The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Marc Bessler Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Marc Bessler?

Ratings and Reviews

40 Ratings with 10 Comments

  • Excellent
    31
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    5
  • Excellent
    31
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    5

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
13.6 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 40 Ratings with 10 Comments

5.0 Rating

July 1st, 2016

Very Positive Experience!

I had Bilateral Hernia Surgery done by Dr. Marc Bessler. I was highly impressed by himself and his staff. The Dr. has an exceptionally pleasant & caring personality. He listened patiently to all my questions and answered them all very clearly. His calm personality is also very helpful and reassuring to the patient. I'm glad I chose Dr. Bessler as my surgoen. I couldn't have made a better choice! He actually came highly recommended by a few local referral agencies. Now I know why!!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 12th, 2015

I've never written a review before

My daughter had a mass in her stomach that was located in an extremely difficult place- right next to the stomach's juncture with the esophagus. She had surgery two days ago and we are hopeful that it is benign, but we won't know for another week. Dr. Bessler was able to perform a laparoscopic resection of the mass and a fundoplication. It was a 3.5 hour delicate surgery, but my daughter is now home, just two days later. I can't say enough positive things about Dr. Bessler and the care my daughter received at Columbia. As another reviewer said, Dr. Bessler is not a flowery kind of man, but he is exactly what you want in this kind of circumstance. Dr. Bessler says what he thinks and he is an outstanding surgeon who evidences real concern for his patients. I am so grateful that I found him.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 11th, 2014

Outstanding Surgeon

This guy is tops in his field, and knows more about cutting edge approaches and technologies than most doctors in the country (yes, in the country. I did my research on doctors with as much or more knowledge on my procedure, and he's up there with a handful in his field). Expect professionalism and expertise, not warm, fuzzy or charming... but I'll take the former to the latter any day in a surgeon! Know what you're talking about, have your questions ready, and he'll answer in an honest, no-holds barred manner. Walk in there confused, and expect him to tell you what you need, how he'll do it... and then just let him do his thing. I had a hybrid transvaginal cholecystectomy. Four days later, I have NO pain, feel recovered (though I know my insides need to heal), and will have NO visible scars (there's only one in my umbilicus that won't be seen once healed). Amazing. I highly recommend Bessler.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

January 27th, 2012

arrogant and often forgetful

A clear example of a gifted doctor who clearly needs to improve his bedside manner. If had to do it over again, would not have chosen this doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 19th, 2011

You Are In Excellent Hands With Dr. Bessler

Dr. Bessler performed a laparoscopic large paraesophageal hernia repair on me in May, using mesh to close the opening and a fundiplication to keep my stomach from moving back up into my chest cavity. I had an excellent recovery and the food I eat is no longer getting stuck in the bottom of my esophagus. Dr. Bessler was extremely adept at this laparoscopic surgery, operating through five tiny incisions. He was very careful, leaving nothing to chance, and followed my progress closely until I was discharged. He and Dr. Hussein, who assisted, both were present for my two week post-op visit. I would highly recommend Dr. Bessler to anyone looking for a highly skilled, careful, kind, and professional surgeon on the cutting edge of minimally invasive laparoscopic surgery.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 7th, 2011

excellent care for hernia surgery. Dr Bessler is a top professional. I had minimum pain for three inguinal surgeries. The Dr was easily accessible and the care was A1.I highly recommend him.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 29th, 2011

Dr. Bessler and his staff were great and very helpful. I had the Sleeve done and haven't had any complications at all.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 20th, 2011

I had a nephroctomy donation done and Dr Bessler was the surgeon. I couldn't ask for a better dr. No nosesense, excellent hands, great job! Thank you,

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 25th, 2010

had a lap band many years ago, paid for out of pocket...and felt that ever since. Follow up service is not that great if you are not insured. Pretty non-existent actually after a while-lap band since eroded-would not go back here

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 26th, 2009

A+ medical professional!

From my first vist to Dr. Bessler's office until the present, Dr. Bessler and his entire staff has treated me with top professionalism. Precise, astute, caring, accurate, cutting edge technology, easy to talk with, and truly an excellent physician. I had laproscopic removal of my gall bladder yesterday. Generally, there are 4 small holes involved in this type of surgery. Dr. Bessler performed this surgery by making one hole through my umbilicus (belly button), which is like not having an incision at all. My surgery was yesterday at 11AM. It's roughly 24 hours later, and I'm home and typing on my computer today with very little pain at all! I can't say enough good things about this physician, his staff, and the overall experience.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 9th, 2017

1.0 Rating

June 12th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Marc Bessler is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

  • Dr. Abraham Krikhely

    Dr. Abraham Krikhely

    Bariatric Medicine, General Surgery

    New York, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (12)
    9
  • Dr. Katherine Fischkoff

    General Surgery, General Practice

    New York, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    12
  • Dr. Latha Pasupuleti

    General Surgery

    New York, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    5