Dr. Mark Rettenmaier MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.4
  • 59 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

3.5 (+ 0.1)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    47%
  • Satisfied
    14%
  • Neutral
    2%
  • Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    32%
  • Bedside Manner
  • Wait Time 20.4 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
May 27th, 2016
Dr. Rettenmaier was so cruel to my family. We thought we were taking my sister home from Hoag Hospital, and he walked in the waiting room and said "She's going to die." No sympathy, just a flat statement which caused my mother to faint and fall on a chair. He has the least and poorest "bedside manner" and attitude toward patient's family I have ever seen. He's finally getting what he deserves, the creep.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 27th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This review comes 11 years after Dr. Rettenmeier saved my life. He has a spirit of excellence that is unparalleled and he truly has an anointing in his field. Thank you, doctor, for your wonderful care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 19th, 2015
Typical Newport Beach Snob
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Left my wife with a fistula after her first surgery. Was like oh well lets just do it again so a second surgery was performed that included a 30 day stay at Hoag to recover and it still wasn't right. Had to have a local Palm Springs Doctor do it a third time and everything was fine. This guy is rude, insensitive, knows everything and everyone but cant backup his talk. His staff and staff partners are the same maybe even worse. Runaway from this quack as fast as u can. I guess now seeing that he is a pedophile it explains his personality and that he had other things on his mind beside making himself and Hoag a ton of money from his careless mistakes
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 23rd, 2015
Go to someone else
Dr. Rettenmaier performed a 3rd "exploratory" surgery on my mother back-to-back from her previous surgery the month before. He cut her top to bottom in this exploratory operation that took her years to bounce back from and that many of the other doctors whose care she was under deemed unnecessary. Go to someone else who has better bedside manner and really cares about his patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 14th, 2015
THIS MAN IS NOT TO BE TRUSTED
Easy Appointment
Appropriate Follow-up
Over two years ago my mother was seen by Dr. Rettenmaier and he performed her hysterectomy where he severed her main artery which resulted in her death less than two weeks later. Careless simply careless and he had no real concern or care for my 67 year old mother who passed way before her time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 8th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
FIRST CLASS DR. IN HIS FIELD. SAVED MY WIFE'S LIFE. WE OWE HIM EVERYTHING.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 31st, 2014
Unbelievable charges
Dr. Rettinmaier saved my life, he is innocent until proven guilty.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 17th, 2013
Dr. Rettenmaier
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was immediately put at ease by him. He was very reassuring about my condition and was thorough and the surgery went great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 13th, 2012
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. R did excellent work in meeting with my wife to identify her ovarian medical problem during out initial visit. He removed a large tumor laproscopicly and spent time with us afterwards to explain the nature of the tumor (benign dermoid cyst). He also gave us several numbers if we needed to contact him immediately afterwards. He was patient, assuring, clear, and honest. We were in very capable hands throughout the process.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 5th, 2012
Do not Trust Dr. Rettenmaier!!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a procedure done with my gynecologist that led to the discovery of cancer. I was referred to Dr. Rettenmaier and he assured me he would have my slides sent to his friend at USC to have them reread for accuracy. He called me to confirm the results of the slides. With the encouragement of my family, I chose to get a second opinion from another oncologist at UCI Medical Center. Because they are a university, they have a board that reviews slide tests on site. The new oncologist I visited asked me to track down my slides because Dr. Rettenmaier's office was giving them the run around. I called the hospital at which I had the initial procedure and they told me I could come pick up my slides. When I went there, I was told they had never left that hospital and they had no clue what I was talking about with USC. Dr. Rettenmaier lied to me about having my tests read. After they had been reviewed at UCI, it was evident the information he provided me when he called me back was false!! Do NOT go to this doctor!! He cuts corners and clearly does not care for his patients. He is more concerned with getting procedures booked and making money than he is with the welfare of his patients!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 9th, 2012
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He doesnt care if he lies to you, is rude to you, or if you are getting the treatment that is best for you. He likes quantity of patients. Money is definitely his motivator.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 16th, 2011
Saved my life.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
A skilled surgeon. Great personality and up to date. Performed 3 surgeries for me, all spaced about 3 years apart. Wonderful staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Mark Rettenmaier, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Newport Beach, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Christina Lee

4.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Lisa Abaid

15 years experience

4.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. John Brown

31 years experience

4.1 of 5