The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Martha Hierro Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Martha Hierro?

Colonoscopy

Get the facts about colonoscopy, including how and why it's done and doctors who perform the procedure.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Martha Hierro?

Ratings and Reviews

23 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    9
  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    9

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
35.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 23 Ratings with 7 Comments

1.0 Rating

September 24th, 2015

Awful

Arrogant and negligent. ZERO follow up. Zero. Goes off bloodwork, ignoring clinical significance of symptoms within a human. You'll be stage 4 before she gives a hoot, if ever. Worst doctor I've had the misfortune of experiencing.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 16th, 2015

I have been a patient of dr.hierros for many years. She is the one of the most knowledgeable and compassionate doctors in the field . You cannot find a better doctor. Dedicated and smart.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 23rd, 2013

Horrific.

Terrible doctor who has no clinical insticts of value, and goes solely off bloodwork. Zero follow up. You'll be sick and dead before she takes notice and you get a diagnosis. Ridiculous. Also you'll wait for over an hour. Easily. And the office staff, in general, is incompetent. AVOID.

Wait time
56 minutes
Promptness
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 20th, 2012

The best doctor I've ever been lucky enough to have.

Dr Hierro is everything I though I could never have with a doctor.CaringConfidentKnowledgeable Outstanding bedside mannerApproaches care holistically - not just prescribing drugs. She looks at the general well being of the patient. How is stress, work, relationships, are you resting enough, eating well etc. She creates action plans for long term care (referring to chronic illness). She takes time to explain plan A, then depending on your wellness, Plan B, Plan C. etc. This gives me as a patient a sense of trust and confidence that my disease is being taken care of. I am the healthiest I have ever been after 20 years with a chronic disease. I was sorry to have left California and the care that I have received from Dr Hierro for the past 10 years.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

January 10th, 2012

Long waiting and horrible follow-up

Both my husband and I had very long waiting times (45 min to 3 hours), and even though Dr. Hierro has excellent bedside manners, she apparently consistently overbooks. Her follow-up is basically non-existent, and we are both extremely dissatisfied with her as a physician.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 22nd, 2011

I recently saw Hierro - she had come highly recommended. I have cancer and was having severe gastro problems and needed a colonoscopy and endoscopy. We scheduled the appointment for the procedure but two days before when I had called to ask a few questions re the prep and the use of my power port during the procedure, she lost her temper with me on the phone and began to lecture me and yell at me. I was taken aback and tried to understand why she was so angry with me at which point she said "you aren't listening to me and don't deserve me as your doctor". She then hung up on me. All I can think is she was having an awful day and I was the person she chose to take it out on. However, I wouldn't want a person like that with clear anger management issues performing a sensitive process on me. I have found a wonderful gastro who took me in, responded openly and supportively about my questions and am scheduled for tomorrow for the procedure. Be careful with this woman, dangerous. During the 6 years that I have been fighting my cancer and the numerous doctors I have entrusted my care with, I have never dealt with anyone as nasty as Hierro.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 30th, 2009

excellent care

I cannot speak more highly of this professional. She cares. She is careful in her words, observations, ordering of tests, follow-through. I feel very well attended to by her and her staff.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 17th, 2017

5.0 Rating

July 25th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

February 28th, 2016

1.0 Rating

February 16th, 2016

1.0 Rating

September 19th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Martha Hierro is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Santa Monica, CA.

  • Dr. Prabhtej Brara

    Dr. Prabhtej Brara

    Internal Medicine, Cardiovascular Disease, Cardiology, Interventional Cardiology

    Santa Monica, CA 0 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    18
  • Dr. Sandra Ho

    Dr. Sandra Ho

    Allergy and Immunology, Internal Medicine

    Santa Monica, CA 0 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    7
  • Dr. Daniel Wohlgelernter

    Dr. Daniel Wohlgelernter

    Cardiology, Internal Medicine, Cardiovascular Disease

    Santa Monica, CA 0 mi

    5.0
    (7)
    40