The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Mary Wise Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Mary Wise?

Ratings and Reviews

25 Ratings with 8 Comments

  • Excellent
    15
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    4
  • Excellent
    15
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
23.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 25 Ratings with 8 Comments

5.0 Rating

December 30th, 2015

She is a gift!

The only doctor to help me after being sick and going to many many doctors for 3 years!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 17th, 2012

She's 30 years ahead of my last doctor. I feel 30 years younger.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 9th, 2011

Missed basic medical diagnosis for over a year

I'm a former patient of Dr. Wise for over a decade. I liked the fact that she offered supplements to treatment and gave me options, considering the "whole" instead of treating parts and symptoms. For that period I was very happy but mostly saw her then P.A. who I liked very much. However, when I fell ill, I perceived Dr. Wise to become quite aloof and went on a wild goose chase of products she sells at her office at retail markup, and expensive tests not covered by insurance, she missed a very obvious basic inexpensive test: my thyroid. After well over a year of agony, feeling like a hypochondriac, physical/emotional/psychological deterioration, barely being able to hold a full coffee cup, much less my job, I was diagnosed with Graves Disease almost immediately after a simple blood test. Additionally, she sent out a letter refusing to accept my insurance any longer effective immediately a month AFTER the enrollment period where I could have made choices to switch to a carrier she still accepted. I felt it was time to seek a more compassionate Dr. who I felt was able to tune in to me. It may have been a difficult time for her as a business person as well as a physician, but I did not approve of the way she chose to handle her affairs or her practice in relation to my health!

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 24th, 2011

Quackery. Spent a ton of money on "allergy tests" which I found from multiple sources have no value other than being expensive. My kid would have starved to death for nothing if I listened!!!Was also told by others that undertreating asthma with the treatments suggested can cause permanent damage and scar tissue. BEWARE!!!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

March 28th, 2011

Not What I Was Expecting

Unfortunately, I had high hopes based on Dr. Mary Claire Wise's website. She basically treats with Supplements like Dr.'s treat with prescriptions. If you react to any supplements, this may not be the route for you. Most people who would want to seek the Dr. Wise route probably already take supplements and have educated themselves about them. She uses Metagenics, which may or may not be higher grade. They still contain lots of fillers and inactive ingredients. It took a couple of months to get in and see her, then I had to save $ to follow through with the diagnostic tests which may or may not be covered under your insurance. They were not inexpensive. I think there is still and underlying cause of my deficiencies and symptoms which has not been uncovered. When I do have appointments with her, I am constantly looking at the time because the appointments are expensive and not covered by my insurance. They are based on the time you are with the Dr. So, I don't feel I have time to delve into all the points I want to and have to be choosy with my time. Annie in the office is exceptional. She is the best part of the practice. Follow up is left up to me. Dr. Wise is good about testing for things most Doctors wouldn't think to test for. When I couldn't take the supplements, its been left up to me to figure out what else might work for me. Kind of feeling still lost.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

January 7th, 2011

Seems more interested in making money than helping patients. Charges by the minute. Does not take insurance. Very expensive. Prescribes many supplements but does not keep tract of duplication of ingredients. Can end up taking too much of certain ingredients. Disappointing experience.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 21st, 2010

The best of the best

I am a former patient of Dr. Wise and I still have the best memories of her fine qualities of compassion, understanding, and wisdom when I went to her. She offered options of holistic or standard medicine, with explanations of both. I really miss someone with standards as high as hers!!

Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 8th, 2009

The #1 Doctor in Rochester Area!
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

January 19th, 2017

3.0 Rating

August 19th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

June 6th, 2016

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

March 29th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Mary Wise is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Rochester, NY.

  • Dr. Craig Sillick

    Dr. Craig Sillick

    Family Medicine

    Rochester, NY 0.79 mi

    4.4
    (9)
    10
  • Dr. Angela St Clair

    Family Medicine

    Rochester, NY 0.79 mi

    4.3
    (8)
  • Dr. Surag Patel

    Dr. Surag Patel

    Family Medicine

    Rochester, NY 0.79 mi

    4.0
    (1)
    5