Dr. Luis Acosta MD Patient Reviews

  • Gastroenterology San Antonio, TX

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 25 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

3.7 (-0.1)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    56%
  • Satisfied
    8%
  • Neutral
    12%
  • Dissatisfied
    12%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    12%
  • Wait Time 22.6 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

2.0 of 5
April 9th, 2015
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
You see a PA instead of the actual doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
April 1st, 2015
John M
Wait time
5 minutes
Awesome doctor. Takes his time, much better than the drive thru endoscopy doctors in town. Best doctor for GI !!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 18th, 2013
He is a true life-saver
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
For well Over a year & half, we were basically told my hubby had GERD. That's why we ended up in the ER. Dr. Acosta happened to be in the ER that fateful night. (3.5yrs ago). He didn't take what all the other doctors we had seen in last few months To sway his opinion. Instead he did a thorough exam and upper GI scope. He found a very large, very rare and VERY aggressive cancerous mass. This particular cancer when detected carries not great odds of survival. We have been with Dr.Acosta ever since, this is several times a year for screening. I would put mine or any of my loved one's(& I have!), in his hands. My second point is to those that have issue with having to wait a little. Yes, sometimes you may have to wait a bit for your appointment either at the hospital or in the office. He does try hard to keep the schedule close to as planned. But when it doesn't work out that way, It's not because he's having social hour or something. So please try to put yourself in the shoes of the patient he is with that might be making your appointment a little late. Dr.Acosta is very thorough, but this is to your benefit! And yes, sometimes he has to deliver bad news. That is not the time for him to rush. Dr Acosta WILL be there for you and your family. The best doctor we have met. And I am a RN. And we both have lots of docs for different alignments.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 3rd, 2013
Thank You
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would like to take some time to Thank Dr Acosta and his Staff. He saw my father as an inpatient and then we followed up with him in his office my family was pleased with his bedside manner and he explained everything in detail to me and my family. Thank you Dr Acosta and Staff :)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 15th, 2013
Poorly managed office
Wait time
5 minutes
I am sure the doctor is wonderful as everyone else has said. I did not get to meet him, as I left the office before I could be seen (1.5 hours after my scheduled appointment). The waiting room was very small and there was not enough seating for everyone. I was called in to have my vitals taken (the RN or CNA was smacking her gum the whole time) and then sent back out to the waiting room. I waited patiently as they were obviously busy, but after an hour and a half, I asked the front desk ladies (who were rude and dismissing) how much longer they thought it would be before I was called back in. Apparently there were 5 patients still in front of me. Absolutely ridiculous! Poor office management and scheduling. I told them that I had to be back to work for a meeting and when the soonest I could reschedule would be. 5 weeks was the earliest they could squeeze me in! Obviously you are going to have to wait when you go to a doctors appointment, but if you do not want to make this an all day event I would look elsewhere. Again, I cannot speak to the doctor as I never got to meet him, I am sure he is great though.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 27th, 2011
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
DR ACOSTA IS A GREAT DOCTOR I WOULD RECOMMEND MY FAMILY TO HIM
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 29th, 2011
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
We met Dr. Acosta when my elderly father was an inpatient. What a blessing we received that he was assigned to my father. He is the kindest, most caring and compassionate doctor we have met. He explained things in ways that we could all understand. He goes above and beyond his duties as a doctor. He has made our ordeal so much easier to handle. His staff is much like himself, very caring. What a wonderful group of caring people our fathers care is in. We have made so many calls to them and every time it is the same thing, kindness and caring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 1st, 2010
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Acosta saw me while I was an inpatient, so I did not have to make an appointment or have interaction with his office staff. He provided complete explanations of the procedures to be performed beforehand and of the results afterwards. He was not only professional, but also compassionate and caring. He was open to questions, and took the time to answer all questions and address concerns.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Luis Acosta, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near San Antonio, TX.