The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Lawrence Strohmeyer Is this you?
  • 5
  • 0
  • 2
  • 1
  • 6

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
30.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Lawrence Strohmeyer?


14 Ratings with 7 Comments

1.0 Rating

May 30th, 2015

I can't even imagine the damage this man has done to his patients over the years. I bet if all his past patients questioned by the Medical Board they would be horrified by the stories. With that said I still have sympathy for the man as he obviously is suffering from his own issues. Overall its a sad situation for his patients, his personal dogs, and of course for him.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 1st, 2014

Not competent to be licensed or practicing. Ever.

He truly believes 'everyone should take neurontin'. Many patients were diagnosed with 'bipolar', and inappropriate medication was prescribed by the handful.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

September 11th, 2011

A long-time patient

I have been seeing Dr. Strohmeyer for more than 10 years. At one time, I saw him every other week; now I see him between once a month and every three months. I have been impressed with Dr. Strohmeyer's compassion and caring. He has seen me through some very difficult situations including an extremely damaging and stressful employment situation, and the loss of both of my parents. Without Dr. Strohmeyer's assistance, I honestly do not know where I would be right now. He has helped me to understand my diagnosis and helped me to find peace. Dr. Strohmeyer does perscribe medications, but he has never insisted that I take a specific medication when I did not want to do so or did not think it was doing me any good. He has without exception always listened to me, helped me to understand why I feel certain ways and how I can live with my personal history.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 11th, 2011

watch out

This Dr. loves to prescribe medication and lots of it. He will prescribe so many differen meds at once that the meds start cancelling out one another. This man has a reputaiton which patients should find out about before they get bad treatment.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

March 18th, 2011

Very happy

I felt like Dr. Strohmeyer was the first psychiatrist I have seen that took the time to not only get to know his patients but to inform them as well. He does prescribe meds but they are often necessary with conditions that would warrant a trip to a psychiatrist. Over all I have been very happy with my experience and would recommend him to anyone.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 18th, 2009

Practices as Doctors Once Did

I don't know the circumstances of the other reviewer with Dr. Strohmeyer. My experience with him has been excellent. Not perfect. However, we, as patients, often must look at the intangibles a provider brings to us. It is these on which I rate Dr. Strohmeyer as excellent. He is a rare breed. He is driven by a thirst for knowledge. That inquiry opens doors to illness that most docs neither care to, or have the time to, pursue. Evidently, Dr. Strohmeyer MAKES the time. He cares deeply for his patients and helping them through whatever psychiatric or physical situation they face.Yes, he prescribes medication. However, he does not overdo it, nor will he allow a patient to stay on a med if either he or the patient feels it is the wrong med for the problem.In short, then, I would highly recommend Dr. Strohmeyer for anyone needing treatment for psychiatric or neurological disorders or pain treatment.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 30th, 2009

Be Careful

This doctor likes to give out alot of medications. I was much worse after seeing him.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 9th, 2016

2.0 Rating

October 14th, 2015

1.0 Rating

February 17th, 2015

1.0 Rating

September 17th, 2014

5.0 Rating

October 12th, 2011

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Lawrence Strohmeyer is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Winslow, ME.

  • Dr. Janis Petzel

    Psychiatry, Neurology, Clinical Psychology

    Waterville, ME 0.74 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    20
  • Dr. Mary Louisa Barnhart

    Clinical Psychology, Psychiatry

    Waterville, ME 0.74 mi

    4.0
    (4)
    34
  • Dr. Paul Minot

    Dr. Paul Minot

    Psychiatry, Neurology, Diagnostic Radiology

    Waterville, ME 0.74 mi

    3.7
    (3)
    36