Dr. Mabra Abernathy MD Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Iowa City, IA

Overall Rating

1.9
  • 15 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

1.0 (-0.9)

15 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    20%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    7%
  • Bad
    73%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 34.6 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
February 25th, 2015
no help from this doctor
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
First time seeing him thought he help me from being sick,tell u he going do testing find out what wrong and by pass what wrong and really done care. If you're a doctor and don't listen to the patients or don't what to treat him i think there other doctor's that will listen or should send to a doctor that can fix the problems.just walk out the door poor doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 6th, 2014
STAY AWAY FROM THIS DOCTOR!
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
As someone who has dealt with doctors and hospitals my entire life and having seen the good and bad side of both. I began seeing Dr. Abernathy at University of Iowa Hosptials under the Iowa Care Program. I immediatly felt the "I am better than you" attitude that he possess. He immediately took me off one of my diabetes medications. My blood sugars and A1C began to increase. In response to this he told me I was eating way too many carbohydrates. Then, he began increasing both of my insulin dosages. My mom who is a nurse couldn't believe how much insulin he was prescribing to me. I went to a different doctor locally and right away was put back on the diabetes medication that Dr. Abernanthy took me off of. The doctor that I saw was shocked that he had me on such high does of two different insulins. All of my blood sugars and A1C levels went back into normal ranges. I am thankful that I now have insurance and can see a doctor who cares about me and my health . I would advise anyone to avoid Dr. Abernanthy. He is one of the most arragant and demening doctors I have ever met and should not be allowed to pratice medicine.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 25th, 2012
Foreign objects? No, it's cancer!
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have seen Dr. Abernathy 4-5 times since 2009. The first time I saw him in 2009 was regarding a knee problem. I immediately knew he looked down on me because I have Iowa Care insurance. I got the feeli g he couldn't wait to get rid of me. When I saw him again in 2010. I told him that I was having trouble with frequent urination, getting erections, blood in my stool, and generally not feeling myself. He showed little to no interest or empathy for my situation. At one point I asked for A Viagra prescription. To be continued.....
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 2nd, 2012
Shows NO empathy
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He spends your entire visit entering information in the computer. Did not even address the problem that I made the appointment for. He is very arrogant, and does not listen. Don't bother going to this doctor it will be a waste of your time!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 7th, 2012
Wait time
10.0 minutes
I have a very complicated medical history and have seen alot of different physicians over the last few years. I was very pleased with the time Dr. Abernathy took with me. He was very compassionate and caring. We need more like him!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 30th, 2012
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Was seen by Dr. Abernathy on several occasions and he has taken more time to actually listen to me than anyone else I have seen.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 6th, 2011
This doctor is a bad rep for University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This is not a doctor that should be at University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics in Iowa City. I have seen this doctor now 3 times and every time he is at least an hour late. He has a very poor bedside manner. He is callous and thinks very highly of himself. I have complained about the same problem twice without any results, and he also thinks he knows everything. One vital test that I had done the last time at the UIHC was not entered into his computor, so now he claims I didn't even had it done and even argued with me for 5 minutes about it! (Why would I lie?). Good thing I had a copy of the results sent to my local doctor. So now I have to have that send to him to proof that I had it done.This doctor is NON compliant to requests of tests from my local doctor that has known me for 25 yrs. Now I have to go back in 3 weeks to have the test done. This was a waisted trip (almost 500 miles Round Trip) I have to make a 6 month follow-up appointment and it will not be this same doctor. I won't stand for it!

1.0 of 5
March 22nd, 2011
I hope this never happens to you & hope this is helpful
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
DONT EVER GO TO HIM VERY UNPROFESSIONAL. He must have got his license from a cereal box. The treatment I got from him was awful. He has no right to make a diagnosis to someone who has been needing surgery for 2 years due to a central back extrusion (rare back problem) only to tell me to lose weight and it will go away. He thinks way to highly of himself. Even if you have all your medical papers with you stating you have had previous treatment for your issues he will tell you his opinion and that he is right. He needs to go back to school or just quit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 19th, 2010
old text book ways of being and thinking.......
Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
he is a judgemental and callous person who needs to be humbled.he needs to be brought up to date on modern medicine and the way science has moved on since the text books of the 70's ,when he went to school.he also shouldn't speak of things that he does not specialize in without consulting and learning the facts from the doctors who do...he is not a brain surgeon ,but he sure would tell you he knows it all and you the patient know nothing even when you have the researched facts in your hand or even a letter from a REAL brain surgeon!Terrible bedside manner,looks down his nose at those that don't have that high dollar insurance..he doesn't belong at the IOWA Cares Primary Health Clinic...he needs to go back down south where their rude and behind in the times.There is a code of ethics that doctors are to honor...he must of missed that lesson.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 12th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 28th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 5th, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Mabra Abernathy, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Iowa City, IA.