Dr. Marc Cantillon, MD
Psychiatrist
23 years of experience

134 Walnut St
Livingston, NJ 07039
973-462-0496
Locations and availability (1)

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
3.5
  • Currently 3.5 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

26

Total Reviews

19

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 3.6315789473684 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 3.5263157894737 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 3.3333333333333 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 3.3684210526316 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 3.4210526315789 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 3.4210526315789 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 3.3529411764706 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 13 minutes
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Ms.  |  show details
by Mary G. on Mar 2nd, 2014

I have been a patient of Dr.C. for almost a year now, & I find him the most compassionate, generous,Dr.I have ever had in my 24 yrs of seeing drs & being on meds.I am so glad that I was referred to him after going thru so many drs whom kept putting me on large doses of meds that ultimately left me with weight gain.DR C is so competent that he changed my medicines around completely all on an outpatient basis with no need for hospitalization.He gave me back a life I didn't know I was missing.He is an excellent DR. In the field of Psychiatry, & I am now loosing weight & keeping it off despite the weight loss surgery I had to do the same....highly recommend

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Very Compassionate Physician  |  show details
by Diane on Feb 2nd, 2014

I have been a patient of Dr Cantillon for 3 years. I see him for pain management . He is very compassionate and sincerely wants to help me have better quality of life. He answers my Emails within 24 hours. I like the fact that he sees me as a whole person not just a speciality. He looks out of the box to find solutions that other doctors would not do. So happy I found him!

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Effective Help  |  show details
by Susan Bressman on Feb 2nd, 2014

Only this doctor Cantillon was able to figure out my complicated problem that had no simple label. He has huge waiting room, but separate library and private consultation rooms, where my family were carefully interviewed.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Dr. Marc Cantillon  |  show details
by Fred Berman on Dec 14th, 2013

Dr. Cantillon is an absolute genius. After I had seen a whole parade of " specialists " who could not help me Dr. Cantillon properly diagnosed me and successfully treated me on the first try. I would highly recommend him to anyone who needs a Psychitrist.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Grandarents_Autismboy  |  show details
by LMargolin on Dec 6th, 2013

This is brilliant doctor very personable small office more like a special library with waiting room. Our family has a 5yr old autistic grandson who was very hard to relate to until that initial appointment when Dr C connected many dots for our child It had been always very hard to even get a word out of him, now new treatments seem to have shown a difference, He has given us a connection, . Thanks to Dr C who through medication and non-medication therapy was able to begin the process of winning my grandson back.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Mother of Disabled Child  |  show details
by April Paglianite on Nov 25th, 2013

Im thinking that there are the same 13 reviews for this dr on all medical info sites. Our experience with this man was slimy and repulsive. His office is cluttered with what I can only guess is years of compulsive hoarding of paperwork and dust. Disgusting! he had no real consultaion room. We had to walk through his current patient's private session just to get to the revolting room we couldn't even sit in due to stack of newspapers and books and old towels on the couch. He was short and lacking on the phone when trying to make an appointment. He discussed nothing about fees or pricing and doesnt have a website detailing his credentials. We waited 30 minutes, discussed my son for maybe 20 and the other ten minutes was the $475 we owed him for his initial consultation! He wanted only cash or check, which is fine but I dont know too many people who walk around with that on them at any given time. we were completely blind sided by this conartist. he has no actual residency or schooling in America that we could find. How is he practicing here im not sure!?

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Accurate Effective Dr., Spends time and treats both pain and mental distress  |  show details
by Ari on Nov 4th, 2013

After a years in sports, I slowed down, some general life setbacks also a little sad and began suffering from back/shoulder/body pain. No matter what I tried I got BOTH more depressed and in pain. Most doctors either belittled me or just quickly wrote non effective medications. My last resort before seeing a surgeon was to start treating with Doctor Cantillon and boy am I happy I did. Dr. L has amazing expertise in how to deal with my mixed set of problms and knew exactly how to start my healing process. He has helped me to regain belief in my life and I am even able to go out, work harder, swim again to keep in shape! I

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Oct 6th, 2013

Great doctor who cares a lot of his patients' well being.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Why I come  |  show details
by Richard on Jul 29th, 2013

Dr C. allows me to bring all my own feeling and input to bear before the treatment is decided. I appreciate that unlike most other psychiatrists he communicates with me by email too.

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Do not pick him as your doctor  |  show details
by A patient on Jun 26th, 2013

There is not much to say for this Doctor. He is not professional at all. Time to time he is late to his own appointments. He does not respond well to your emails and he demands money always first

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Knowledgable  |  show details
by LEC, NYC on Feb 17th, 2013

Since I had a problem no-one seemed to help in NYC, I went and found him through the University, he seems to publish his research too. First time was almost an hour, followups vary, seems very adaptable to needs so when I have had severe problems he has spent as much time as I have needed with me. "Dr C" covers my medications and alternative treatments, also does psychotherapy. I lucked out with him. My psychiatrist always reads my therapist’s notes and references them if there is a problem. "Dr C" also remembers personal information about me (relationships, school, have two cats…) and that always surprises me as I know he has a very large caseload. But he really remembers me. He is a caring and knowledgeable psychiatrist.

Mark as Helpful  | 6 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  compassionate and motivated psychiatrist  |  show details
Oct 11th, 2012

Holistic approach so not only standard psychiatric and addiction treatment services, but outdoor activities, art, substance abuse counseling, yoga, animal assisted therapy, and other enrichments

Mark as Helpful  | 6 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  not good  |  show details
Sep 6th, 2012

I told him of family problems and he told everything I said to him to my family, very untrust worthy man

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Only takes Medicare, other insurance he had paperwork  |  show details
Aug 25th, 2012

He was thorough with almost an hour on initial visi and standard 20-30 mins follow ups. I have decided to go with him with acceptance out of newtwork paperwork

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jul 5th, 2012

Very smart and caring Doc. However, has no staff and difficulty in communications outside of the office. I am a big fan, but he is not for everyone.

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Took enough time, not just prescribing  |  show details
May 6th, 2012

Unlike earlier psychiatrist, Dr C both does therapy and goes over potential medications and other choices

Mark as Helpful  | 6 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  confidentiality?  |  show details
May 5th, 2012

after telling the doctor all the thing that bothered me about my wife, the doctor forgot to give me back my medicare card so I sent my wife to pick it up, whike she was there the doctor told my wife everything I told him in confidentiality, I now sit home sick because , how can I reallly trust a doctor afer what catillion did to me

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jan 6th, 2011

Conversed at length with my Portuguese-speaking mother , followed up with her primary care doctro somehting I never saw in psyiatrists she saw before

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Great Doctor!  |  show details
Oct 21st, 2008

he's the best!

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse