Dr. Mara Okshteyn MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.0
  • 22 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

3.6 (-0.4)

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    59%
  • Satisfied
    14%
  • Neutral
    9%
  • Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    14%
  • Wait Time 11.4 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

5.0 of 5
September 20th, 2016
patient
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw Dr Okshteyn and was under her care at Santa Fe Endocrinology before she she for AZ. She was one of he best doctor's I have seen in a long time and I highly refer her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 23rd, 2016
She is awesome!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I love her approach and warm and 'mom' type of attitude. She often tries natural approaches instead of going straight for the meds, and truly gets to know her patients. She will spend time with you and not rush you out the door. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
May 21st, 2016
Never called with lab results
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
At first, I thought Dr. Okshteyn was a godsend. Very smart and kind. Had great ideas. Thought I finally was going to be treated after my PCP blew me off. However, she sent me to get lab tests and I never heard from her again. She never called with the results. I waited and waited and finally got a bill from Sonora Quest where I learned I could get my results online. I had a severe vitamin deficiency and she never called! I had debilitating symptoms that almost cost me my job, but I had to research how to treat it myself. Not cool. I'm glad she knew what to test for, but it would be nice for her to have actually treated me afterward. What if it wasn't just vitamins? What if I needed a prescription? I'd still be waiting.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
April 8th, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor helped me a lot. She was not in a hurry -- spent time listening. But I had trouble connecting with her again after my two appointments. The staff did not return calls or answer emails.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 13th, 2015
good
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 28th, 2014
Don't hesitate to make an appt.
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Okshteyn is the fifth endo I have tried in Tucson. I won't be trying anymore! She is head and shoulders above the rest. Truly an integrative physician. Orders the appropriate tests to get a thorough picture of your health and discusses results with you with the assumption that you are an intelligent human being - refreshing! Great bedside manner. Very comfortable atmosphere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 28th, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This Dr. is the best Endo I have had. We are still working on balancing my thyroid. The last Dr. I had told me I had to live with my symptoms. Dr. Okshteyn uses both Western and Eastern (herbs)medicines which I think is great. She is for natural things when appropriate for the patient. If you have thyroid problems she is the Dr. to go to. Almost all Endos in Tucson will no longer treat thyroid or the decent ones will not take new patients. She is a great Dr. so make your appointment to show her that she is needed. I was a patient of her's when she practiced in Wilcox and followed her to Tucson. She is not afraid to order the necessary tests and will go to bat for her patients with the insurance companies. She will work with you until you feel good and then maintain. Make your appointment! She has a good sense of humor, very intelligent, pleasant personality. Will spend as much time with each patient as needed. I would like it if she would order bone density bone scans without having to ask for it, but oh well, not a big deal; if only every Dr. would practice like she does-give the patient one on one time and very thorough. Not arrogant at all. Sometimes she will talk about Russia which I find fascinating. She doesn't get tense or let anything ruffle her feathers. Truly a hidden jewel.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 16th, 2012
One of a kind!!
Wait time
10 minutes
Dr. Okshteyn was attentive, thorough and took the time to find the root cause. I went for a second opinion and within a year pre diabetes gone high blood pressure gone because she discovered a non functioning pituitary and balanced me out. Life is normal again and I feel better at 50 then I have in years. On way less meds now too. She listens and allows you to be a partner in your healing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 22nd, 2012
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I wish she were still in Santa Fe! Endo-crinologists that are as opened minded and attentive as she is are rarer than hen's teeth! She got me thru Grave's Disease, a thyroidectomy, and was even willing to try natural thyroid with me.They don't make many endo's like her!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Mara Okshteyn, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Tucson, AZ.

Doctor

Dr. Paul Koss

44 years experience

4.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Robert Rogers

41 years experience

3.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Richard Hoffman

35 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor