ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Lisa Yamakawa Is this you?
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 7

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
22 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Lisa Yamakawa?


18 Ratings with 9 Comments

1.0 Rating

August 18th, 2017

Rude and very condescending
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

July 20th, 2017

Lousy Attitude

Believe the negative comments. The only times we have taken our boys to her were for sick visits. This is usually how you get to know the new doctor in the practice. Both times we had to go back to our regular pediatrician for correct diagnoses and treatment. She is very dismissive and has her mind made up when she walks through the door. We have taken the kids to an immediate care facility to avoid her. This isn't a personal attack.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 30th, 2017

Insensitive doctor with very poor diagnostic skills
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

2.0 Rating

February 26th, 2016

I'm glad to read that others find her bedside manner dismissive and condescending, because for the longest time I've thought perhaps it was just me. She definitely takes an "I'm the expert" approach and, while taking time to listen to my perspective as a parent, she always finds a reason to dismiss my concerns. Unfortunately my kids really like her, they want a female doctor and she's the only woman in the practice, so I kind of feel stuck with her. :(

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 2nd, 2013

Diagnosed my son with something absurd because he had one symptom for it, even though the location was wrong and the other symptoms don't match. Horrible bedside manner and is definitely condescending. I have only had to deal with her a few times for sick visits and it makes me want to leave the practice even though I love my kids regular ped. Front desk staff have attitudes but the nurses are nice.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 13th, 2013

I have a very hard time believing that the negative reviews below were written about the same "Dr Y" that we have been going to all this time. My son has a number of behavioral and physical health problems and I have never felt ignored or patronized, she explains things better than his specialists do. Once she even saw him on a Sunday morning when he had been up crying all night and it turned out he had a terrible ear infection. Show me another doctor who does that.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 14th, 2012

Left the practice after 15 plus yrs

I have 6 children. I had been with this group for over 15 yrs. I was very happy with them until Dr. Y arrived. I find her rude and condescending. She is bossy and does not listen to parents concerns. I have 3 grown children and have never experienced such a poor bed side manner. She overlooked several serious conditions that my youngest child has, even after I pointed the symptoms out to her. I would highly recommend that you find another Dr.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

March 27th, 2012

Practice skills questionable

The office staff and other doctors in the practice of Children's Medical Group are very nice. Unfortuantely I found Dr. Yamakawa's bedside manner to be very dismissive even though I had valid concerns about my child's health. Her dismissive demeanor resulted in a delay of treatment and misdiagnosis on two separate occasions. On one occasion my child required surgery and the second occasion resulted in my child being medevaced to a children's intensive care unit. I am very concerned about Dr. Yamakawa's practice skills beyond treating the common sniffles.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 15th, 2009

Great doc!

Dr. Y always listens to my concerns and has been right on with her diagnoses. And my kids love her!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 16th, 2017

Wait time
20 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

January 14th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

January 21st, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Lisa Yamakawa is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Salisbury, MD.

  • Dr. Francis Celeste

    Dr. Francis Celeste

    Pediatrics

    Salisbury, MD 0 mi

    4.3
    (7)
    9
  • Dr. Saadat Panni

    Dr. Saadat Panni

    Pediatrics

    Salisbury, MD 0 mi

    4.0
    (11)
    30
  • Dr. William Clendenen

    Pediatrics

    Salisbury, MD 0 mi

    3.0
    (2)
    37