The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Larry Zemel Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Larry Zemel?

Asthma

More than 22 million Americans of all ages have asthma. Prepare to talk to your doctor about symptoms, diagnosis and treatment options.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Larry Zemel?

Ratings and Reviews

25 Ratings with 10 Comments

  • Excellent
    15
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    6
  • Excellent
    15
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
13.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 25 Ratings with 10 Comments

1.0 Rating

December 3rd, 2012

I would not recommend this dr.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 4th, 2012

lyme disease

Having read the reviews, knowing my son was not responding to the oral meds, I was a bit concerned as to what his stance would be. He actually was very responsive, admitting my son into hospital to ensure that the arthritus was specifically lyme and not septic. He involved the orthopedic team and the infectious diseases expert. Based on the symptoms and the lack of progress with oral meds, he prescribed IV meds. There is a lot of controversy about Lyme Disease, he is one of the state leading experts. He is considered conservative in his approach so I was reasured that my son really did need the treatment prescibed. It so far has been very effective.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 20th, 2011

Patient parent
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

3.7 Rating

May 26th, 2011

I was pleased about how seriously he took my daughter's vague but persistent concerns. I knew she hurt but because she is quite young she did not know how to describe what kind of hurt it was. He really worked hard to have her explain in a way that he and I would both understand.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 22nd, 2011

Dr.Zemel has treated our child for three years. His attention and care he shows is wonderful when dealing with his patients and our child who has a chronic disease with no cure. His efforts to reach out to know his patients should be encouraged to all physicians. The compation and care is immeasurable.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 8th, 2010

What Doctorsused to be and should be

Dr. Zemel combines the personal care and attention of the "old school" doctors with the expertiseand efficiency of a modern practice.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 10th, 2009

Don't be fooled: this guy is good.

My experience with Dr Zemel has been so far very good. He's taking care of my 18 months old daughter and he is one of the few doctors she smiles at (after all she went through). Medicine is a far from perfect but it is Science and follows the rules of Science: that's how Medicine progresses, just like electronics went from light bulbs to computers. I'm offended by the "lyme activism" against him. Don't be fooled. Read serious authors, read credible authors. Not necessarily difficult authors: for example just read "Every patient tells a story" by Lisa Sanders who wrote a very easy to understand chapter about the controversy around lyme disease.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 15th, 2009

Misdiagnosed Advanced Lyme disease

He told us that our daughter had Chronic Fatigue and that her positive Lyme test was a false positive. She has gotten sicker and sicker and has finally seen a doctor who said that her Lyme test was not false but her disease had already turned into autoimmune and that is why the IGg did not convert and Dr. Zemel should have known that. The Lyme has gone to her central nervous system she can no longer go to school. She really doesn't leave the house. Aetna is hasseling us about IV antibiotics because they just don't want to pay. We just got them approved with the help of the CT State Medical Ombudsman.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 17th, 2009

Best in the buisness

He has put my mind at ease as a parent and is always interested in my dayghters best interst.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 11th, 2009

Although he came very highly recommended, we had an awful experience with him. I never expected a pediatric specialist would speak so cruelly to an upset child that was in pain. We will never go back.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

April 17th, 2017

5.0 Rating

August 2nd, 2016

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Larry Zemel is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Hartford, CT.

  • Dr. Jesse Sturm

    Pediatric Emergency Medicine, Pediatrics

    Hartford, CT 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    11
  • Dr. Jennifer Berrick

    Pediatrics, Residency

    Hartford, CT 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
  • Dr. John Peng

    Dr. John Peng

    Pediatric Emergency Medicine, Pediatrics

    Hartford, CT 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    27