Dr. Lawrence Stokar MD Patient Reviews

  • Dermatology West Mifflin, PA

Overall Rating

3.3
  • 50 patient ratings
  • 18 comments

Last 12 months:

3.8 (+ 0.5)

18 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    38%
  • Satisfied
    18%
  • Neutral
    10%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    28%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Friendly Staff
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Wait Time 29.2 minutes
  • Promptness
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
June 23rd, 2016
Stay away from this office, the are completely rude, and don't respect their patients
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
I am a prior patient of Dr. Stokar. I have recently switched insurance and when I made my appointment for my yearly skin check, they took my insurance info over the phone and said they would "pre-certify" it. Once I got there (yes, they let me keep the appointment and waste my day), they told me they did NOT take my insurance. I said, "OK, well what is your cash office visit price, I'm just here for a skin check," and was told that they will NOT see me, even though I am a prior patient of the doctor's. The office manager hid in her office and wouldn't speak to me, and they wouldn't bother the doctor to talk to me. Yet, knowing they did not take my insurance, they let me waste my day to come there in person to tell me. They treated me like I was insurance-less scum, instead of a valued and respected former patient of theirs. I would not recommend this office, even if it was the only one available for miles and miles around. Save your time and money for a staff that will respect you and your time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 3rd, 2016
Pros and cons
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Horrible long wait . Girl at front desk overly too busy , she kept apologizing. Told her not her fault. I waited two hours after complaining was left in a room for longer. I became more irritated after listening to the doctor "joking " . I asked for a refund and was told I needed to see the manager which no one seemed to know where she was. The office was chaos. I felt bad for the front desk girl.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 11th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Love James !! He is the best !! As well as Dr. Stokar !!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 26th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Thorough, gets right to the point and addresses the problem. Seems to know his field of practice. Average bedside manner; tells you like it is, doesn't sugarcoat things I would see him again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 8th, 2015
Fixed my problem
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
he knows his stuff
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 16th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This Dr has never seen me in less than 1hr of my scheduled appt. when you do see him it's for 2 min he's to busy
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 27th, 2014
Very Satisfied
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I was pleasantly surprised after reading all the negative reviews here. I called last week, got an appt. for this week, when all the other dermatologists in the area had no appts for new patients for weeks or even months. I arrived early, at 9, since I was a new patient and would have paperwork to fill out. My appt. was really for 930...and I was seen within 10-15 mins of my actual appt. time.I had several issues to bring up, and Dr. Stokar listened to all of them...one I even forgot about, he'd left the room already, and the nurse said she would ask him...Dr. Stokar himself came back into the room to speak with me about it. I found the staff friendly, the office clean, and when I call the office get a real person right away, rather than "press 1 to....etc". I highly recommend Dr. Stokar.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 4th, 2013
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Horrible experience--after long wait times at previous appointments, made first appointment of the day. When I got there, he had scheduled 6 other patients for the same time!!! I told office staff that I had another appointment I had to be at and couldn't wait long. After half an hour I told that I had to leave in a few minutes. The dr was outside of exam room when she relayed this to him. After hearing the doctor and the rest of the office staff laughing, the doctor then went into the exam room next to me. Since the walls are paper thin, I knew this man went in 10 mins after I did!! I left the office - I will find a different dermatologist!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 9th, 2013
Do not like
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Ease of getting appointment is awful. Doctor extremely "cold". No follow-up what soever about diagnosis but he sure did send out his bill in a timely fashion!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 7th, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Stokar was very personable. Treated my problem and scheduled a follow up. Did not have to wait long in waiting room or treatment room.

1.0 of 5
June 12th, 2012
Rate this doctor? I can't even talk to someone to make an appointment
Easy Appointment
I've called 3 times to make an appointment to see this doctor. The first time the message said they were closed. The second time, they were closed but at least I got office hours. The third time, I called during the posted office hours and was told they were closed. When I did talk to a person she said "they should be open but I'm not sure what their issue was today". I'm going elsewhere. I wanted to use her as I live fairly close but the aggravation is really not worth it, I'll travel.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 5th, 2011
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Always a long wait but he is worth the wait. I have been a patient for over twenty years. I have no complaints about Dr. Stokar.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Lawrence Stokar, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near West Mifflin, PA.