Dr. Louis Gelrud MD Patient Reviews

  • Gastroenterology Richmond, VA

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 14 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.4)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    50%
  • Great
    14%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    14%
  • Bad
    21%
  • Wait Time 32.8 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

4.0 of 5
January 19th, 2012
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
he is quick to get you into a endoscopy/colonoscopy if he suspects anything. I am not sure how he follows up quite yet....my problem still exists but he claims no big nasties were present.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 5th, 2011
great doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
you know, the trouble with reviews is only the unhappy people post them. i have had two colonoscopys done by this doctor. he is wonderful, caring, and i have not one complaint. you couldn't be in better hands..
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 28th, 2011
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent and caring doctor. When I had an insurance issue with a colonoscopy at one office, he immediately rescheduled me at another facility and saw me there one hour later. He was thorough and explained my cancer to us with great care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 18th, 2011
Stay Away!
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to see this doctor for extreme acid reflux. He told me to take Prilosec and immediately scheduled a colonoscopy. I later needed an outpatient procedure and was told by his P.A. that I had to schedule it through their "concierge", who had an unprofessional attitude and usually gave me wrong information, scheduled me for the wrong facility, etc. If I called the office to bypass the "concierge", the P.A. would tell me "You'll just have to go to the ER".No concern, no urgency, no followup by Dr. Gelrud. If you want a diagnosis, you won't find it here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 19th, 2010
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would not recommend anyone to go see this doctor. He is uncaring, unprofessional, untimely, and just plain rude. After putting me through a year of round about tests and discriminating against me because of my age and gender, I finally had to beg him to do the one test I knew I needed. And then even with the biopsy results and report from another doctor right in front of his face, he refused to treat it and said I should look into seeing other GI doctors.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 25th, 2010
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Took 3 days phone tag to get an appt for 2 1/2 weeks later. Waited 1 hr 20 min before I saw him and I told him- then he asked me what I had! He never looked at the report of my CT scan and lab work. Then found them and just scheduled a colonoscopy- what a pain in the butt- ha! I am going to find someone else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 2nd, 2009
Love this doctor!
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Gelrud is the second GI I have seen in Richmond. I picked him because he was listed in Richmond Magazine as a "Top Doc." I am so used to giving nurses my medical history and then the doctor coming in for a brief check. Not Dr. Gelrud. He was unusual in how in depth he went into the history of my pain. I really felt like he would have a true picture of my illness because he actually took the time to listen to the whole story. I thought he was fantastic. Sweet, caring man.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 25th, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
long wait in waiting room, did not listen to problems or history, only wanted to input into laptop and rush to schedule a colonoscopy that he told me in ex room wasn't necessary yet.

1.0 of 5
April 10th, 2008
No bedside manner, Unprofessional
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Gelrud was not interested in hearing my medical history, gave me an incorrect diagnosis, and charted incorrect information on my chart. He was ineffective, rude, dismissive and uninterested. I would not reccommend seeing this physician for anything more complicated than acid reflux.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 13th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 2nd, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 24th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Louis Gelrud, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Richmond, VA.