The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Leland Johnston Jr Is this you?

Filter Reviews

13 Ratings • 5 Comments

4.0
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
10 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Leland Johnston Jr?

Showing 12 of 13 Ratings

Excellent

Posted on March 30th, 2016

I've been a patient of Dr. Johnston for several years. He is extremely knowledgeable, compassionate, generous with his time, and easy to work with. Payment has always been straight forward and fair. I'm very comfortable referring other people to Dr. Johnston, and I'm grateful he's in Boulder!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Money-driven

Posted on February 11th, 2015

Seems to have an agenda in diagnosing bipolar disorder, even when he is mistaken. Generally friendly and good bedside manner. VERY hard to reach, especially in times of urgent medication matters. Charges for ANY amount of time he spends on you, even reading a quick text or email...makes patient feel like an ATM, not someone he is genuinely interested in seeing get better. Doesn't respect patient's time..I've shown up early for my appointments and he has made me wait into my appointed time every single time, yet always ends when my appointment was scheduled to end. Seems highly intelligent, yet almost too erudite..very hard to connect with him and you almost feel like you are being lectured as opposed to listened to and worked with. His secretary is rude and condescending. I truly wouldn't recommend this doctor to anyone.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Money Hungry Not Interested in Helping

Posted on May 21st, 2013

Won't take insurance, fine. Won't help you with insurance, fine. Charges you for his time if he has to call insurance, not fine. Charges you to read your emails and respond, ridiculous. Charges $130 to fill out a form that took him 5 minutes to fill out. Over charges, and doesn't care. Get behind in your bill of ridiculous charges and he won't let you fill your prescriptions until the bill of ridiculous charges is brought up to date.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Leland Johnston review

Posted on May 21st, 2012

I have been seeing Dr. Johnston for awhile. He was referred to me by a physican I trusted and have never been disappointed. Dr. Johnston is knowledgable, professional and has a comfortable bedside manner. I highly recommend him.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Experience, Compassion and Dedication Matter

Posted on January 9th, 2012

I have worked with Dr. Johnston on an intensive basis due to fairly significant mental health issue. Dr. Johnston has the experience and knowledge base to address even the complicated circumstance. His compassion reveals itself quickly and clearly upon any conversation of difficulty, but serves as a comfort backdrop rather than an expression that overtakes or interferes with the conversation. Dr. Johnston has clearly dedicated himself to a specialty he continues to be intensely interested in, works diligently to expand his knowledge of, and enjoys immensely, all of which is undeniably apparent in his patient interactions

Doctor's Response

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your comments and effort to express appreciation. Lee Johnston

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on June 22nd, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on May 21st, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on August 24th, 2014

Five Stars

Posted on June 12th, 2014

Five Stars

Posted on March 28th, 2014

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

One Star

Posted on February 28th, 2013

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on June 18th, 2011

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Leland Johnston Jr is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Boulder, CO.