Dr. Mark Peterson MD Patient Reviews

  • Sports Medicine Rockville, MD

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 14 patient ratings
  • 4 comments

14 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    43%
  • Great
    7%
  • Good
    36%
  • Poor
    7%
  • Bad
    7%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 17 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
February 26th, 2016
Botched surgery
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Peterson did an ACL replacement and meniscus repair 3 years ago. To put it bluntly, he botched the surgery and left me in agony post-operatively. He got the guide wire, used to thread the ligament into place, caught behind the fixation screw and a piece broke off. He then had to hammer the screw out as it had been glued in place to get the wire out, and install a new allograft. He also failed to fix the meniscus tear properly as it subsequently shredded. I had to have another surgeon fix the tear and clean out the significant amount of scar tissue Peterson had left behind due to the additional trauma he caused by his error. Subsequently, the allograft he installed 3 years ago has now failed and I no longer have an intact ACL. This is why I'm posting my comments now. To add insult to injury, he was the most uncaring practitioner and never apologized for the pain he caused me from his poor surgical technique. He never offered to make it right, saying that people heal differently and I was just one of those people. My current sorts medicine ortho, who fixed the mess, said he was surprised by the outdated surgical method that was employed for an active woman of my age. Stay clear of this doctor, he is arrogant and inept.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 14th, 2015
Diagnosed Lyme Disease
When there was no obvious trauma to my son's knee, Dr. Peterson ordered a lyme disease test & sure enough, my son had it. This was about 9 years ago and after a round of antibiotics, my son is fine. I am grateful he decided to test him instead of just saying the x-rays showed nothing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 12th, 2014
Great Doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr. Peterson for my arthritic knees for several years. I have found him to be very easy to schedule an appointment with--as in a few days--and to always proceed with me with caring and caution. He is not a surgeon who wants to jump into surgery--he wants to do it when you actually need it. He did a total knee replacement on me--and I will have him do another--when/if the time comes. I ask a LOT of questions--he is always patient and--more importantly--practical and realistic.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Doctor's Response

Hello, Kim. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Shady Grove Orthopaedics and for sharing your kind words. It made our day! Thank you for choosing Shady Grove Orthopaedics for your care.


5.0 of 5
August 20th, 2009
Fixed my knee
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I just want to say as an athlete I have had knee issues my entire life. This last time I was sent to Dr. Peterson by another doctor and I felt totally taken care of! He was realistic and compasionate. I would recommend him for any sprots related injury.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
March 19th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 8th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
December 27th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
November 14th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 21st, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
July 13th, 2015

3.7 of 5
February 8th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients

5.0 of 5
September 20th, 2013
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Mark Peterson, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Rockville, MD.