The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Lowell Nickel Is this you?

Filter Reviews

19 Ratings • 5 Comments

4.4
  • 15
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3
  • 1

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
17.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Lowell Nickel?

Showing 12 of 19 Ratings

Good Dr.

Posted on July 11th, 2016

Great doctor. Any questions I've asked have been answered. He's done some knee surgeries for me and I'm completely happy with the work!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Would recommend him to a friend

Posted on May 28th, 2014

I had surgery two years ago with a different ortho doctor in Yuba City. Immediately after that surgery I was in worse pain than before the surgery. After many sessions of physical therapy, shots, and pain meds, I was still no better off. Finally I went to see Dr. Nickel. He gave me a prompt diagnosis, listened to what I was saying and surgically corrected the problem. Now nearly 5 weeks later, I am almost pain free and able to do things I hadn't been able to in 2 years. I even sent my son to him. On the other hand, I was not too thrilled with Oroville hospital. While the recovery nurses were fabulous, I was not impressed with the post care nurse nor the anesthesiologist. Had a complication waking up from surgery that caused difficulty breathing and his response was, "You'll be fine in an hour, suck it up". Even the nurses in recovery seemed mortified.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

how many holes can you drill into sombody before you mess them up for life!!!

Posted on August 2nd, 2011

this doctor has done a horrible job with me in the past 9 months he has done 4 surgerys on me!! and am waiting for surgery #5!!!! on the first surgery he put a screw in my ankle that chewed half way threw the bone in my foot and within a week he had to go back in and remove that screw and put 2 in with a plate...he left them in for 3 months then removed the 2 screws but left the plate then 2 months latter he went back in and replaced the 2 screws !!!and now 1 is too long and is trying to poke out of the skin and the other is backed half way out!!!! and i have been exsperiancing sever pain in my ankle that is bone pain!! and he seems trully indifferant about it and has continued cutting my pain meds...i am at wits end with this guy! and no other doctor will touch me cause they dont want to be held liable...what do i do?

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Wonderful

Posted on March 16th, 2011

This experience was as all offices of physicians should be operated. The staff were respectful, quick, and helpful. Dr. Nickels was so polite and has such a wonderful personality, my daughter was highly pleased as I was. Thank you

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

knee follow up after surgeries

Posted on October 27th, 2009

Dr Nickel has operated on both my knees and has done an excellent job. I would reccomend him to anyone needing orthopedic surgery.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on February 1st, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on May 24th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on May 19th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on October 19th, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on June 24th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on May 18th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on April 19th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Lowell Nickel is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Oroville, CA.