Dr. Marina Benaur MD Patient Reviews

  • Psychiatry New York, NY

Overall Rating

3.5
  • 35 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 0.5)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    57%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    3%
  • Dissatisfied
    17%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    23%
  • Wait Time 13.1 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Friendly Staff

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
September 5th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Benaur is clearly very bright, but very difficult to work with. She cut me off mid-sentence every time I answered a question. She did the same with my husband when talking to him. It seemed like she had a preset opinion of my problems and experience and was not inclined to let anything -including reality- change her mind. Do not recommend at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 12th, 2015
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She cut me off me any time I answered her questions. Made assumptions that weren't true and pressured me into agreeing to her plan even though I wasnt comfortable with it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 24th, 2015
Very Caring Doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I found Dr. Benaur to be a very thoughtful, caring and compassionate doctor and would highly recommend her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
February 22nd, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
No bedside manner. Really smart physician, but incredibly rude, disrespectful to patient and patients family, very dismissive and curt. Would not recommend her for any kind of ongoing treatment whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 21st, 2015
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She is clearly extremely smart, but her bedside manner is poor. She cut me off nearly every time I tried to answer her questions, and mocked what I did say. I might trust her as a consultant but never as a psychotherapist.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 26th, 2011
outstanding in her field
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am shocked by some of these reviews--I am a health professional with many yrs experience and find her expertise to be beyond reproach. She is equal parts highly intelligent, intuitive and extremely compassionate. I believe she is absolutely top in her field and would highly recommend her (and do) to patients, colleagues and family.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 18th, 2011
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
very good help to a foreigner
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 23rd, 2011
Wait time
10 minutes
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
worst doctor ever. judgmental, rigid, insensitive all do not come close to describe this woman. i do not doubt that her clinical background is extensive, but her bedside manner is nonexistent. She borders between terrorizing and humiliating her patients. Having her as a psychiatrist was a demeaning and terrible experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 25th, 2010
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
she may have a strong clinical background but to say that her "bedside manner" is lacking is the understatement of the year. benaur verges on unkind and has a very large portion of arrogance. she decides quite quickly what the problem is and will not discuss it further. when she rephrases your info as psychiatrists will do, if she gets essential items wrong, she still will not change her opinion. extremely frustrating....especially because her drug recommendation was unsuccessful. i could potentially see her in a consultant role (giving benefit of the doubt that her med. recommendations are usually right, though they were not for me), but would strongly recommend against any sort of indidivudal psychotherapy. she simply exudes lack of care coupled with disdain and arrogance.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 21st, 2010
Review of Dr Benaur
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Benaur is is an outstanding clinician and individual; She is well respected by her colleagues and her patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 6th, 2010
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
One of brightest and highly skilled doctors I have met in twenty years.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
July 10th, 2010
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very professional & clinical. Not the 'warm & fuzzy' type, if that's what you're looking for in a psychiatrist. If you're the type of patient who flaccidly believes & agrees with every conclusion & recommendation that your doctor makes, then you should do fine with her. If you're the type of the patient who has a strong sense of self with opinions & beliefs that differ from her recommendation, then you might not do well. Her motives are likely good, & she believes that she is right, but no one can be 100% right about everything all of the time. Her dual background can certainly be helpful for a consultation role. Would not recommend for individual psychotherapy from a supportive stance.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Marina Benaur, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

Doctor

Dr. Benjamin Sadock

4.1 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jeffrey Rubin

46 years experience

3.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Douglas Ingram

3.6 of 5