Dr. Maria Suurna MD Patient Reviews

  • Otolaryngology New York, NY

Overall Rating

4.5
  • 25 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.5)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    84%
  • Satisfied
    4%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    12%
  • Wait Time 10 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 2nd, 2015
A+++ Doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I felt completely satisfied in every way with Dr. Suurna. She is extremely competent, caring and confident. She operated on me to remove two thyroid nodules. Nobody looks forward to surgery, but Dr. Suurna's wonderful bedside manner allayed my fears, and the surgery turned out not to be such a big deal. I recommend her wholeheartedly!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 31st, 2015
Great surgeon and a very nice person.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Since I was a child I haven't been able to breathe easily through my nose. This caused me to suffer all sorts of problems including frequent runny noses, constant congestion and disruptive snoring. A colleague referred me to Dr. Suurna, and I'm so happy I went. After examining me she spent a long time patiently describing various options to me and answering all my questions. In the end I opted for surgery, and I'm extremely pleased with the results. I feel, very literally, like my life has been inspired by a breath of fresh air I never knew what it was like to breathe properly. Now, for the first time in my life I can breathe easily through my nose, and all the symptoms I suffered from for such a long time have improved immeasurably. Dr. Suurna is a great surgeon and a very nice person — caring, empathetic and attentive. I highly recommend her!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 26th, 2015
Look no further
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Another physician referred me to Dr. Suurna. She's an outstanding physician and an all around great person. For more than ten years I suffered from blocked nasal passages and difficulty breathing and it seemed to be getting worse. Dr. Suurna took the time patiently to explain to me the condition that I was suffering from and suggested surgery to treat it. Of course I was initially skeptical and fearful about undergoing surgery, after having lived with this condition for so many years. But Dr. Suurna calmed me and clearly explained the pros and cons of surgery vs. doing nothing She is extremely professional and pleasant, and her explanations were very helpful. It's now been several months since I had my surgery, and I can say without exaggeration that this surgery changed my life. I feel better, sleep better, and do not feel nearly as fatigued as I used to. I have a much better quality of life. Thank you Dr. Suurna!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 26th, 2015
First Rate ENT Doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After suffering for a long time from serious throat pain I finally decided to go see a doctor about it. A friend recommended Dr. Suurna, and I'm so glad I came to see her. She's kind, caring and compassionate, with a great bedside manner, and most importantly she diagnosed me accurately, took care of the problem I had, and I feel immeasurably better now. I only wish I hadn't waited so long to go see her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 25th, 2015
Very good experience
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Suurna performed surgery on me to remove a suspicious thyroid nodule. I was perfectly satisfied with the care I received. She was very kind and empathetic and took the time to explain the procedure to me and to reassure me. I thought I would be very anxious and nervous about the procedure but she put me at ease and everything went very smoothly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 24th, 2015
Five Star!!!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a great visit, would certainly visit again if I had to and would recommend Dr. Suurna without any hesitation. I consulted her because I was experiencing voice changes. I feel very satisfied with the advice and treatment she gave me. She was prompt, friendly and courteous and, most importantly, accurate in her diagnosis. If you need an ENT, go see Dr. Suurna!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 24th, 2015
Very Satisfied
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been to Dr. Suurna's several times for some hearing issues I was having, and I was always very satisfied with the care and treatment I received. I didn't have to wait long at the office. She's professional and pleasant. I would definitely recommend her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 17th, 2015
Great doctor!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'm so grateful to Dr. Suurna for helping me with my chronic sinus problems She diagnosed the problem immediately, and I feel so much better now. She has a wonderful bedside manner. Usually I feel anxious about visiting doctors, but with her I felt completely comfortable an at ease. Actually, I'd say it was one of the best doctor's visits I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 15th, 2015
My Highest Recommendation!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I visited Dr. Suurna for a painful problem with my right ear. She was wonderful and she alleviated my pain with a quick procedure in her office. Her competence is only exceeded by her bedside manner and general friendliness. She made me feel like a person, not a number or just an ailment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 15th, 2015
Top notch surgeon
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Suurna is one of the best ENT doctors and most talented surgeons I have ever encountered. Her competence, thoroughness, bedside manners and follow-up communications were impeccable. I would recommend her without reservations.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 11th, 2015
Dr. Suurna Needs a Course in Bedside Manner
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor has the worst bedside manner that I have ever experienced. She basically asked me why I was there and then drew attention to a birth defect that I have by saying to me, "What's going on with your face?" When I showed confusion towards her prompt, she replied with, "Do you have Bell's Palsy?" I do not, and I was extremely offended. I have spent my whole life working on my self esteem and getting passed a cosmetic flaw that I was born with. Within a matter of 5 minutes, this so called "professional" sent me spiraling downward. I wanted to leave that office on the spot, but I knew that I had to be examined. Needless to say, I will NEVER recommend this doctor and I will do everything in my power to prevent people from seeing her. What is the point of filling out a medical form if the doctor will not even take the time to peruse it before coming in to meet her patient. My medical issue that this woman so blatantly questioned and belittled was mentioned on the pages of her patient form. I am extremely disappointed in my treatment by this doctor and I write this in hopes of preventing others from having such a negative experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 21st, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Horrible experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Maria Suurna, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

Doctor

Dr. William Schley

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Radu Sulica

18 years experience

4.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. David Kutler

21 years experience

4.8 of 5