The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Maria Halvorson Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Maria Halvorson?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Maria Halvorson?

Ratings and Reviews

13 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    2
  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
17.9 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 13 Ratings with 7 Comments

5.0 Rating

August 12th, 2015

Kind, thorough and caring

Dr. Halvorsen has helped me through several health issues and is always attentive, kind and listens well. She is open to my thought on things and discusses options. I totally trust her and am so happy to have a doctor like this in our small town.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 1st, 2014

I've had many doctors, due to two life threatening health issues, over the years and can honestly say Dr. Halvorson is one of the best. She is attentive, takes all my concerns seriously and has always been prepared for my visit. I must point out that Dr. Halvorson can't follow up on information she doesn't have, if you don't ask a specialist to share their findings then you can hardly blame her for not following up.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 25th, 2013

Found a new doctor

Dr. Halvorson knew nothing about a health problems I had for many years and which this practice sent me to specialists. No communication or care regarding follow up care from the specialists which I was refered. Dr. Halvorson was confused about why I was there and seemed confused and unkempt. Clear communication problems. My records intertwined with another patient's. Refused to correct or amend records to correct them, even though the electronic and printed records were clearly in error. These errors could have lead to a detrimental medical error. I will not return to this practice.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 9th, 2012

Dr. Halverson is very smart, kind, and helpful. I think she's a GREAT doctor, and I feel fortunate to have her as my physician.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 15th, 2010

We recommend her to friends

Great bedside manner, very knowledgeable, respects patient experience and works collaboratively on solutions.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 22nd, 2010

Dr. Maria Halvorson is the BEST Doctor I have ever had. She is thorough, listens very well, is gentle and caring and hears every word you say. I recommend her to all of my friends and I am so lucky to have her.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 18th, 2010

Doesn't read charts, seems emotionally imbalanced

If you have a long-term, chronic health problem go elsewhere. She doesn't read charts, doesn't seem to understand test results, disagrees with doctors she, or the office, refers you to. Has a short attention span, Comes off as being angry, which didn't used to be the case with this doctor. In the last year, she seems heavily stressed, perhaps taking on too many patients, and seems to the take the, "It's all in your head" attitude if you have a chronic illness, is dismissive, does not listen well, if at all. She clearly does not understand neurological problems, and when frustrated with a health problem she doesn't understand, angrily takes it out on you, the patient. She seems distracted and emotionally imbalanced since she returned from having her baby.If you have an infection or need immunizations, she's probably fine, if you have anything more complex, then save yourself see someone else. Seems Dr. Wilson's military background has worn off on this doctor, which is a shame. (I've heard that doctor scream at an elderly couple, hearing every word of their personal information, 2 exam rooms over.)Very unprofessional and scattered.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 10th, 2015

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

5.0 Rating

January 26th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me

5.0 Rating

August 26th, 2014

3.7 Rating

August 13th, 2014

5.0 Rating

June 30th, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Maria Halvorson is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Ojai, CA.

  • Dr. Helen Petroff

    Dr. Helen Petroff

    Family Medicine

    Ojai, CA 0.01 mi

    4.8
    (8)
    12
  • Dr. Douglas Nelson

    Family Medicine

    Ojai, CA 0.01 mi

    4.4
    (5)
    38
  • Dr. Rochelle Wilson

    Dr. Rochelle Wilson

    Family Medicine

    Ojai, CA 0.01 mi

    4.0
    (7)
    33