ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Matthew Carmody Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Matthew Carmody?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Matthew Carmody?

Ratings and Reviews

29 Ratings with 13 Comments

  • Excellent
    24
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    4
  • Excellent
    24
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
21 min
Appropriate Followup

Showing 29 Ratings with 13 Comments

5.0 Rating

May 30th, 2016

Dr. Carmody is an exceptionally wise and sensitive person, a dedicated and empathic physician, a careful and intelligent diagnostician, and a far-sighted therapist. All that, and a capacity for clear communication, a teacher as well as a healer. He understands --and treats-- his patients as complex persons, whose health depends on their psychological and social as well as their physical conditions.

Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 11th, 2015

Wonderful, caring, compassionate doctor who is great with discussing and diagnosing symptoms with patients.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 23rd, 2014

Pinnacle of healthcare providers

Dr. Carmody is, hands-down, the very best that the medical profession can offer. Other reviews have credited Dr. Carmody's wonderful professional attributes, but I find they just don't do enough justice. Healthcare should be about results, but unfortunately the system was not developed that way so many patients feel rushed, overwhelmed and patronized when they have to see a generalist or specialist. Dr. Carmody's demeanor shuns such trends as he approaches each patient (I know because two generations of our family go to him) and every appointment with undivided attention and utter thoughtfulness.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 11th, 2013

Best doctor experience of my life.

I just met with Dr. Carmody for the first time and I could not be more pleased. I was promptly called in and barely waited at all. I saw the nurse for a few minutes and got a flu shot. Then I met with Dr. Carmody and he was incredible. He introduced himself and began asking questions about how I found him and what my healthy concerns and goals were. He really took the time to listen and then provided great feedback and ideas on some of the things I was looking to do (get in better shape, etc). He asked about family history of health issues, did a thorough exam, and recommended some blood work to check my vitals. I was just so impressed with his demeanor, the amount he listened, and the time he spent with me. It did not feel rushed or anything. I trust his expertise and am so glad he's my doctor!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 4th, 2013

The best PCP doctor

Dr. Carmody has been my PCP for the last 18 years. I have received excellent care for all this time. He has been always available in case of an urgent office visit. He is very good at listening to my various health problems. I recommend him most highly

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 26th, 2012

Excellent care

Dr Carmody is one of the most knowledgeable and caring primary care physicians. He takes adequate time to listen to concerns, and carefully addresses them one by one. His staff follows up as promised. I have a condition that was difficult to diagnose since little is known about it in the medical community. Dr Carmody was able to review relevant medical information and scientific research and help me with the solution. Truly the kind of healthcare professional who is able to focus on patient needs.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 29th, 2012

No doctor I've seen has ever been more empathetic, generous and effective

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 24th, 2011

only doctor of his quality can afford such a horrible stuff!!!!

besides the office manager, who is absolutely amazing, talking to ANY other front office girls, not ladies, is a torture - unprofessional; poor, incorrect, gramarless english, unable to understand the simplest questions, constantly trying to get rid of you - only the union keeps them in their jobs!

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 1st, 2010

Amazing doctor!!!

Dr Carmody is a great medical doctor who holistically treats his patients. He listens and if you are being obtuse, he gently probes for more information. He always comes up with the answer-- and if he can't help you himself --he refers you to a an excellent specialist who can. Unfortunately, he isn't accepting new patients, but perhaps you can get in with one of his colleagues.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 20th, 2010

I'm lucky to have him as my doctor!

Dr. Carmody has an old-fashioned regard for his patients with a very modern knowledge of medicine. He's a great diagnostician and open-minded about treatment options. He is probably the best doctor I've dealt with in my adult life.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 7th, 2009

Great doc if you have the time

I can see why Dr. Carmody got behind in his schedule. I was just there for a routine physical, and he spent a great deal of time with me. He explained things well and didn't talk down to me.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 10th, 2009

Good Dr with the worst staff in the business

I'm typically healthy and do not need to see a Dr very often. The last time I saw Dr Carmody was several years ago. His manner and knowledge appeared to be better than average.Since then I tried to schedule a new visit. His staff didn't want to talk to me because I'm not a frequent patient. After explaining to them that he's still my Dr even if I don't see him every month, they stated that it's "been too long" and that he will not see me. They also said that even if he agreed to see me, the next appointment they'd book would be 7 months from now! He's a nice Dr but it's not worth dealing with his staff. He needs to improve the "front-office" of his business. We all deserve to be treated like a humans and not a meal ticket. Hopefully he'll realize how his staff affects his reputation.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Matthew Carmody is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Cambridge, MA.

  • Dr. Daniel Solomon

    Internal Medicine, Rheumatology

    Cambridge, MA 0 mi

    4.0
    (2)
    31
  • Dr. Madalon Meany

    Dr. Madalon Meany

    Internal Medicine

    Cambridge, MA 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    30
  • Dr. Cynthia McGinn

    Dr. Cynthia McGinn

    Emergency Medicine, Internal Medicine

    Cambridge, MA 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    37