Dr. Mark Lovaas MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 49 patient ratings
  • 31 comments

Last 12 months:

3.6 (-0.3)

31 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    65%
  • Satisfied
    4%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    20%
  • Wait Time 10.5 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
January 3rd, 2017
He listened to my needs and delivered !!!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My result was fantastic
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 1st, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The man is a butcher he should change his business had operation breast reduction in 2006 breast look so bad in my life terrible job bad job
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
July 25th, 2016
Sty away frI'm this Edward Scissors Hands!!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Saw Dr. Lovaad for a bilateral breast reduction. After downplaying my concerns and pain at my post op visit, I ended up at my local ER twice with sever infections, MRSA, and an abcess. All of which left left terrible scarring, different breast sizes, mismatching nipper locations and continued pain 8 months after surgery. Additional, when I read his reports, he lies and puts in canned statements on each and every report such as "patient is happy with how things have gone so far. The patient is comfortable and does not have any pain issues." This is on almost every report even though I refused to see him any more and would only see his PCA Ginger Spronk and had to go to an outside wound care clinic to finally get my wounds to close 4 months after surgery. Stay away from this egomanic quack!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 13th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
hes the best had a great facelift
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
December 1st, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He did a delayed reconstruction after bilateral mastectomies. He told me I could be any size I wanted, but after the expanders were placed I asked how much fluid they held and when he told me I knew that unless they were removed and larger ones placed I could not be as big as I wanted. I went from a C cup to a B. I was told I had no choice of nipple color but later found out other colors were available from another provider and I could choose the color. When nipples were made they were not even, even though they measured the same from the sternum, incisions weren't even and one side was lower. I went to another provider and had surgery to do a revision. I quite asking him about my activity level as I felt he didn't care. I went to him as he did outreach and I didn't have to drive to Mpls to see him. It would have been well worth the time for me to drive as I know I would be happier. He has been described as an artist but unfortunately I did not see that.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 29th, 2015
No Good
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Lousy doctor, terrible listener, arrogant jerk
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 2nd, 2014
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
After a breast cancer diagnosis I had a mastectomy. Reconstruction also involved replacement of an old implant on the non-cancer side. Rather than just removing the implant, he removed so much of my own tissue that only 2-3mm of skin thickness was left. You could see through my skin with a flashlight! The nipple and areola disappeared with the strain on remaining skin tissue. Shortly after surgery I developed a breast infection on the non-cancer side. All this doctor would do is prescribe antibiotics. My breast was red, swollen and hot. My nipple was continually leaking. After 10 months of suffering with infection I told him the antibiotics are not getting to the implant area. He refused to remove the implant and clean out the infection. He wanted to try more antibiotics. Enough suffering. I FIRED HIM. I researched for a good surgeon and found one. Over the next 3 years and approx. 12 surgeries later I now have a normal breast again. The cancer side also had to be reconstructed. I would never go to him again and would advise others to seek medical care elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 6th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Lovaas listened carefully to my concerns and addressed them one by one to give me a fantastic result.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 3rd, 2013
Ruined my nose
I was only 18 years old when he destroyed my face by misrepresenting his abilities to me. The rhinoplasty he performed on me left me permanently deformed. I had to have 3 subsequent major nasal reconstructive surgeries after, which cost me well over $25,000. He left me with results which were so horrific, that the disaster was only partially reparable. It is an unconscionable act for a surgeon to inflict this kind of harm on a patient, leaving the patient to suffer from remorse and the frustration of never being able to repair the damage, forever. It is simply devastating and irreparable. Please be cautious and make sure you thoroughly research your surgeon prior to undergoing surgery. I will always regret my surgery with him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 27th, 2013
Excellent Surgeon
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is a lot of fun and a great surgeon. I had a double masectomy after being diagnosed with breast cancer. He and the staff guided me through the process with great care. I have relatives that are in the medical profession and they have commented that my newly formed breasts are the best they have ever seen.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 15th, 2013
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is the best he listened carefully and did a fantastic procedure. I'm telling all my friends
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 7th, 2013
Craniosynostosis surgery
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
We were referred to Dr. Lovaas for craniosynostosis surgery. The procedure done by Dr. Lovaas on our infant's skull was poorly done and we had to put our child through an additional traumatic surgery to repair the work done. Our child had metal plates and screws that started between the skull and facial skin but migrated to the inside of the skull, poking through the dura (tough, leathery membrane that surrounds the brain) into the brain itself. These were later removed by another surgeon out of state (who said he'd never seen so many metal plates utilized). The metal plate movement required significant repair to my child's dura and the metal plates made some of the bone far less usable in reconstructing the skull (b/c it's difficult to separate the metal plate from the bone without compromising the condition of the bone) and also significantly increased the risk of cerebralspinal fluid leaks. My child had very successful surgery in Dallas by a surgeon who performs 2-4 cranial repairs/day to repair these issues. No blood transfusion was required (they use a cell saver machine to recycle the child's own blood), no hair was shaved, the incision line looks beautiful, the hospital stay was only 2 nights - a marked difference from when the procedure was done in Mpls by Dr. Lovaas. A well-intended surgeon, I believe...but he performs a wide range of surgeries. For craniosynostosis, go to a specialist who has the experience that comes from focusing on this type of pediatric skull surgery. At the very least, get a 2nd opinion from the Craniofacial Center in Dallas before proceeding. They do more of these there than anyone in the country and are outstanding!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Mark Lovaas, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Minneapolis, MN.

Doctor

Dr. Jason Buseman

10 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Anthony De Angelis

34 years experience

4.1 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Marie Christensen

42 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor