Dr. Mark Casillas MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.4
  • 36 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

2.3 (-1.1)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    44%
  • Satisfied
    14%
  • Neutral
    3%
  • Dissatisfied
    17%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    22%
  • Wait Time 42.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
July 4th, 2016
Ankle Surgery
Had ankle surgery 2008 by Dr. Casillas. Ankle Kept swelling post-op and excruciating pain. Took forever to wait but when he arrived he said "nothing is wrong with your foot (he did not even touch my swollen foot nor look at it), clapped his hands together and said " Your done, get out of here". I was shocked and so were his fellows (med students)! Beware I give NO STARS. I have to give 1 star just to submit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 17th, 2016
Foot is worse now
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw the doctor only twice, very briefly. The other times was with a P.A. I have a lot of problems with my foot due to lack of good followup care. It is worse now before the surgery. I would not recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 16th, 2016
Prepare to wait hours
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Literally waited 4 1/2 hours past my appointment time. Was in his office until 8:10pm. Absolutely crazy. Then he rushed through my appt bc he was so behind.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 29th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I understand he is a good surgeon but my problem did not require surgery. I needed more time doing diagnostics and a more therapeutic approach to healing. Dr. Casillas' was not interested in taking the time to diagnose my problem and find a non-surgical path to healing. Because I did not require surgery he basically told me he couldn't help me. If you know your need surgery then he's probably great but if you have a more complex problem that requires diagnosis I'd recommend someone else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 4th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had an open compound fracture 13 yrs ago from an accident form wearing flip flops.. Dr Casillas was the er surgeon. He put the plates and pins in my ankle. It was badly damaged. every dtr I go to now say he did a fantastic job.I agree. my insurance doesnt cover him now other wise I would be going back to him for the fusion.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
August 5th, 2012
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Long wait ever time I have been there. The girl that works with him in the back is not all that pleasant to work with.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
July 24th, 2012
Overrated.
Wait time
60 minutes
Receptionists are rude and treat you as if you are a bother, rather than a customer/patient. Back office staff is very friendly. They get you into the back office quickly, but leave you in a waiting room with the door closed for a very long time, like only their time is important. While you are in that room nobody even checks if you to make sure you are ok or anything. Both the Dr and PA are too important and busy to follow up with your therapist should they have a concern or question in regards to your progress. (But that could just be his staff not relaying the message to Dr.)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 18th, 2011
Two total ankle replacements
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Casillas replaced my right ankle about 6 months ago and it is doing well. He replaced my left ankle 10 years ago and it is doing fine also. I was in constant pain before surgery and very limited on how far I could walk with an AFO. Now I can walk all over the place with ease and very little pain. I would recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 19th, 2011
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I really can't comment about the dr. as I have only seen him 4 times in the 7 mths I've been going to his office.He did surgery on me and I have seen him only 2 since. I have to ASK to be put on his schedule so I am usually seen by the PA's. The wait time in this office is CRAZY!!! I usually wait at leas 45 minutes in the lobby, then have a wait time of 1.5 hrs in the examine room before I am ever seen by the PA or Dr. My time is AS VALUABLE as the dr.'s. I am going to have my records sent to another dr.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 21st, 2011
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Waited over 2 hours then seemed like he could care less about my problem. I would never reccommend him even to a cow!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 26th, 2011
Great Doctor
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Casillas is a fine doctor, but it the office is very poorly run. Wait times exceed 2 hours without ever seeing the doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 8th, 2010
Dr. Casillas is excellent
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Casillas operated on my "crushed" ankle several years ago. It was so bad that he said that probably 90% of the doctors I might have seen would not have attempted corrective surgery on the ankle, but rather would have just fused it. He successfully repaired the ankle and I have had no problems with it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Mark Casillas, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near San Antonio, TX.

Doctor

Dr. Stace Rust

17 years experience

4.4 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jesse Delee

46 years experience

4.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. John Evans

45 years experience

3.9 of 5