ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Mary Hinckley Is this you?

Filter Reviews

16 Ratings • 5 Comments

3.2
  • 7
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
17 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Mary Hinckley?

Showing 12 of 16 Ratings

Only cares about her stats

Posted on November 19th, 2016

very charming 1st visit, then, thats it: no follow-up, no answers, her team doesn't respond and you're left on your own if you dare have any questions and worries in the future. Only cares about money. Her financial advisor is the worst and quite condescending. We regret wasting time and having to start from start.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Complete and utter waste of my time and money

Posted on November 19th, 2016

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

The Worst Doctor Ever.

Posted on August 12th, 2012

If you are going through difficulty conceiving and needing help desperately, you don't want to see this doctor to receive further discouragements. Only thing she wants is a good report card using you as a RACE HORSE for her selfishness. She would not like you if you have health issues. She would not like you if your test results were not ideal for having a baby. She says such as "Oh, you should give up and be happy with your life without kids."If we can be convinced by some remarks like this from Dr. Hinckley, we wouldn't come this far to see a specialist. She would embarrasses you. She would make you feel guilty for wanting a baby. She would give up on you because you are "TOO OLD" "TOO OBESE" "TOO UNHEALTHY" or whatever the reasons she doesn't want you as a patient. She wouldn't care if you already spent a good portion of treatment costs. By the way, we changed doctors after being upset by this rude doctor and successfully had beautiful twins despite the fact she said "you should give up. Your chance of having a baby is less than 5 %." Gosh we are glad we ignored some stupid lady like her!! Our best decision ever in our life. Shame on you, Dr. Hinckley!! It's so wrong to mislead your patients. If we believed your diagnosis, we wouldn't have had our life with our beautiful babies. Go back to school and take a Medical Ethic class.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Did not meet our needs

Posted on July 29th, 2011

Dr Hinckley was very nice and friendly. During our initial visits she listened and got us going on a plan. The diagnosis process was long but we felt well cared for and like we were moving towards positive progress. Sadly once we entered the IVF process we saw less and less of her. Appointments were scheduled with her and we would arrive to find a different doctor handling the case. Often a nurse practitioner or ultrasound tech would be the only person I would see during our visit. Calls were returned by an admin who answered every question with "I'll check with the Dr. and get back to you". This is fine but it seems very inefficient and we were rarely ever able to actually speak to our Dr. She was hardly involved in the entire IVF process unless something went wrong (I had some medication reactions). It started to feel like she was just covering her own butt (excuse the expression but that's what it seemed like). After a failed IVF she was compassionate but during our "debrief" visit she asked us a few questions that made it seem like she didn't even know what was going on with our case. We liked Dr Hinckley so we continued with her care as we tried again to get pregnant and this time the issues we were having already became worse. Again I barely saw her and even our nurse mentioned how strange it was that she was so absent from our case. Again she seemed only to get involved when something went wrong, as if she can't be bothered with us unless it might harm her practice. We failed to get pregnant and again we met with her to debrief what happened and how to proceed. She is very knowledgeable but clearly disconnected from her patients. We found out after the fact that she neglected to share with us some test results that would have changed our decision to go forward with the second (and quite costly) IVF. I personally had really liked her but realized she just doesn't have the time to take with her patients or review their information. I want to emphasize that this review is not negative because of our inability to get pregnant. It is about her ability to be available and help us make good decisions, which I don't feel she did. Also don't even get me started on the billing practices of her office. Stay away.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Compassionate and able to communicate

Posted on September 17th, 2008

Infertility was difficult for us emotionally, financially, and physically, as it probably is for almost anyone going through it. We had seen two other doctors before finding Dr. Hinckley. She was the first person who took the time to really explain what she was suggesting to do and why. She does tend to speak very fast, but she's ok with being interrupted and having to explain things over and over again. She also was very compassionate throughout. When we got the negative results along the way to finally getting pregnant, she called herself instead of having someone else do it. So if we were ready to jump back in and try right away, she was there to start another plan - she didn't leave us hanging and feeling like "we've tried it all so maybe we're just always going to be miserable and miss out of having children after all", and gave us that bit of hope that we needed to get through it all. She referred us to a great local therapist for dealing with the emotional tolls, and also a not-so-good acupuncturist that we quickly replaced. Overall, we owe her and the staff the amazing experience of being pregnant and being parents. If the treatments didn't in fact work out, I truly believe she would have steered us to either adoption, egg donation, surrogacy, or one of the other options that would have given us the parenthood experience that we wanted. She really cares!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 1st, 2017

Three Stars

Posted on March 22nd, 2017

Two Stars

Posted on March 22nd, 2017

One Star

Posted on November 8th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on October 28th, 2016

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on June 4th, 2016

Four Stars

Posted on February 2nd, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Mary Hinckley is similar to the following 3 Doctors near San Ramon, CA.