ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Louis Kraus Is this you?
  • 22
  • 4
  • 1
  • 2
  • 49

Quality Rating

Neutral

Wait Time
19.5 min
Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Louis Kraus?


78 Ratings with 26 Comments

5.0 Rating

June 22nd, 2016

Dr. Kraus has provided our family with the best possible care with a down to earth, personal approach.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 24th, 2016

Dr Louis Kraus is a crook. Do not use him for custody cases. He will say anything for the attorney paying his fees. He should lose his license.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 14th, 2015

This man is a complete moron and doesn't care about the best interests of children involved in custody cases. Stay away, he couldn't be any worse.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 11th, 2014

Professional in the field. Fellow dr

Dr. Kraus is an extremely well educated child psychiatrist, as well as a forensic psychiatrist. One side is always going to not favor what Dr Kraus has to say. Dr. Kraus does nothing but invest his time improving the. Juvenal system both here and through out thre country. Before you slander a pioneer in our field door your research! Who do you think is responsible for the execution of children under the age if 18 being outlawed. Not to mention this Dr. See' some of the sickest children in the Chicagoland area. I guess you don become the Chief of a psych program if your a fraud!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 18th, 2014

Avoid this hired gun

This "Dr" is absolutely the worst evaluator in my opinion and thankfully the judge in our divorce agreed. The judge reviewed Kraus' report and basically said it was poorly organized, illogical, biased and gave virtually no weight to the findings. I will not go into great detail, but suffice to say, Kraus is a hired gun, many times retained by the more unscrupulous family law firms. He bullied and coerced my kids in an attempt to sway their interviews, made them uncomfortable and charged tens of thousands of dollars in fees. In short, as others have said, he embodies everything that is wrong with family court and the countless parasites that make their living in this area. My advice is to avoid him and request another evaluator.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 4th, 2014

Stay Clear

Krauss, does not care about the children. He cares about getting paid. His evaluations are scattered. He should be reported to counsel. He evaluates kids on one visit. He does not check the doctors, schools, nothing. He is a horrible evaluator and I would run ,and ask for a change if you get this person.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 22nd, 2014

Exceptional Experience!

Dr. Kraus was the 604B evaluator in my son's custody case a few years ago. He was extremely professional, thorough, prompt, and most importantly, went out of his way to build a trusting relationship with my son. His reports were very detailed and fair. I very strongly recommend hiring Dr. Kraus.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 18th, 2013

STAY CLEAR

stay clear the doctor is hear...to not listen to you and to prescribe excessive amounts of medication.

Easy Appointment
Spends Time with Me

1.0 Rating

October 5th, 2013

Run as fast as you can

This Doctor , cares nothing about children ,if he did , he would pay more attention to who is really taking care of them. He is a hired gun. Stay away from this man.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 27th, 2013

Concerned employee

This doctor put a child on a medication that made him extremely volatile and got him kicked out of his residential placement for that reason. He never spoke to the parents directly or listened to the parents' concerns. He never talked to the child directly. The child kept reporting the negative effects of the medication, but this doctor didn't care about him or his parents.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 13th, 2013

At least Dr Kraus got paid and he can fund another trip to Asia for his family...

Dr Kraus as others have said is a professional witness. During the initial interview he went out of his way to tell me several times how unbiased he was (doth protest too much, methinks). He even said that those who had written poor reviews of him on-line where people he wrote unfavorable evaluations about and where just upset. In my evaluation he couldn’t even put together a clear recommendation for custody or visitation. Despite an agreed order that joint custody had to be severed, which Dr Kraus was made aware of, he didn’t write an opinion for either parent to have Sole Legal Custody. I like to think it was because he may have had a little bit of integrity and he couldn’t bring himself to actually choose the person that hired him. Dr Kraus never visited the homes of either parent. He was very quick to adopt the opinion that the financial disparity between the parents was source of our issues, but never mentioned the fact that the less financially able parent only had a part time job and was working beneath their skill level. I came out on top in the overall litigation but I still lost because I had to pay for this evaluation and the one before it and for a nice chunk of the other parent’s attorney’s fees as well. I could’ve paid for my child’s first two years of college (including room and board) in what I paid for in evaluations alone. Dr Kraus is an enabler of this broken system and a byproduct of the greed and poor judgment this system has created. The truly sad thing is I think he is a smart man with a talent. However, his ego and being on Anderson Cooper is more important to him than your child or doing his duty as a doctor.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 17th, 2013

Stay Away

I echo all the reviews that say , stay away. He was hired. How could a man that is doing a Custody Case on a child who he describes has ADHD not call his pediatricians or a therapist who the child was seeing? His evaluation didn't even make sense ,when describing the father in the case as a person who is not helping his child to get therapy and not paying for his children ,but hurting them psychologically and showing his children emails going back and forth. His reports are not in a cohesive format, the timeline is laughable when speaking about a father having a baby with a babysitter , and in 2009 , the son who has ADHD , is having severe problems, but the father could care less. The father spent thousands of dollars fighting not to get treatment for his son , blaming it on the mother, when the mother is advocating for her son. The outcome is the son needs therapy and he recommends sole Custody to the Dad, but doesn't say why, never calls the schools, or the doctors . The mother has been the kids advocates keeping them on track and a great mom, from all of us. Dr. Krauss is a Fraud, stay away.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Louis Kraus is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Northbrook, IL.

  • Dr. Brandon Gimbel

    Dr. Brandon Gimbel

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Northbrook, IL 0 mi

    4.7
    (5)
    8
  • Dr. Jonathan Bloomberg

    Adolescent Medicine, Psychiatry, Child Psychiatry

    Northbrook, IL 0 mi

    4.3
    (36)
    29
  • Dr. Jane Feldman

    Adolescent Medicine, Psychiatry, Child Psychiatry

    Northbrook, IL 0 mi

    3.3
    (3)
    27