Dr. Mark Ferguson MD Patient Reviews

  • Vascular Surgery Chicago, IL

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 30 patient ratings
  • 16 comments

Last 12 months:

4.5 (+ 0.7)

30 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    50%
  • Great
    7%
  • Good
    13%
  • Poor
    17%
  • Bad
    13%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 32.7 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
May 27th, 2017
Brilliant, skilled, thorough, makes certain you understand it all
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
His work and his follow up are impeccable. Between appointments he responds quickly to answer any questions and concerns. One friend refers to him as a "magician" surgeon. She consulted him after being told that she needed a pneumonectomy. Dr, Ferguson operated and spared 98% of her lung. All my referrals to him have had excellent outcomes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 15th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have all the confidence in the world in Dr Ferguson's knowledge and expertise. I would not hesitate to recommend him to family and friends. He likes to get right to the point. Some might be turned off , at times, by his abruptness. It goes without saying his professional reputation is one of the best.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 21st, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Removed tumor now wants to cut more out 3 months later.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 28th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had colon cancer metastasized to the lung. Dr. Ferguson operated on me in 2001 and still alive and kicking 14 years later.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 10th, 2013
Surgeon extraordinaire
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He's worth the waiting time on appointment day because you know that he will devote whatever time is necessary for you to understand your condition. He is totally honest and straightforward with a wry humor. In November, 2010, looking at several years of CT lung scans he told me, authoritatively, "We can't know whether you have cancer or not until we remove that nodule," Immediately, I felt totally safe and knew that I should set aside what seemed to me to be very good reasons for delaying surgery. I had a VATS lobectomy twelve days after that appointment and was home three days later ON Thanksgiving Day, actually. I'd sent an out of town friend to University of Chicago's pulmonary department in 2009 and Dr. Ferguson saved her life, mine, too, and many others I have referred to his exquisite care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
May 15th, 2013
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
May be a great surgeon but when,even after being warned and prepared, he has by far the worst bedside manner of any Dr I have ever come in contact with in my life. To quote Maya Angelou, " people will not remember what you said, they will remember how you made them feel." He should have someone else talk to patients and he should just do surgeries.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 9th, 2013
A patient
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ferguson saved my life. I had a problem swallowing food that I hid from my family and even myself for many years. I waited for treatment so long that I almost died from it. Thank God, I was refered to him.

5.0 of 5
April 25th, 2013
Thank You
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I cant say enough good things about Mr Ferguson or his staff.. I will say one thing you may find yourself sitting in his waiting room watching television for longer than you would care to but trust me the wait is well worth it.. I had someone tell me that Mr Ferguson is a Scientist as well as a Surgeon and he is. He puts much thought into your care he will test your ability to be able to withstand any surgery he may do, After I completed the testing he wanted done to make sure I was able to withstand surgery I smiled when he told me I "Superseded" and would be ready to have surgery Its been a little over a year since my pneumonectomy and I feel great.. Thank You Mr Ferguson for giving me my life back.. You gave me my wings back I just needed to open them a little more.. Life smells so nice these days... Thank You Thank You..
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
April 18th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have never had such little pain after a surgery. Dr. Ferguson is very skilled and I attribute that skill with the ease of my VATS surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 7th, 2012
GREAT Surgeon
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ferguson is a terrific thoracic surgeon. He performed a leubectomy on a cancerous lobe of my lung and surgery went perfectly. This man, literally, saved my life. He is brilliant, kind and has a GREAT sense of humor. He's one of those people who truly makes a difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 4th, 2012
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had surgery by Dr. Ferguson in 1997. Almost 15 years ago. I respected him then and now. He was everything I was looking for in a surgeon...confident, direct and kind and he saved my life. Outstanding! I would highly recommend him to a friend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 28th, 2012
Excellent
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Highly recommended...confident and direct.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Mark Ferguson, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Chicago, IL.