Dr. Lorena Lewy Alterbaum MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

2.5
  • 26 patient ratings
  • 20 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 2.5)

20 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    31%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    19%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    46%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 36.1 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
June 13th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent customer services the staff were attentive. The doctor was very knowledge and caring willing to get me back on the right track.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 4th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
I love my doctor! I've been going to her for years. I find her very caring. I have nodules on my thyroid and she monitors that routinely. she also diagnosed me with type II diabetes when no other doctor that I had been going to did.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 30th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
The most unprofessional office I have ever encountered. I see a lot of Doctors and I have never had such aggravation in my life than with this Dr's office. They made numerous mistakes. I called to make an appointment the put me on hold for 15 minutes I finally hung up. Do your self a favor DO NOT USE THIS DOCTOR. So sorry I did. If I would have read the reviews 2.5 stars now I know why.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 22nd, 2015
Greedy, unprofessional dr and stuff. Patients be aware and avoid at all cost
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was only by NP every time bc all I needed was to monitor my thyroid levels during pregnancy after my ob gyn decided to increase my dosage without checking my thyroid levels. So every time I went they will charge a copay of 25 although I know that for follow up there should me no charge. Last time they charged me $50 and they also send me a bill of $25 after I reported them to my insurance.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 12th, 2015
Very good doctor. Caring Pactice.
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The doctor is caring and she spends time with her patients. Her staff are well trained and respond to the needs of the patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 3rd, 2013
Greatly Surprised
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I've been going to an endocrinologist for over a year and besides been too far from me (originally recommended from my primary dr.) I had to wait for a long time, my prescriptions had to be called several times, etc. I was recommended to Dr. Lewy-Alterbaum from the Dr. who did my thyroid biopsy. I called, made my appointment and decided to check on the "reviews" after reading so many negative stuff I thought "what have I done? same story?" but I decided to keep my appointment. So here's my experience: I was greeted nicely when I got there. My former Dr didn't send my records, so I had to call them again; by then the girl at the reception was very understanding and nice; and very patient! After I got all my records, I barely had to wait to be walked to a room to get my pressure, weight and all that, girls who did that was also very nice. Then walked to another room to wait for a Dr. I picked a magazine, saw an article I liked and couldn't read it because Dr. was coming in. I got checked, explained everything and sent for blood work and ultrasound (u/s done in the same office by Dr. Lewy-Alterbaum). Walked out thinking that maybe because I was a new patient everybody was nice. Today was my 2nd appointment after blood work for my thyroid u/s same thing, everybody super nice and Dr. Lewy-Alterbaum explained everything very clear and answered all my questions very nicely. Glad I didn't cancelled my appointment the 1st time :)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 29th, 2013
Dr. with Attitude
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Alterbaum does not care for her patients. She does not listen,gives poor advice, and has massive attitude. DO NOT GO TO THIS DOCTOR !
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 1st, 2013
DISGRACEFUL!!
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred to Dr. Alterbaum, however I only saw the PA., who was very impatient and rude at times. How dare you ask a question concerning your diagnosis, she seemed offended. They keep you waiting and when you do go in it's 5 minutes and then she rushes you out with paperwork for bloodwork and the next appointment. I paid good money to see the the Dr. and I expected better service. I eventually requested Dr. Alterbaum,who seemed to be upset because I wanted to see her and not her and not her PA. I would not go back nor would I recommend anyone to go there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
May 30th, 2012
Could Improve on PT Service
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Aside from the sucky service you might get from the front desk girls. The Dr. does not follow up on pt care. I'm changing Dr's now, it's a waste of time for me to go to this Provider, who doesnt care for me. When I did meet her once, I can recall her doing her job, well. But out of sight out of mind.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 3rd, 2012
I love the doctor, but I hate the PA.
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was a steady patient of Dr. Lewy Alterbaum in 2009-2010, back when she had an office in Hollywood. She would spend a lot of time chatting with me and making me feel comfortable during my visit, and seemed very knowledgable and caring.I just returned to her office (new location) this year and was surprised to see it was much nicer looking. Unfortunately, her staff ruined the entire experience for me. The women at the front desk treat you like nothing, making an appointment is difficult due to their limited hours, especially Fridays. Obviously for someone with a full time job, it is hard to find a time/day that works, so a little patience and caring is needed from the staff. But they get frustrated and make me feel like an annoyance. Once finally in for an appointment, no eye contact is ever made by the women at the front desk. I waited about 45 minutes (I consider this normal for the doctors so I'm not complaining) and am brought into and office where I wait another 20-30 minutes, to meet the PA, who spends about 90 seconds with me, asks no personal questions whatsoever, never looks at me, and rushes me out promptly to make my follow-up appointment. I remember feeling shocked, and really upset that that is what I get for the $40 copay, nothing but a slip for bloodwork for my follow-up.I am going to my follow-up today, hopefully it will go better.But based on these other reviews, my expectations are low, and I am 99% I won't be going back to her office again...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 11th, 2011
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Did not pay attention To my needs or the meds that were listed on my chart. Shefocused on everything but what I came to her for. She doesn't care about herpatients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 28th, 2011
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I only get to see the PA everytime. She seems fresh out of school, I cannot discuss any issues with her , I'm glad i only need refills for my thyroid problems.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Lorena Lewy Alterbaum, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Hollywood, FL.

Doctor

Dr. Aleyda Borge

35 years experience

4.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Salvador Mora

29 years experience

4.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Kenneth Gelman

35 years experience

3.9 of 5