The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Mark Hartley Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Mark Hartley?

Ratings and Reviews

23 Ratings with 4 Comments

  • Excellent
    13
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    1
  • Excellent
    13
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    1

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
14 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 23 Ratings with 4 Comments

5.0 Rating

August 21st, 2017

My total left hip replacement in October 2011 was like a miracle. Terrible pain before eliminated. Right hip replaced October 2016 with the same result. Dr. Mark Hartley virtually saved my life. I now walk nine miles & exercise vigorously three times a week & lead a normal life. I now see why one person once said "Doctors are like God" because they can end pain & give life. I cannot thank Dr. Mark Hartley & his staff enough.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 1st, 2013

Misdignosis

Dr. Hartley was cold, short and didn't seem to care about what I had to say. I came in with a probable knee ALC tear. He looked at the knee and signed me up for an MRI. I came back and he looked at the MRI and said my knee was fine. He suggested a brace. I knew my knee was not fine and went to the VA hospital. Usually the last place people want to go. The doctor there saw the MRI and knew something was wrong. Just had my surgery and my ACL was torn completely off. Pretty far from my knee being fine. I don't trust Dr. Hartley.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 19th, 2013

ACL Surgery

I had my left knee ACL replaced about 7 years back by another doctor, and i have been happy with the end result. Background: However, when finally my right knee's ACL gave out I wasn't looking forward to getting it done, because of the recovery time, the pain after surgery, and a year of my life that I cannot get back was spent on recovery. I found Dr. Hartley by researching online and didn't find too many reviews, but my old doctor did not have an early appointment so I decided to get Dr. Hartely's opinion at least. My past surgery went something like this: Entered Fairoaks hospital, got into hospital cloths, anesthesiologist introduced himself and asked to count backwards, before I got to 8 I was gone. After surgery I was in a world of pain, headache, nausea, and finally vomitted. As soon as I wiped the vomit off my face, they had me in a wheelchair, and stuffed me in the back of my parent's car. The next week I was on pain killers which made me feel sick, caused massive headaches and vomitting. Recovery to a point that I could walk comfortabely took 4 months, and a year past by before I could play any sports. But again, I haven't had problems. As a 24 year old, I played basketball and other sports without any issues. Experience: Dr. Hartley is a very gentle doctor with a good sense of humor. I enjoyed my visit and decided to have him do the surgery. I was very nervous the day of the surgery because of my past experience and the pain after the surgery. Before surgery they gave me medication for nasea, after surgery they were so nice to me, and gave me plenty of time to recover. The apple juice after the surgery did wonders for me. Didn't vomit, didn't even feel pain in my knee. It was done right!!! On the way home my mind was ready for the pain to come at any moment, but it didn't. Took my medication and the pain never came. I was talking to family and friends like a normal human being and people couldn't believe it was next day after my surgery. progress has been amazing. This is my 2.5 month mark and I have been to work and go to gym everyday. No impact sports, but I feel like I can :) hehe I went to my old doctor's office for physical therapy and I could tell they were amazed by my progress!! THank you Dr. Hartley!!!! and Commonwealth Orthopaedics facilities and staff are nice but busy!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 28th, 2009

Excellent doctor, well run practice.

Dr. Hartley operated on my knee for a torn meniscus, which he repaired and he also performed a complete chrondoplasty - reshaping the inside of the kneecap which had extensive arthritis. This was the 2nd surgeryon the knee and it's now in very good shape. He also treats me for arthritis, bursitis in the hip and tendonitis. He's caring, very clear, the office is well run, organized and responsive.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 26th, 2017

5.0 Rating

June 26th, 2017

3.0 Rating

June 26th, 2017

5.0 Rating

June 5th, 2017

5.0 Rating

January 17th, 2017

4.0 Rating

November 4th, 2016

5.0 Rating

October 19th, 2016

3.0 Rating

July 27th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Mark Hartley is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Reston, VA.

  • Dr. Daniel Laino

    Dr. Daniel Laino

    Surgery of the Hand, Orthopedic Surgery

    Reston, VA 0 mi

    12
  • Dr. David Gwinn

    Orthopedic Surgery of the Spine, Orthopedic Surgery

    Reston, VA 0 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    18
  • Dr. James Melvin III

    Dr. James Melvin III

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Reston, VA 0 mi

    5.0
    (7)
    11