Dr. Lynn Burmeister MD Patient Reviews

  • Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism Minneapolis, MN

Overall Rating

3.0
  • 33 patient ratings
  • 15 comments

Last 12 months:

3.7 (+ 0.7)

15 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    42%
  • Satisfied
    6%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    12%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    39%
  • Wait Time 20 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
January 7th, 2016
Horrible bedside manner
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Working at the University myself in the medical field, I have plenty of experience with specialists and their wide arrange of personalities but this was the first time I can say that this Doctor needs a class on bedside manner and sensitivity. Not only was she condescending and abrasive but the entire appointment I felt as if I was on trial. I went in for help with regulating my thyroid issues and came out feeling horrible about myself and without hope for the future. I would STRONGLY suggest to reconsider seeing this woman for any endocrine issues. She needs to stay in research away from patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 7th, 2015
Dr Lynn Burmeister misdiagnoses
Wait time
10 minutes
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Lynn examined me and advised me she had a polyp . Lynn then went on to say IVF cannot be done until the polyp was removed, Lynn advised she could do the procedure but to us it was at a hefty cost , so we had agreed with Lynn that we would undertake the surgery thru the public health system. After surgery was undertaken we were advised that were was no polyp by staff there.So Lynn had misdiagnosed me and I had done undertaken invasive surgery for no reason at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 5th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Lynn Burmeister is amazing! I trusted her wholeheartedly so professional
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 4th, 2014
Not A Cancer Expert...
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Burmeister was referred to me due to her "expertise" in my cancer. Throughout the course of my treatment, I developed underlying cardiac issues which were being aggravated by the medications she was prescribing me. I repeatedly notified her that my heart felt off and that my heart was facing. Her response ALWAYS was that I must be dealing with anxiety rather than a serious side effect of the medication she put me on. She refused to take me seriously and gave me a referral to a psychologist rather than a cardiologist! I decided to go to a cardiologist on my own, who put me on a heart monitor and captured my heart beat hitting close to 200 BPM multiple times a day while I was resting! My cardiologist immediately recommended that I see another physician due to the reckless attitude of Dr. Burmeister, as she refused to listen to serious symptoms and was ignoring serious heart symptoms that were extremely out of control due to lack of monitoring my cancer medication properly. I needed to be on heart medication to counteract the cancer medication and not see a therapist like she was insisting. She is not a good cancer doctor because she ignores serious warning signs of complications that can turn deadly if left untreated. I cannot even imagine where I would be now if I took her word that my heart racing was "all in my head" and saw a therapist instead of a cardiologist. She simply is dangerous and I would not wish my worst enemy to be under her cancer care, as they simply would not be monitored correctly and would be lead to falsely believe that they are receiving excellent care. There are other endocrinologists in the system that will actually monitor you and will keep you alive by taking your symptoms seriously! Dr. Burmeister is not one of those "experts."
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 2nd, 2014
Horrible!
Worst physician I've ever seen. Not only is she rude, but she is not helpful! If you have Hashimoto's, she does not believe in any T3 meds. Bedside manner is the absolute worst. No suggestions for improving my health and I was almost suicidal. A family physician at Mayo helped manage my symptoms and was much more knowledgeable than she was. Avoid this doctor at all costs..
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 14th, 2014
Glad you are whom you are Dr. Burmeister!!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
screw bedside manners i say! inform me of my cancer and treatment best you can. Which is TOP QUALITY ENDOCRO!!!!! Highly recommended by me!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 10th, 2014
Unbelievable
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This was the worst doctor's visit I have ever had. I actually went to this doctor 10 years ago, but at the time you could not rate them online. She was very rude, condescending, and asked if I was on birth control, for which I replied "yes." Her response to my answer was "good, because if you had a baby right now, your baby would have birth defects." My a1c was slightly high, over 9, I will give her that, but I was 19 and diabetic for a couple of years. She refused to sign my paperwork for the DMV even though I've never had a low blood sugar that would cause me unconsciousness. Instead of helping, she only made everything worse and made me scared to go to any doctor. I actually broke down crying in the room as I was 19 with a chronic health condition and trying to take care of myself the best I could. She has no empathy and definitely tells it how it is, even though half of what she said were assumptions. After leaving the office crying I had a nurse follow me and ask what happened and she asked me to call a number to report what happened in the room. I did end up calling and I told them that I refuse to pay for her services as she belittled me and did NOT HELP in any way, shape or form. I did pay for the nurse check in, but not for her lousy services. According to the nurse, I am not the only one that left her office in that state and she was very apologetic and encouraging. Every time I see this doctors name, I cringe and it makes me nauseous. I'm surprised she is still in practice. For being a "top" doctor, her reviews are subpar, not that I'm surprised. She may be knowledgeable but her delivery is horrendous!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 10th, 2014
She is the best!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Burmeister listens, thinks, correctly diagnoses and follows-up. She is fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 25th, 2014
DO NOT WORK WITH THIS WOMAN!!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had to see her because of thyroid cancer diagnosis. She treated me like I was a major inconvenience in her day and has no problem belittling me and making rude comments towards me. When you have cancer, you do not need this woman's dreadful, mean spirited and rude personality interfering with your care. I got a bad vibe from her from my first appointment but decided to stick it out because I was told that she as an "expert." In fact, she greatly slowed down my healing because she is so upsetting to deal with that her personality (or lack of human empathy, emotion and kindness) ended up getting in the way of rapid healing. SHE IS NOT WORTH THE TROUBLE THAT SHE WILL CAUSE YOU!!! (Oh, and she will always show up 45 minutes late for your appointment.... every single time)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 21st, 2013
Very cold personality
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Burmeister was very clinical and had a poor bedside manor. She would be a good academic instructor. But she is terrible with people.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
March 17th, 2012
Wait time
20 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This Woman is cheap and does not care about people. Only in it for the money
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 14th, 2012
Terrific doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Incredibly knowledgable, caring doctor. First class.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Lynn Burmeister, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Minneapolis, MN.

Doctor

Dr. Bradley Benson

23 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Gladwin Das

36 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Erica Warlick

14 years experience

5.0 of 5