlooked his immediate demeaning attitude because I was more concerned about the level of his skills than I was about his bedside manner. Big mistake! I had a total hip replacement by him in 2013 and here we are, 4 years later, and I'm still using a cane in order to walk with some degree of normalcy. Without the cane, I have a severe limp (called Trendelenburg Gait). After 1 year had passed since the surgery, Crossett finally recognized that there was a problem, given how severely I limped. In fact, he said, “that's one of the worst limps I've ever seen.” Instead of ordering additional diagnostics, other than an x-ray, he simply ordered more physical therapy. I had already gone through 6 months of formal PT. Regardless, I did another 4 months of PT and still had no improvement. I endured his arrogance and lack of professionalism for over 1 1/2 years and decided that it was time to seek another opinion. I found a surgeon at Magee Hospital who explained that the surgical approach that Crossett uses (lateral approach, going in from the side of the hip area) can result in issues with the muscles because they are cut. The new surgeon immediately ordered an MRI and, lo and behold, it revealed that I had a torn and detached gluteus medius. This is the muscle on the side of the hip that controls one's gait. My new surgeon attempted a revision. The results were good and bad: Good because he was able to reattach the muscle; bad because since the muscle had been inactive for over a year, it had atrophied. I will be using a cane for the rest of my life! Please learn from my mistake and go with your initial gut instincts about whomever you select to perform your surgery. I was turned off by this man from my first appointment, but I decided to hang in there. Crossett was arrogant, narcissistic and down-right rude from the beginning. Had I listened to my inner voice, I would not have walked out of his office – I would have run out!

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 10th, 2017

Patient Beware!

I was referred to this man by my cousin, who is also a physician. I was told that he was one of the best in Pittsburgh, so I overlooked his immediate demeaning attitude because I was more concerned about the level of his skills than I was about his bedside manner. Big mistake! I had a total hip replacement by him in 2013 and here we are, 4 years later, and I'm still using a cane in order to walk with some degree of normalcy. Without the cane, I have a severe limp (called Trendelenburg Gait). After 1 year had passed since the surgery, Crossett finally recognized that there was a problem, given how severely I limped. In fact, he said, “that's one of the worst limps I've ever seen.” Instead of taking responsibility for it and discussing possible testing or methods to correct the problem, he simply ordered more physical therapy. I did another 4 months of PT and still had no improvement. I endured his arrogance and lack of professionalism for over 1 1/2 years and decided that it was time to seek another opinion. I found a surgeon from Magee Hospital who explained that the approach (lateral) that Crossett uses can result in issues with the muscles because they are cut. The new surgeon immediately ordered an MRI and, lo and behold, it stated that I had a torn and detached gluteus medius. This is the muscle on the side of the hip that controls one's gait. My new surgeon attempted a revision. The results were good and bad. Good in that the muscle was now reattached; bad because since the muscle had been inactive for over a year, it had atrophied. I will be using a cane for the rest of my life! Please learn from my mistake and go with your initial gut instincts about whomever you select to perform your surgery. I was turned off by this man from my first appointment, but decided to hang in there. Crossett was arrogant, narcissistic and down-right rude from the beginning. Had I listened to my inner voice, I would not have walked out of his office – I would have run out!

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 27th, 2017

dr crossett replaced both of my knees 2 years ago and gave me my life back he is amazing

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 21st, 2016

Wonderful doctor

Had gone to another doctor for knee replacement in January. In three weeks, knee became infected, another surgery. Doctor had him coming month after month for appointments without being proactive for three months. Now we are into October and it was twice the size of the other knee and he was in terrible pain. A friend recommended Dr. Crossett and we got an appointment right away. He spent an hour with us along with his intern, Brad, who is excellent. They said they would do surgery again and this time place a spacer with antibiotics in place of his knee due to yet another infection. He is currently resting at home until we go back yet again in 6 weeks to put his knee back in. I am so glad we found Dr. Crossett. He knows his stuff.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 15th, 2016

Avoid like the plague if you need a great surgeon who is also compassionate

He had a preconceived opinion about me based on my medical history (fibromyalgia) before he ever entered the exam room. When we spoke, he barely examined me and then told me that my examination and x-rays were unremarkable. He didn't care about my symptoms or pain level and pretty much dismissed me.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 25th, 2016

Dr Crossett is an excellent surgeon & amiable individual. He replaced both of my knees with perfect results & I have referred friends & family to him. Trust him with your orthopaedic needs.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 8th, 2015

Dr. Crosett did a double knee replacement on me 4 years ago--love him!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 9th, 2015

Metal poisoning leads to death.

Obnoxious know it all. My spouse died from metal poisoning from a J&J Pinnacle hip. Of course he denied everything and defended J&J who compensates him very generously for pushing their faulty devices.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 11th, 2015

Exceptional care.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 10th, 2015

40+ years of knee pain gone! Should have done sooner.

Excellent Bi-laterial knee replacement

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 8th, 2014

surgery

No i would not tell people to go to him he made a cripple out of me,

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Lawrence Crossett is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Pittsburgh, PA.

  • Dr. Michael Omalley

    Dr. Michael Omalley

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Pittsburgh, PA 0.01 mi

    4.8
    (4)
    24
  • Dr. Adolph Yates Jr

    Dr. Adolph Yates Jr

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Pittsburgh, PA 0.01 mi

    4.6
    (54)
    33
  • Dr. Richard Mcgough

    Dr. Richard Mcgough

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Pittsburgh, PA 0.01 mi

    4.5
    (38)
    21