The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Martha Stark Is this you?

Vitals cannot verify whether or not this professional is currently practicing. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their status. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

  • 10
  • 2
  • 2
  • 4
  • 10

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
11.2 min
Appropriate Followup

28 Ratings with 15 Comments

2.0 Rating

August 18th, 2016

1.Confrontational, felt unsafe 2.Diagnosis- More complex than Dr. S. approached the treatment 3.Not consistent at times attacked primal issues without sensitivity, neglecting the effect that her words and behaviors, could have on further re-traumatization and safety. Careless about actions without thinking about ramifications on the patient, she was seeing at the time and causing significant emotional harm. 4. sometimes fully present other times not. 5. Absolutely not .

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 12th, 2015

A truly gifted Practioner! Absolutely amazing. Feel blessed to be working with D. Stark!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 29th, 2013

The very best there is

Brilliant, compassionate, empathic, patient, always prompt. There truly is nobody like Dr. Stark. She is a diamond in the rough. With her wisdom and expertise, I have been blessed to learn, evolve, take responsibility, heal, and so much more. If you are lucky enough to work with Dr. Stark, she can help you save your own life. She is the very best.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 22nd, 2013

former pt

It has taken me years to understand how 'off' my work with Dr Stark was. She missed the most important aspects of my experience as a child, and the environment in which I grew up, and even the impact of the 'therapeutic relationship' with her on me. Thank goodness I have come to understand this, and can begin to undo the damage done to me by my work with her. I would advise staying away from this practitioner. Far, far away.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 26th, 2012

Strange lady. Dust bunnies all over the office.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 1st, 2012

wonderful

I have been working with Dr. Stark on and off for over twenty years. She has been a true life-saver.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 9th, 2012

another concerned mh practitioner

Keep running into former pts of this therapist. Very poor results in all cases. A psychiatrist to avoid.

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 12th, 2012

concerned mental health professional

Stay away from this therapist! Very poor clinician, out of date theories, guides her patients according to her own theories rather than their needs. Rigid. Narcissistic. Way over-priced.

Accurate Diagnosis
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 15th, 2011

Addendum/Correction

Correction: Previously, I wrote that I would " not recommend" this doctor. At that time I did not realize how dangerous she can be. Since working with a former patient of Dr. Stark's, and seeing the personal, medical, emotional and financial devastation that she left in her wake, I must recommend that you walk quickly to the nearest exit and do not look back. Expect her to pursue you, as she seems to be short on clients right now.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 24th, 2011

social worker

A mental health practitioner to avoid! Consumed by her own theories, into 'alternative' holistic remedies for which she writes testimonials and reviews, very over priced and rigid about payment and scheduling. Gives same workshops all over Boston, retreading same ground every time. There are way better therapists and prescribers out there!!!!!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 19th, 2011

Eccentric, overpriced, and a little loony

This doctor formerly was prominent in psychoanalytic circles, and once had had an almost cult-like following. As her following has dissipated, her ideas have become more frankly self-serving and off-beat. She now endorses some fringy pseudo-holistic commercial therapies and products. As a doctor she is dangerous, prescribing "natural" cures whithout reference to normal medical practice. She may think herself above such petty concerns. As a therapist, her need for income seems to trump the standards of ethics that most therapists practice. I would steer clear of this doctor, and watch your wallet closely if you do get involved.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 29th, 2011

survivor of a difficult family situation

Dr Stark is consumed with her own theories to the extent that it disrupts her capacity to listen to her patients. Although she has pretensions of being unique in her style and thinking, it sounded like an old rehash of outmoded psychoanalytic theories to me. Very unhelpful.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Martha Stark is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Newton Center, MA.

  • Dr. Lawrence Rosenberg

    Psychiatry, Child Psychiatry

    Newton Center, MA 0.08 mi

    3.6
    (6)
    47
  • Dr. Christopher Bullock

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Newton Center, MA 0.10 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    35
  • Dr. Martha McFadden

    Psychiatry

    Newton Center, MA 0.10 mi

    4.8
    (8)
    39