Dr. Marvin Riske MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

2.9
  • 40 patient ratings
  • 20 comments

Last 12 months:

3.4 (+ 0.5)

20 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    45%
  • Satisfied
    3%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    48%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 19.6 minutes
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
April 4th, 2016
Front office incompetence!!!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Made an appointment last friday, but my doctor wasn't going to in until Thursday because was an regent matter the woman on the phone said she could get me in 8 o'clock Monday but with a different doctor. I arrived today at 750am for my appointment and there was someone sitting outside in their car so I thought the office wasn't open yet so I waited about 5 minutes, then decided to check the door it was open but no one was up front so I sat down. In the mean time the person who was outside came in, signed in, and sat down. About 5 minutes went by before the office staff came out from the back and asked if I was here for a blood draw and I stated no I here for an appointment but I hadn't signed in, so I signed in. After a few minutes she stated my appointment wasn't until next Monday. I stated no, it's today 8 am. She said there was only one doctor there today and he was booked. I then told her why I was there and what I was told on the phone. She disappeared so waited for her to come back and talk to me. She had moved over out of sight, she had texted the employee who made the appointment and check with them if I was telling her the truth. She never even bothered to check with the doctor. So I asked again if she could get me in she said no, she had an appointment tomorrow. I said no thanks and left. Someone just called me from the office, said they had a cancellation and could get me in later today. I have been in there office later in the day, you sit in the lobby for over an hour. The reason I didn't go urgent care Friday was my medical history, now I need to find a new primary care doctor because of the office incompetence. I have been in the lobby when this staff bad month another patient and I also been lied to by them about a referral being sent when it hadn't been. I'm not sure if there are understaffed and over worked or whether or not they just don't care. Either way my medical care suffers and when you don'the feel well, no one wants to deal with it!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 5th, 2016
Wait time
56 minutes
Worse doctor and needs to lose her licences. Went in because I was diagnosed with mono from going to the ER. Anyone who has had mono knows it can take hrs to muster uo the energy to get up. After I get to the dr. I notice dr riske now charging an additional 75.00 if you need fmla paperwork done on top of an additional visit...annoyed but ok... when the nurse checks my vitals my blood pressure is 127/98 and for a 32 yr old that is high and I have a fever... I'm finally taken into the room and I'm waiting a hour. When she finally walks in she doesn't apologize but says the clock is fast when indeed it's actually late so it's still been a hr. She begins to ask me questions I answer them but notice and attitude and I ask why she proceeds to blame me and gets up and walks out and says she can't help me.. so apparently letting me die of high blood pressure, letting my fever be untreated and prescribing me alternative medicine is something she was unwilling to do. I have never been treated so bad let alone by a health professional. She should be sued for malpractice and never treat patients again
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 27th, 2015
Think twice before scheduling with this practice!!!!
Wait time
20 minutes
I have been going to dr Risks for many years and have seen it going in the wrong direction since the start of the weight loss and anti-aging clinics began. Dr Risks has decided to concentrate on the money, not the care. Staff turnover is like a revolving door -you never know who you will see! Then every time I was waiting for my appointment I was told they could test me for allergies and It wouldn't' cost me anything (only the insurance companies!!!) Then I noticed that they now had their own "pharmacy" All the while I was complaining to friends that I needed to find a new doctor. And I was noticing fewer and fewer people in their waiting room. The final straw was when I actually saw a memo handed out to staff telling them not to address more than 2 issues with a patient. Have them schedule another appointment. And we wonder why our insurance premiums are so high! This office will not be collecting anymore from my insurance company!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 15th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Riske genuinely wants to help his patients feel their very best and healthy!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 2nd, 2014
Rating this doctor a 1 is being generous! I thought I had found a great practice only to find out they are full of lies and unprofessionalism Inaccurate records, he's already been reported before . daughter lies for him and his wife at the front desk! They run a weight loss business and promotes nutrition.. Hmmmmm, another lie if you see them at the store..
