Overall Review

3.9
  • 24 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

3.7 (-0.2)

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    63%
  • Satisfied
    13%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    25%
  • Wait Time 13.2 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

1.0 of 5
December 2nd, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would not recommend this dr.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 4th, 2012
lyme disease
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Having read the reviews, knowing my son was not responding to the oral meds, I was a bit concerned as to what his stance would be. He actually was very responsive, admitting my son into hospital to ensure that the arthritus was specifically lyme and not septic. He involved the orthopedic team and the infectious diseases expert. Based on the symptoms and the lack of progress with oral meds, he prescribed IV meds. There is a lot of controversy about Lyme Disease, he is one of the state leading experts. He is considered conservative in his approach so I was reasured that my son really did need the treatment prescibed. It so far has been very effective.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
May 26th, 2011
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was pleased about how seriously he took my daughter's vague but persistent concerns. I knew she hurt but because she is quite young she did not know how to describe what kind of hurt it was. He really worked hard to have her explain in a way that he and I would both understand.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 22nd, 2011
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Zemel has treated our child for three years. His attention and care he shows is wonderful when dealing with his patients and our child who has a chronic disease with no cure. His efforts to reach out to know his patients should be encouraged to all physicians. The compation and care is immeasurable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 8th, 2010
What Doctorsused to be and should be
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Zemel combines the personal care and attention of the "old school" doctors with the expertiseand efficiency of a modern practice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 9th, 2009
Don't be fooled: this guy is good.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My experience with Dr Zemel has been so far very good. He's taking care of my 18 months old daughter and he is one of the few doctors she smiles at (after all she went through). Medicine is a far from perfect but it is Science and follows the rules of Science: that's how Medicine progresses, just like electronics went from light bulbs to computers. I'm offended by the "lyme activism" against him. Don't be fooled. Read serious authors, read credible authors. Not necessarily difficult authors: for example just read "Every patient tells a story" by Lisa Sanders who wrote a very easy to understand chapter about the controversy around lyme disease.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 15th, 2009
Misdiagnosed Advanced Lyme disease
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He told us that our daughter had Chronic Fatigue and that her positive Lyme test was a false positive. She has gotten sicker and sicker and has finally seen a doctor who said that her Lyme test was not false but her disease had already turned into autoimmune and that is why the IGg did not convert and Dr. Zemel should have known that. The Lyme has gone to her central nervous system she can no longer go to school. She really doesn't leave the house. Aetna is hasseling us about IV antibiotics because they just don't want to pay. We just got them approved with the help of the CT State Medical Ombudsman.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 17th, 2009
Best in the buisness
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He has put my mind at ease as a parent and is always interested in my dayghters best interst.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 11th, 2009
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Although he came very highly recommended, we had an awful experience with him. I never expected a pediatric specialist would speak so cruelly to an upset child that was in pain. We will never go back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Lawrence Zemel, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Hartford, CT.

Doctor

Dr. Shabnam Lainwala

20 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Scott Schoem

31 years experience

4.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Francois Coutu

1.0 of 5