Dr. Lawrence Serif DO Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery Palm Springs, CA

Overall Rating

3.0
  • 35 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

3.1 (+ 0.1)

35 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    29%
  • Great
    20%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    9%
  • Bad
    37%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 16.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
February 16th, 2017
Appointment to discuss knee surgery.
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was very rude, acted like he was God. At one point he told me to do my knee surgery since I knew so much. Kept telling me we have to follow protocol even while we were looking at xrays of my knee that shows there is no cartilage there. He walked out on me. Very unprofessional.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 18th, 2016
Dr Doom
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
In my 65 years of life, I have never experienced a more insensitive, non-compassionate, impatient Dr!! I had hip surgery and when I asked for pain medication he said he doesn't GIVE OUT narcotics. He prescribed a medication that did nothing but make me tired. I told him once that I had a few questions and he said he only has time for one! The worst experience I've ever had with a Dr who should a least ACT like he cares. The worst bedside manner ever!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
November 5th, 2015
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have always had a great experience everytime I see him. His staff has been friendly and professional.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 22nd, 2015
Very satisfied
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent bedside manner and explained everything. Got in for same day appointment/surgery for my 17-year-old.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 23rd, 2014
great doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wonderful care .Dr Serif was patient and took ample time to explain and answer questions with my elderly mother. She really liked him and I do too. I may need surgery myself and he is my choice of doctors!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
January 29th, 2011
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
The nurse Dorian was too busy to read the directions Dr. serif gave him. Instead of giving me a removable cast he put on a permanent one. I need to remove my cast to do physical therapy. When I told nurse Dorian this, he gave me attitude about having to re-do HIS mistake. It wasn't my mistake but he acted like it was. In addition to his bad attitude he left 3 staples in my elbow. I of course can't see my elbow because of limited mobility. I noticed a tight pulling on my elbow while trying to do my exercises. I felt with my right hand and touched the 3 staples missed by Dorian.Needless to say im not very happy
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 12th, 2010
Atrocious!
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Serif is arrogant, dismissive and rude... actually beyond rude. This was our first meeting and yet he couldn't bother to spend more than a few minutes with me, wouldn't listen to my concerns, and as I attempted to get a satisfactory answer to the question, "What should I do?", he turned on me, berated me, raised his voice, got in my face and told me, in so many words, to shutup and quit asking for special treatment! I tried to defend myself, asking him not to raise his voice to me, but that only increased his level of animosity. Finally, he said he'd "spent enough time on this" and stormed out of the examination room. I was stunned, shaken and could not control my tears. Did I mention that I'm a 60 year old woman? I have never had a worse experience with a health care provider in six decades of going to the doctor! (This is a stark contrast to his entire office staff, who could not have been more pleasant, efficient and helpful!) I have no idea if this man is a good surgeon, but he has no business meeting with people who are not under anesthesia. He exhibited not one ounce of compassion, couldn't pretend to care, has a hair trigger temper and couldn't control himself enough to keep a civil tongue in his head! But even if he couldn't bring himself to conduct himself with medical professionalism, let alone as a polite human being, the least he could have done was to give me the courtesy of treating me as a CUSTOMER! After all, my six or seven minute appointment no doubt put several hundred dollars into the coffers of his practice. He should remember that the next time he decides to unload on someone he has just met. I would rather live in pain or go outside my insurance plan and pay 10 times as much to someone else, than to ever go near him again!

4.0 of 5
May 23rd, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
May 23rd, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 13th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 28th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 10th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Lawrence Serif, DO is similar to these 3 Doctors near Palm Springs, CA.