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 21st, 2014
Ignored
I have been with Dr.Riske since 2012 and felt him very qualified in his field and has referred me to many good specialist but suddenly I was pushed and went from one person to another. He has even ignored me when he saw me in his lobby waiting for my appointment with another doctor. HOW RUDE IS THAT! His office staff is unreliable, they never call back! With all these reviews, it is a wonder he is still in business! There is one good outcome, I really like that doctor I'm with now but may just have to find another office inspite of my liking my doctor at this office .
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 8th, 2014
I had been with Dr Riske for many years. He was a great doctor. But, he has turned his back on his patients in lieu of running a weight loss and anti aging clinic. It appears that he doesn't practice internal medicine anymore. At my last visit, his staff were surprised that I was there for a physical. Then I looked around and saw that 99% of his clients are obese and are there to lose weight. If you want a good doc, you'll have to look elesewhere. So sad..
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 31st, 2013
Let down
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Riske was fantastic in the first few years of his independent practice, in the 1990s. I was really proud that I had found the "best possible doctor". Then little by little, he withdrew from internal and family medicine, at first being replaced by DOs, and then by PAs and Naturopaths. At his first location, at 13838 S 46th Place, his staff was super nice and very professional. But after he moved to his 4530 E. Ray Road location, his new staff is unprofessional, appears stressed and confused, obviously overworked, hence rude and hurried, except for one. I toughed it out for some time, but after a while, I wanted to touch base with whom I thought was my Primary Care Physician. I was shocked to hear that in spite of his office sign - Weight Loss Boot Camp, Internal Medicine & Anti-Aging - he now sees patients only for weight loss and fitness, geriatrics, Botox, and Latisse (eye lashes growth) treatment. In the 90s, he would talk with you until you are totally done with all of your issues. Later, he had his patients seen by physician assistants or skilled nurses, who were only allowed to discuss three issues. More recently, he has hired naturopaths and allows them to discuss only one issue. If he wanted to stop seeing patients as a primary care physician, he should have informed his patients instead of having them find out the hard way. Recently I needed a clarification concerning the advice of one of his staff, who told me to stop using medication to control my high cholesterol. I tried to call Dr. Riske to verify whether he agreed with that decision. I was told by his staff that he no longer returns phone calls. Gee!... I was only seeking one word from him: Yes or No. That was too much to ask...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
July 5th, 2012
Something seems funnyC
Wait time
10 minutes
I have been a patient of Marvin for more than seven years and I can't help to notice he has very high turnover. every time i go in he have new doctor seeing me. I asked once but he was vague. Just wondering why such high turnover? Can that be OK?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 28th, 2010
He dosn't have enough equipment to get you started.
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband and I waited 4o minutes only to find out that the monitors they have to give you is a two week or more wait. This is only the first step of many of this program. If you are looking to get started right away to loose weight, it is not going to happen. My gues is around a month. We cancelled and now are going to a different clinic
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 10th, 2010
Dr. Riske Needs To Catch A Clue
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
"Dr. Riske said the enough of the right things to get himself hired. However, he didn't do the right things and got himself fired." Dr. Riske is inept and certainly is one of those doctors who is only practicing for the money and (to top it off with the cherry)he has the worst bedside manner I have ever seen in a physician. Furthermore, he berates his patients and neither he nor comparabably or even more inept physicians assistants (PAs) can't diagnose your issues, then they become "psychotherapists" and tell you everything is in your head. And don't get me started on his incompetent office staff...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 24th, 2010
Doesn't care
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
WOW, I have never been to a Dr. with such terrible bedside manner. His attitude seems to be of the mindset not really in it for the care only money. If the dx. is not of simple mature he would prefer to not be bothered by you. Resulting in No care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Marvin Riske, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Chandler, AZ.

Doctor

Dr. Craig Primack

19 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Abraham Panossian

10 years experience

4.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Adam Lowe

18 years experience

4.4 of 5