Dr. Marie Gelato MD Patient Reviews

  • Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism East Setauket, NY

Overall Rating

4.3
  • 30 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (-0.3)

30 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    70%
  • Great
    10%
  • Good
    3%
  • Poor
    13%
  • Bad
    3%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 9.1 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
June 22nd, 2017
Doctor refuses to listen to patient's concerns.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She may follow up and return calls, but she refuses to listen. I do not have much respect for a doctor that will tell you to "suck it up" and take the lower dosage anyway, even if you do not have any related symptoms and the test could show false results due to other medical issues. Tests can give inaccurate results and when a doctor refuses to listen to a patient it puts the patient's life in jeopardy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 22nd, 2017
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She refuses to listen to you. It is only about the test results. She changes your medication amount based on the results only and does not listen if you have no symptoms related to the results. She puts patients lives in jeopardy when she refuses to listen. Tests results can be wrong.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 23rd, 2016
Patient
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 20th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I love Dr. Gelato! I have been a patient for many years.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 11th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Marie Gelato is a caring and supportive person/Doctor. She met my mother once, unfortunately, my mom had a setback when Dr. Gelato heard she was in the hospital and her condition she called us several times to find out how my mom was doing. SHE IS AWESOME AND I LOVE HER SO MUCH.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
December 21st, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Gelato takes her time with you and always gets it right! Highly recommend her
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 15th, 2015
Dr Gelato
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Staff is very friendly and takes care of paper work. Dr Gelato is very kind, soft spoken, listens to you and gives you her time. I have recommended her to others numerous times.

5.0 of 5
June 15th, 2012
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wonderful doctor. Experienced, knowledgable, gets things done. The kind of doctor who you know will do her very best.
Doctor's Response

Thank you. You've seen what I do best! And I believe that working hard for patients is the biggest reward a doctor can have.


5.0 of 5
June 13th, 2012
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I found this physician to be knowlegable and very experienced with a wide variety of endocrine problems. She went far beyond what I have experienced with any other doctor, for example, she did not hesitate to pick up the phone and make sure that testing was done in a timely fashion. She followed up well and listened. She is at a teaching hospital and that means that she did have Fellows with her at times and they do a significant part of the work. But this does not mean that she relies upon them solely and I was still able to interact with her when that was the case.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Doctor's Response

Thanks! I'm very sensitive to the fact that my patients are MY patients. Fellows do collaborate with me on cases, but every patient sees me. I followup. I call. I make sure things get done. The fellows are full-fledged doctors who are working with me to complete a sub-specialty training in Endocrinology. They are very thorough and have a good sense of medicine overall. It's definitely a plus to have them working with me for your benefit.


1.0 of 5
April 22nd, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
don't waste your time....
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Doctor's Response

I wish you would have told me how you felt when I was in the room. It sounds like I wasn't addressing your issues. Perhaps we were not on the same page as to what the issue was. This is why I ask patients, "Do you have any other questions or concerns? Do you have anything you want to tell me that I haven't asked you?" Please give me a call if you have any unanswered questions. I'd like to make every attempt possible to address your concerns.


2.0 of 5
January 25th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 30th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Marie Gelato, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near East Setauket, NY.