Dr. Mary Self MD Patient Reviews

  • Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism Louisville, KY

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 54 patient ratings
  • 25 comments

Last 12 months:

3.8 (+ 0.2)

54 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    54%
  • Great
    4%
  • Good
    9%
  • Poor
    7%
  • Bad
    26%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 23.7 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
May 18th, 2017
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr. Mary Self for 20 years. She is an awesome doctor and always looks for the best treatment for me. She answers all questions clearly and provides me with important education as necessary. I would highly recommend her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 11th, 2016
Wonderful Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I love Dr. Self. She was very thorough and listened to me. I wish I lived closer because I would have kept her all the time, but she told me if I ever needed her or I had further problems that I should come back and see her.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 10th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been seeing dr. self for about 16 years. She stays up to date with medical research. She offers new therapies with the pros and cons as they would apply to me. As a nurse, I very much appreciate the education she offers. Over and above these qualities, she is personable and compassionate with me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 8th, 2016
Dr Self actually writes out for you what she explaining
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Self has taken care of me for years, after my thyroid cancer. She is so thorough, and succinct, which I appreciate. She has a unique style of educating you about your disease. She takes out pen and paper says "I'm going to be your secretary" and details in a very easy to understand way exactly what she is telling you, on every visit (I don't have to try to keep it straight) She stays current, and after attending the World Conference on Thyroid Cancer shared new research with me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 21st, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to this practice for years, although I personally liked Dr. Self the practice seemed to be unorganized. For each appointment Dr. Self ran at least 45 minutes behind. The last visit and the last straw was when I was asked to sit outside the examining room because they were running behind, the staff must not have been notified that I was sitting there because they were discussing my information and said bad things about me. I have never been treated so poorly at a medical facility in my life. Dr. Self was completely unapologetic. Steer clear of this practice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 9th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
exceptional doctor that is willing to listen, gives you all the time you need and has excellent follow up instructions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 21st, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Self is always up to date on latest medical advances and is very helpful with any medical issue. I have really appreciated her advice and encouragement.

4.0 of 5
March 25th, 2015
Great Doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr Self for about two and half years. She is very personable and professional. I have never felt rushed and she explains things in a way that's easy to understand. I will continue to go to her for my care.

1.0 of 5
February 19th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
mis read labs and told me TSH levels are high when after receiving a copy, they are low. Was advised by Dr to go somewhere else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 10th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Mary Self is the best thyroid doctor. She is very patient, spends as much time with you as needed, and is very informative. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 13th, 2013
Ughhh....
It's been a little over two years that I've been seeing Dr. Self and from day one I wanted to immediately switch doctors (however I haven't had the opportunity to do so yet). I've seen her around ten times to get my thyroid levels where they need to be and every time she's been cold, snobby, lacks empathy, and rushes like she has no time for the individual patient. I would not recommend her to ANYONE! Her staff is friendly but I don't ever want to see her face again! :)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 22nd, 2013
Unbelievable
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Second time I have seen her. Waited 2 hours...then dr. Self spent 5 minutes with me. My levels have been up and down and she was really worried. When new set of blood work came back normal she basically said see you. Even though they registered normal this time they were just abnormal and was she freakin' out over them. All I can say is this is what's wrong with most docs. And she came highly recommended....sheesh!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Mary Self, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Louisville, KY.