The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Lisa Columbia Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Lisa Columbia?

Ratings and Reviews

16 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    4
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    7
  • Excellent
    4
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    7

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
34.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 16 Ratings with 7 Comments

1.0 Rating

April 2nd, 2017

Lied! Inaccurate diagnosis

My son just saw her at American family care in Irondale. I am apalled at her lack of patient care. She tested my son for the flu and strep and both came back negative. He presented with a sore throat, fever and headache. She told us it was probably microplasm and wanted to prescribe an antibiotic for him. Since he presented with no symptoms of microplasm I requested a CBC to be done to ensure it was a bacterial infection. She said sure and The tech drew blood. She came back and said that he did not have microplasm but definitely a bacterial infection and wanted to give us the antibiotic. I asked If his white blood count was elevated and she said yes. I then asked what it was and she said she couldnt remember but over 10. She prescribed the antibiotic and walked out the door. I walk to the front desk to check out and requested a patient print out of today's visit. Nothing on the paperwork showed that a CBC was performed. When I asked further questions I was told that in fact a CBC was not done! She lied to my face! Dr. Columbia said so herself and shrugged it off as though she got us mixed up with someone else. I feel as though she was just in a rush to get to the next patient and get us out the door. I believe this was a blatant lie. So my son does not need the antibiotic that she was so freely willing to prescribe without much care!! This is a major problem!!!!! We were one of two patients present in the clinic at the time. No excuse for such a mixup. And if I had not asked for a print out I would currently be giving my son a medicine he did not need!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

June 9th, 2016

This Dr is the most rude and disrespectful Dr I've ever met, she has very poor social skills and doesn't even speaks or ask how are you when entering the room. She doesn't even knock before entering a room. Needs training on how to communicate with patients. I'll never see her again nor recommend her to anyone else.!!! American Family Care should be careful of who they hire.....

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 23rd, 2016

Dr. Columbia is the most focused Doctor I've ever dealt with! She has always made me feel as though I was the only patient she had to see! I have considered her as a friend just because that is how she makes you feel❤️

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 21st, 2015

The most abrupt and disrespectful doctor I have ever encountered. Poor social and medical skills. Her staff didn't like her.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 6th, 2012

Excellant Doctor

A while back I Went to the clinic where Dr. Columbia is the doctor. They do not make appointments, so when I arrived I requeested Dr. Columbia. She diagnosis my illness, proceed to give me 2 shots and explained the shots and then she wrote out 2 perscriptions. Now I have a problem with this clinic...Dr. Columbia is no longer working at the clinic and no one will tell where she went. The front desk people were very rude!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 2nd, 2012

The office staff is okay, the nursing staff is always nice, the lab technician is always nice, this Doctor came in the room, looked into my child's mouth, said "Yep, it's _____", turned around and started walking out the door, said as she was leaving, "We will call in the prescription, Good-bye." That was it. The Doctor prescibed amoxicillian for my 9 yr old 98 pound daughter....500 mg three times daily. That seems a bit excessive to me. I will not be returning to this Doctor.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 12th, 2010

I called ahead to see if they could see my daughter and get an xray of her knee. (She had fallen and I was concerend about a possible break.) Since they do not take appts, I was told to get there between 3:30 and 3:45 in order to take an xray. I arrived and signed in at 3:40. At 4:30 I was taken back to the room, but was told that the xray machine had been turned off at 4:20. When I questioned why I had waited so long to see her and hten had hte machine turned off before I could use it, I was told that paperwork had taken too long. Essentially, this doctor stole my copay and then sent me on my way.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

December 5th, 2016

4.0 Rating

November 30th, 2016

4.0 Rating

November 30th, 2016

1.0 Rating

October 13th, 2015

3.0 Rating

March 17th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Lisa Columbia is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Birmingham, AL.

  • Dr. John Morgan

    Dr. John Morgan

    Family Medicine

    Birmingham, AL 0 mi

    5.0
    (11)
    24
  • Dr. Michael Chandler

    Family Medicine, Emergency Medicine

    Birmingham, AL 0 mi

    4.9
    (7)
    42
  • Dr. Patrick Dang

    Family Medicine

    Birmingham, AL 0 mi

    4.4
    (23)
    13