The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Lynn Nelson Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Lynn Nelson?

Dupuytren's Contracture

Dupuytren's Contracture

Dupuytren’s contracture is a thickening of the tissue beneath the skin of the palm of your hand

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Lynn Nelson?

Ratings and Reviews

24 Ratings with 6 Comments

  • Excellent
    13
  • Great
    5
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    4
  • Excellent
    13
  • Great
    5
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
16.1 min

Showing 24 Ratings with 6 Comments

1.0 Rating

October 28th, 2015

Dr. Nelson miss diagnosed where my pain was coming from in my low back and operated on L4&5 and L3&4 vertebrae when the pain was coming from L5 S1 Dr. Seal in Cedar Rapids performed a foraminotomy which gave me great relief

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 6th, 2015

Great Surgeon

I am very grateful to have had Dr. Nelson and his two physians assistances wonderful Dr. He did both my neck and back fusion he was so caring , never hurried when in my room, was as kind . All in all a wonderful Doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 31st, 2013

Highly Recommend

It is not possible for me to recommend Lynn Nelson enough. He fought for me with the work comp insurance company and took very good care of me before, during, and after my surgery. No regrets here. HIGHLY RECOMMEND this guy.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 21st, 2011

This is the surgeon to see

Excellent doctor! I was so blessed to have Dr. Nelson recommended for my spinal surgery. I have the utmost confidence in his skill and the care he has provided. Dr. Nelson was not the first surgeon with whom I conferred (the other was a very unpleasant encounter), and I had to insist that my family doctor recommend someone better. Dr. Nelson is very respectful of patient needs. He took the time to examine my condition, and answer my questions; he is honest about what future procedures may be needed, he explains procedures well, explains what he is seeing on xrays and what progress he is looking for between visits. Twice during my follow-up visits, he mentioned having conferred with his mentors in other states when various options were being considered. His physician assistant staff are also excellent, knowledgeable, and attentive. I suffered with back pain for several years, but in the last year, it became extremely difficult to function. He did not promise astounding results, and let me know the possible odds of encountering difficulties due to my several other risk factors, but I am now pain-free, and so thankful to have my mobility back.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 26th, 2010

Clerk Specialist

I really Loved this Doctor, I recovered well and I am so thankful to him and his excellent staff.

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 8th, 2008

I would recommend Dr Nelson to everyone!

Dr Nelson is in my opinion one of the finest doctors I have ever met. He is extremely knowledgeable, tells you straight what is going on and what to expect, always has your health and wellness in mind and will not go home until he feels that he has done everything that he possibly can for you and your health. I recently had spine surgery by Dr Nelson and he did a wonderful job not only by the results of the surgery itself but of preparing me for what to expect, follow up care, listening and overall just showing a wonderful bedside manner. After being in the hospital - not all medical professionals have that! I truly feel that I am blessed for having the oppertunity to have him as my doctor - it is the best gift I have ever received.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 26th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

June 23rd, 2017

4.0 Rating

April 30th, 2017

5.0 Rating

November 7th, 2016

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

4.0 Rating

February 26th, 2016

5.0 Rating

October 14th, 2015

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Lynn Nelson is similar to the following 3 Doctors near West Des Moines, IA.

  • Dr. Patricia Kallemeier

    Dr. Patricia Kallemeier

    Surgery of the Hand, Orthopedic Surgery

    West Des Moines, IA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    17
  • Dr. Nicholas Honkamp

    Dr. Nicholas Honkamp

    Orthopedic Surgery

    West Des Moines, IA 0.01 mi

    4.8
    (7)
    16
  • Dr. Matthew Weresh

    Dr. Matthew Weresh

    Orthopedic Surgery

    West Des Moines, IA 0.01 mi

    4.8
    (20)
    26