The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Mark Casillas Is this you?
  • 20
  • 3
  • 5
  • 7
  • 10

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
43.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Mark Casillas?


45 Ratings with 13 Comments

2.0 Rating

March 3rd, 2017

never got in

waited in the waiting room for a hour and half ,finely got in a room ,then was told it would be ad least a another hour

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 4th, 2016

Ankle Surgery

Had ankle surgery 2008 by Dr. Casillas. Ankle Kept swelling post-op and excruciating pain. Took forever to wait but when he arrived he said "nothing is wrong with your foot (he did not even touch my swollen foot nor look at it), clapped his hands together and said " Your done, get out of here". I was shocked and so were his fellows (med students)! Beware I give NO STARS. I have to give 1 star just to submit.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

June 17th, 2016

Foot is worse now

I saw the doctor only twice, very briefly. The other times was with a P.A. I have a lot of problems with my foot due to lack of good followup care. It is worse now before the surgery. I would not recommend him.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 16th, 2016

Prepare to wait hours

Literally waited 4 1/2 hours past my appointment time. Was in his office until 8:10pm. Absolutely crazy. Then he rushed through my appt bc he was so behind.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 29th, 2015

I understand he is a good surgeon but my problem did not require surgery. I needed more time doing diagnostics and a more therapeutic approach to healing. Dr. Casillas' was not interested in taking the time to diagnose my problem and find a non-surgical path to healing. Because I did not require surgery he basically told me he couldn't help me. If you know your need surgery then he's probably great but if you have a more complex problem that requires diagnosis I'd recommend someone else.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 5th, 2014

I had an open compound fracture 13 yrs ago from an accident form wearing flip flops.. Dr Casillas was the er surgeon. He put the plates and pins in my ankle. It was badly damaged. every dtr I go to now say he did a fantastic job.I agree. my insurance doesnt cover him now other wise I would be going back to him for the fusion.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

August 6th, 2012

Long wait ever time I have been there. The girl that works with him in the back is not all that pleasant to work with.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

July 24th, 2012

Overrated.

Receptionists are rude and treat you as if you are a bother, rather than a customer/patient. Back office staff is very friendly. They get you into the back office quickly, but leave you in a waiting room with the door closed for a very long time, like only their time is important. While you are in that room nobody even checks if you to make sure you are ok or anything. Both the Dr and PA are too important and busy to follow up with your therapist should they have a concern or question in regards to your progress. (But that could just be his staff not relaying the message to Dr.)

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 18th, 2011

Two total ankle replacements

Dr. Casillas replaced my right ankle about 6 months ago and it is doing well. He replaced my left ankle 10 years ago and it is doing fine also. I was in constant pain before surgery and very limited on how far I could walk with an AFO. Now I can walk all over the place with ease and very little pain. I would recommend him.

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

October 19th, 2011

I really can't comment about the dr. as I have only seen him 4 times in the 7 mths I've been going to his office.He did surgery on me and I have seen him only 2 since. I have to ASK to be put on his schedule so I am usually seen by the PA's. The wait time in this office is CRAZY!!! I usually wait at leas 45 minutes in the lobby, then have a wait time of 1.5 hrs in the examine room before I am ever seen by the PA or Dr. My time is AS VALUABLE as the dr.'s. I am going to have my records sent to another dr.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

June 21st, 2011

Waited over 2 hours then seemed like he could care less about my problem. I would never reccommend him even to a cow!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

March 26th, 2011

Great Doctor

Dr. Casillas is a fine doctor, but it the office is very poorly run. Wait times exceed 2 hours without ever seeing the doctor.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Mark Casillas is similar to the following 3 Doctors near San Antonio, TX.

  • Dr. Jesse Delee

    Dr. Jesse Delee

    Orthopedic Surgery

    San Antonio, TX 0.01 mi

    4.5
    (83)
    47
  • Dr. Stace Rust

    Dr. Stace Rust

    Surgery of the Hand, Orthopedic Surgery

    San Antonio, TX 0.01 mi

    4.5
    (22)
    18
  • Dr. John Evans

    Orthopedic Surgery, Sports Medicine

    San Antonio, TX 0.01 mi

    4.1
    (40)
    46