Dr. Mark Nolden MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.2
  • 33 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (+ 1.1)

11 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    39%
  • Satisfied
    18%
  • Neutral
    3%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    36%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 35.1 minutes

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

5.0 of 5
August 4th, 2016
Greatest surgeon on the back
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Nolden explained the need for surgery, taking his time to be certain I understood everything. His follow-up was generous - 2 years, which included a visit every few months during that time. He always wa calm and took time for me to be certain I understood.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 28th, 2016
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Nolden operated 4 times on my back and cervix and he's a great doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 2nd, 2015
Just Collecting a Check
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was told "there is nothing wrong with your back. Whatever you have going on can't be your back." Months later after numerous testing, another Dr decided to order a epidural spinal injection. Sure enough, after injections in each of the the last two disc spaces, I had relief. Proof that my herniated discs were causing refered nerve pain and weakness.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 4th, 2015
Would Have Given Zero Stars If The Option Were Available
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor is terrible! My wife is in so much pain and cannot even get up to go to the bathroom. She is losing feeling in her leg due to the disc pressing on the nerve. She had an appt with him and was scheduled 2 weeks out for surgery. She asked him what to do about the pain and he prescribed Oxy. She asked about going to the ER for pain management and he said that would not help her because they wouldn't give her anything stronger than the Oxy that he prescribed (wrong). She had questions about the surgery and before she could even ask one question, he told her that those questions were for his nurse and he hung up the phone. Yes, this appt was over the phone. That night she went to the ER due to the pain. Someone from his team came to check up on her the next day and said after talking Nolden, the plan was pain managment, release her in 2 days and wait for the surgery because he doesn't have anything else available in his schedule. All night she was in pain even on Morphine and Volume. The next morning, this person from the team came back and said that Nolden moved her appt up one week and she can wait in a nursing home until the surgery. She is 35 years old and has not been able to work and has to drop out of her classes this semester due the severe pain she has been in for about one month now. The nurses and PA at the hospital said this was terrible and began looking for a doctor at the hospital that can do the surgery faster. His office called and told her that if she doesn't confirm the appt with him by 10 am tomorrow, her surgery will be cancelled, meanwhile we don't know if another doctor can do something faster. We have spoken to someone on another doctor's team that is possibly able to do the surgery tomorrow. I can't say enough terrible things about Nolden.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 9th, 2013
Worse office staff ever
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
For my first appointment I waited nearly 2.5 hours! The office staff could have cared less and the doctor's response was " that's what happens when you book an appointment late in the day." So today when I woke up and could not even move due to excruciating pain, the office staff has yet to phone about an "emergency" appointment even though I called at 7:30am. Clearly this staff and MD think they are the only ones who's time is of any value. I will not only not recommend this MD but I will tell my MD friends and family not to ever recommend this doc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 21st, 2012
Worse doctor ever!!! Dont go
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have never been treated so poorly by a doctor in my life. I waited for an hour and 45 minutes before I even saw him and the conversation was 5 minutes. His PA came in and she had no personality and clearly could have cared less about me or my pain. Apparently the entire office thought my wait was acceptable because I never heard anyone apologize for the amount of time it took to be seen and because of the short time the doc spent talking to me I still don't know what's wrong with my back and he didn't hang around for questions!!! I will never go back here!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 13th, 2012
Dr. Nolden
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. spent less than 10 minutes with me and kept me waiting for almost 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 26th, 2012
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very personable doctor, very caring
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 21st, 2012
horrible
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
HORRIBLE! Worst doctor experience of my life. Waited for 45 minutes. Do not be fooled this is NOT a Northwestern doctor! It is the Northshore group doctor who has access to Northwestern facilities for surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 22nd, 2009
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am due to have surgery on my C6/7 vertebrae in a day. I am nervous about the procedure, but I am not nervous about Dr. Nolden performing the surgery. He appears extremely professional and knowledgeable about what he practices. Because he is an excellent Dr., I have to understand the waits in the waiting room. If he rushed through patient to patient, then I would worry a little. One thing they can do is inform the patient the length of the wait when signing in.I will sign in after the surgery to tell you more.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 24th, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
DR. NOLDEN DID A GREAT JOB ON MY SPINAL FUSION SURGERY. PAIN RETURNED ABOUT A YEAR LATER DUE TO SPINAL STENOSIS AND NOW I AM TREATED LIKE A MAILINGERING PEST. DR. NOLDEN IS A GREAT SERGEON WITH A GREAT STAFF. HOWEVER, I FEEL HE HAS A PROBLEM WITH COMPASSION AND TRUST FOR HIS PATIENTS.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Mark Nolden, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Chicago, IL.

Doctor

Dr. Charles Carroll IV

35 years experience

4.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Raju Ghate

18 years experience

4.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Richard Wixson

45 years experience

4.5 of 5