Dr. Martin Mayer MD Patient Reviews

  • Psychiatry Colonia, NJ

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 23 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.2)

23 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    61%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    13%
  • Poor
    4%
  • Bad
    22%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 12.5 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
May 18th, 2016
f personable
Wait time
10 minutes
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Kind warm demeanor..asked solid questions to engage
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 23rd, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is a caring psychiatrist and listens well. He has been more than adequate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 7th, 2014
Good Experience So Far
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr. Mayer for about 2 months, and I have to say I have had a great experience so far. For 10 years I have been suffering from severe emotional problems, and my previous (Medicaid) doctor misdiagnosed me with major depressive disorder after about 2 minutes of seeing me and started meds that made me gain a lot of weight and didn't help at all, causing me to be hospitalized 3 times in 5 years. After I got employer based private insurance, my family doctor referred me to Dr. Mayer. He sat down with me for a good hour and went over my symptoms, past history, current problems, and he asked about medical tests I'd had so he had the whole picture. Then, finally, after so long suffering, he changed my diagnosis to one that is actually accurate! So far, the treatment plan he prescribed is working and for the first time, I am beginning to feel better. He really takes the time and listens, even offered to call my rheumatologist to discuss the meds I'm on so we can make sure nothing she prescribes me interacts or interferes with my disorder. I give Dr. Mayer a 10 out of 10. (It IS true that the office staff can be a little abrasive. I overheard a few conversations with other patients that were a bit brisk, and thought they probably could be nicer when speaking to patients who are mentally ill. However, I personally have not had a problem - they have been very polite and helpful to me thus far.)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 25th, 2014
Terrible
I'm suffering from severe depression and anxiety. A family member of mine gave me the number to dr mayers office. When I called to make an appointment I was met with a rude receptionist. She kept questioning me about how I got the number or how I know dr Mayer instead of my condition. I was then denied an appointment because I'm only 20 instead of 21 and I'll be 21 in a month. My mother then called the office and was met with rudeness as well. I can't believe a dr Mayer would turn down a patient due to age and I also cannot believe he hires such rude people who are mean and nasty to people who are already suffering through severe depression
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
August 15th, 2013
rudest laziest office staff
Dr. Mayer should be aware that his office staff is rude and lazy. They don't stop their idle chit chat with each while you are waiting for their attention. They are both immature and cause friction with the patients then tell Dr. Mayer only their side of the story. The billing procedures are awful and he should be aware of this. my insurance cringes when I called to tell them of how Dr. Mayer's office staff does their billing. They are not professional in any way whatsoever. Dr. Mayer please look at your staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 31st, 2013
my husband died after seeing Dr. Mayer
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My h usband was diagnosed with "MAJOR depressive disorder", He saw dr. 3 times in one week, Dr. told him go home, take meds, have a McDonalds milkshake to help you gain weight back. My husband committed suicide 2 days later.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 23rd, 2011
Unethical and dangerous
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Makes hasty diagnosis, precribes high doses of Xanax and other drugs, titrating them up too quickly, with no regard for life-threatening side effects of some drugs he prescribes or fact that benzos are highly addictive. I personally know two people that he misdiagnosed and they are both suffering addicted to drugs, in and out of withdrawal and he could care less. He hides beind HIPPA so he doesn't have to take calls from concerned family members. He should lose his license and I am likely going to take action against him shortly because he is reckless and has ruined my family members life since he met her.

1.0 of 5
January 5th, 2011
Unqualified
Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Diagnoses problems before really getting to know a patient, and over prescribes addictive and dangerous medications. I would not recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 3rd, 2010
Great Doctor, Awful staff
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Mayer is out of this world. He is a lifesaver, truly. That is why it is a shame he has employed 2 of the rudest, most unprofessional women to run his office. They are very curt, snotty and will barely stop their idle chattering to help you. I recommended him to a friend but she was turned off by their demeanor over the phone. She promptly hung up and found another doctor. He has been told about them. He should REALLY think hard about what these women are putting forth as his `image`.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 24th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 12th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 28th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Martin Mayer, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Colonia, NJ.