ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Mabra Abernathy Is this you?

Filter Reviews

15 Ratings • 9 Comments

1.9
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 11

Quality Rating

Dissatisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
34.6 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Mabra Abernathy?

Showing 12 of 15 Ratings

no help from this doctor

Posted on February 25th, 2015

First time seeing him thought he help me from being sick,tell u he going do testing find out what wrong and by pass what wrong and really done care. If you're a doctor and don't listen to the patients or don't what to treat him i think there other doctor's that will listen or should send to a doctor that can fix the problems.just walk out the door poor doctor.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

STAY AWAY FROM THIS DOCTOR!

Posted on April 6th, 2014

As someone who has dealt with doctors and hospitals my entire life and having seen the good and bad side of both. I began seeing Dr. Abernathy at University of Iowa Hosptials under the Iowa Care Program. I immediatly felt the "I am better than you" attitude that he possess. He immediately took me off one of my diabetes medications. My blood sugars and A1C began to increase. In response to this he told me I was eating way too many carbohydrates. Then, he began increasing both of my insulin dosages. My mom who is a nurse couldn't believe how much insulin he was prescribing to me. I went to a different doctor locally and right away was put back on the diabetes medication that Dr. Abernanthy took me off of. The doctor that I saw was shocked that he had me on such high does of two different insulins. All of my blood sugars and A1C levels went back into normal ranges. I am thankful that I now have insurance and can see a doctor who cares about me and my health . I would advise anyone to avoid Dr. Abernanthy. He is one of the most arragant and demening doctors I have ever met and should not be allowed to pratice medicine.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Foreign objects? No, it's cancer!

Posted on September 25th, 2012

I have seen Dr. Abernathy 4-5 times since 2009. The first time I saw him in 2009 was regarding a knee problem. I immediately knew he looked down on me because I have Iowa Care insurance. I got the feeli g he couldn't wait to get rid of me. When I saw him again in 2010. I told him that I was having trouble with frequent urination, getting erections, blood in my stool, and generally not feeling myself. He showed little to no interest or empathy for my situation. At one point I asked for A Viagra prescription. To be continued.....

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Shows NO empathy

Posted on August 2nd, 2012

He spends your entire visit entering information in the computer. Did not even address the problem that I made the appointment for. He is very arrogant, and does not listen. Don't bother going to this doctor it will be a waste of your time!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 7th, 2012

I have a very complicated medical history and have seen alot of different physicians over the last few years. I was very pleased with the time Dr. Abernathy took with me. He was very compassionate and caring. We need more like him!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on June 30th, 2012

Was seen by Dr. Abernathy on several occasions and he has taken more time to actually listen to me than anyone else I have seen.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

This doctor is a bad rep for University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics

Posted on October 6th, 2011

This is not a doctor that should be at University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics in Iowa City. I have seen this doctor now 3 times and every time he is at least an hour late. He has a very poor bedside manner. He is callous and thinks very highly of himself. I have complained about the same problem twice without any results, and he also thinks he knows everything. One vital test that I had done the last time at the UIHC was not entered into his computor, so now he claims I didn't even had it done and even argued with me for 5 minutes about it! (Why would I lie?). Good thing I had a copy of the results sent to my local doctor. So now I have to have that send to him to proof that I had it done.This doctor is NON compliant to requests of tests from my local doctor that has known me for 25 yrs. Now I have to go back in 3 weeks to have the test done. This was a waisted trip (almost 500 miles Round Trip) I have to make a 6 month follow-up appointment and it will not be this same doctor. I won't stand for it!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

I hope this never happens to you & hope this is helpful

Posted on March 22nd, 2011

DONT EVER GO TO HIM VERY UNPROFESSIONAL. He must have got his license from a cereal box. The treatment I got from him was awful. He has no right to make a diagnosis to someone who has been needing surgery for 2 years due to a central back extrusion (rare back problem) only to tell me to lose weight and it will go away. He thinks way to highly of himself. Even if you have all your medical papers with you stating you have had previous treatment for your issues he will tell you his opinion and that he is right. He needs to go back to school or just quit.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

old text book ways of being and thinking.......

Posted on May 19th, 2010

he is a judgemental and callous person who needs to be humbled.he needs to be brought up to date on modern medicine and the way science has moved on since the text books of the 70's ,when he went to school.he also shouldn't speak of things that he does not specialize in without consulting and learning the facts from the doctors who do...he is not a brain surgeon ,but he sure would tell you he knows it all and you the patient know nothing even when you have the researched facts in your hand or even a letter from a REAL brain surgeon!Terrible bedside manner,looks down his nose at those that don't have that high dollar insurance..he doesn't belong at the IOWA Cares Primary Health Clinic...he needs to go back down south where their rude and behind in the times.There is a code of ethics that doctors are to honor...he must of missed that lesson.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on October 12th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on May 28th, 2015

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

One Star

Posted on November 5th, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Mabra Abernathy is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Iowa City, IA.