The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. J Melhorn Is this you?
  • 10
  • 4
  • 2
  • 2
  • 9

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
13.8 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. J Melhorn?


27 Ratings with 10 Comments

5.0 Rating

January 17th, 2017

Dr. J. Mark Melhorn

Dr. Melhorn performed carpal tunnel surgery on both wrists. He is fast, personable and does an excellent job. Staff is cordial and the wait time to see for the first time was minimal.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 8th, 2016

Still in Pain

I went to an orthopedic Dr. who referred me to Dr. Melhorn. Dr. Melhorn said I did not have injuries to my wrist although the MRI said I did. 1 year later, I am still struggling to use my wrist. I went to another orthopedic surgeon recently who did another MRI. I still have my injuries, but they have worsened. I need medical treatment and needed it over 1 year ago. Be careful about his diagnosis. He needs to review the MRI information and not just rely on the xrays.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 24th, 2016

Among the best. highly recommend.

Very professional, highly knowledgeable, competent and accurate surgeon. I have had two successful procedures performed by this Doctor. Slightly fast paced, but do not let that fool you into thinking he has no time for you - he will continue to answer your questions to your satisfaction. I would advise anyone needing and orthopedic Doctor and surgeon to please use his services.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

March 17th, 2016

Really enjoy visiting w/ dr and staff. Prompt at getting in for appointment/ work with you around traveling distances and making as many appointments on the same day as workable .

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

October 18th, 2015

pre-op

i have been to see him. for carp tunnel. going to surgery the 20th of oct. have watched many many u-tube vids on the proceedure and am hoping i can be sedated. will repost as to my experiance with the surgery

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 14th, 2015

Go To Another Dr

Melhorn had me come in 3-4 times before he decided he would operate on my hand for carpal tunnel. I decided not to have surgery. I felt he was incompetent and a total waste of my time and money. His office staff was rude and the bills seemed to never stop. I was still getting bills after nearly a year.

Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 5th, 2015

Do go here

Never would recommend anyone to the hand center or to Dr J Mark Melhorn!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

May 21st, 2012

Dr. Melhorn is totally uncaring. My husband was in on a workmans' comp case after his hand was broken at work. Dr. didn't ask any questions or listen to our concerns, barely glanced at the xrays, and didn't explain what was going on. He basically poked at my husband's hand and told his assistant to put a cast on it, took some notes rapidly into his tape recorder and left. They put an improper cast for the type of injury and told him he could go back to normal duty (he works unloading boxes off of a freight truck) with no restrictions. We requested (and got) a new doctor for my husbands treatment. I will never go to his office again, and would not reccomend him to anyone I know.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 6th, 2011

There's a reason this man is in a solo practice. He's an egotistical maniac. He didn't take time to ask questions or fully examine my hand and arm, and simply told me to do 'exercise' and come back. Had to make 3 visits 1) intake 2) tests 3) followup. Hard for someone who lives 150 miles away from Wichita.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 16th, 2010

Very good doctor very comfortable, comes down to your level and lets you understand and doesnt use the doctors talk, very good!!! Did awesome!

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 8th, 2017

5.0 Rating

April 4th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. J Melhorn is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Wichita, KS.

  • Dr. Kellis Bulleigh

    Orthopedic Surgery, General Surgery

    Wichita, KS 1.08 mi

    5.0
    (2)
  • Dr. Ryan Pate

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Wichita, KS 1.08 mi

    4.5
    (2)
    13
  • Dr. Michael Heggeness

    Dr. Michael Heggeness

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Wichita, KS 1.08 mi

    4.1
    (12)
    33