The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Mark Shalauta Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Mark Shalauta?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Mark Shalauta?

Ratings and Reviews

11 Ratings with 6 Comments

  • Excellent
    8
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    0
  • Excellent
    8
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    0

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
9 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 11 Ratings with 6 Comments

2.3 Rating

November 23rd, 2014

Dr. Shaulata has a very good bedside manner. Unfortunately I lost confidence in him after missing obvious skin cancer on myself and a hearing problem in my daughter.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 30th, 2013

Finally, my search for the best doctor I can see is over!

It's almost as if he has been taking notes about what makes people dissatisfied with many doctors and goes out of his way to make sure that nothing like that happens. He has the best bedside manner of any doctor I have ever seen. He is kind and courteous. He makes eye contact, and has a great sense of humor. He makes you feel like he truly cares. He is professional and knowledgeable, and just all-around awesome. My first impression of him was awesome before I even saw him. In his patient rooms, he has flyers about how he wants his patients to focus on exercising and trying to eat right instead of a number on a scale. As someone who is healthy and fit but on the normal/overweight line for most BMI charts, it's a huge relief that I know he is not going to give me a hard time (especially with my eating disorder history in my youth and general anxiety around my weight). I just hope he never leaves Scripps Carmel Mountain!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 24th, 2012

Amazing family doctor!

Dr. Shalauta has been my duaghters doctor sence birth and I can not say enough wonderful things about him! You can really tell hw much he cares about his patients. His nurse, Donna is also the most wonderful nurse in the world!

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 3rd, 2012

I called in that day and say Dr. Shalauta because he was the Dr on call. He was great, he seemed to care very much about figuring out what was wrong and treating it. Unfortunately a week later when I called in because I was having pains in my lungs his staff said he couldn't see me for three months. I was pretty upset about that, since having excruciatingly sharp pains in my lungs every 10-15 minutes isn't something that could wait for three months.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 24th, 2011

Wonderful Family Doctor

Dr. Shalauta takes care of my whole family. When my son is sick, he makes an appointment for him within the same day and never rushes it, despite having to work him in between patients. His bedside manner is wonderful and he seems willing to listen to you and share his experience with you at the same time. I would HIGHLY recommend him as a family doctor.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 17th, 2010

Real doc, real medicine

Dr. Shalauta perfectly suites my needs as my physician. He is practical, easy to talk to, compassionate but with a wonderful (but unique) sense of humor, and extremely knowledgeable. With Dr. S, I feel that I am being treated as a whole person/patient and not a combination of medical diseases. He fully endorses education and addressing wellness from all angles. I have seen Dr. S for a multitude of issues, and I gotta say, the guy knows his stuff and breaks it down in a way that I not only understand it, but appreciate what I need to do to stay well. I never feel confused or that I'm being talked at and I lam excited to play an active role in my health care. I plan to bring my entire family to Dr. S. Great doc, great office!

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

September 2nd, 2015

5.0 Rating

February 9th, 2015

2.3 Rating

January 24th, 2015

5.0 Rating

June 30th, 2014

5.0 Rating

July 28th, 2010

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Mark Shalauta is similar to the following 3 Doctors near San Diego, CA.

  • Dr. Ellen Edwards

    Dr. Ellen Edwards

    Family Medicine

    San Diego, CA 0 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    17
  • Dr. Paul Brydon

    Family Medicine, Residency

    San Diego, CA 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    7
  • Dr. Judith Kemp

    Family Medicine

    San Diego, CA 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    22