ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Mark Mcgowan Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Mark Mcgowan?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Mark Mcgowan?

Ratings and Reviews

20 Ratings with 5 Comments

  • Excellent
    17
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    2
  • Excellent
    17
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
10.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 20 Ratings with 5 Comments

5.0 Rating

February 22nd, 2017

My PCP for over 20 years

I have had Dr. McGowan help me through almost every health crisis I may have encountered, with kindness, sincerity and caring. I've always felt he listens to me, and guides me in the right direction to better health.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 16th, 2014

patient

professional. courteous. caring. the best!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 2nd, 2013

Mis-diagnosed my colon cancer

He mis-diagnosed my colon cancer. I went in complaining of symptoms of weakness and stool problems. The doctor's blood tests showed I was anemic; so he prescribed OTC iron tablets. I was not convinced I was cured of what was bothering me and asked and asked and asked for referral to gastrointestinal specialist. McGowan insisted I was fine as my new bloodwork came back with an improvement indicating I was no longer anemic. He sent me this statement in writing. So I saw another doctor, who got me into a GI guy who did a colonoscopy, woke me up and said "You have a tumor; it has to come out." (I later found out I was bleeding internally from a cancerous tumor in my colon. The iron pills simply masked this blood loss! The surgeon had to cut out half my colon, I did 6 months chemo and survived.) But I am not a letigitous person and decided to focus on rebuilding my health vs. suing this overworked doctor.)

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 13th, 2012

Excellent, caring physician.

Dr. McGowan has been my family doctor for many years. Caring, intelligent, knowledgeable, excellent "bedside" manner, terrific follow-up. I treasure my relationship with Dr. McGowan, and consider us fortunate to have such a reliable and thorough physician.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 15th, 2009

Misdiagnosis cost me dearly

I am in store for some major surgery because Dr. McGowan failed to refer me to a specialist, and instead misdiagnosed an injury as something much more minor than it was. Even when I complain of continuing pain, Dr. McGowan basically ignored my complaints, again failing to refer me to a qualified specialist. The treatment would have been minor if properly diagnosed in the first place. Now I'm in store for a huge surgery with major risks of complications, and the possibility I will never recover fully. If you are a patient of his, please don't trust him, demand to see a specialist. Don't end up like me.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 9th, 2017

5.0 Rating

December 28th, 2016

5.0 Rating

October 2nd, 2015

5.0 Rating

May 22nd, 2015

5.0 Rating

November 30th, 2014

5.0 Rating

October 28th, 2014

5.0 Rating

September 22nd, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Mark Mcgowan is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Santa Monica, CA.

  • Dr. Joseph Gutman

    Internal Medicine

    Santa Monica, CA 0.01 mi

    4.8
    (21)
    35
  • Dr. Robert Ashley

    Dr. Robert Ashley

    Internal Medicine

    Santa Monica, CA 0.01 mi

    4.8
    (24)
    16
  • Dr. Daniel Furst

    Dr. Daniel Furst

    Rheumatology, Internal Medicine

    Santa Monica, CA 0.01 mi

    4.4
    (17)
    49