The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Matthew Engelbrecht Is this you?
  • 11
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
20.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Matthew Engelbrecht?


17 Ratings with 7 Comments

1.0 Rating

July 6th, 2016

What happened to the oath you took?

What kind of dr refuses to see a patient who calls in crying & begging to be seen? What kind dr decides he can't help someone he's never met based on previous test results? What kind of dr claims to care about patients yet plays God in deciding on if he will treat them or not? The answer to all 3 questions, Dr Engelbrecht! What happened to the oath you took?

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 19th, 2016

I have been seeing Dr. Englebrecht for several years now and have been treated with great professional care. So far he has been honest and has had not been afraid to actually "treat" the diagnosis/symptoms rather than just send me home to "deal with it then best you can" as other neurologists have done. For this my life has been better and I am grateful.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 4th, 2014

Dr. Engelbrecht does an amazing job taking care of all his patients. Best Neurologist!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 7th, 2013

Stay away from this doctor

I called with severe pain as I was already his patient from 2 years for and was told that he could not see me for TWO months.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

May 22nd, 2013

Good Doctor.....not so good staff

I would give Dr. Engelbrecht 4 stars if it weren't for a particular staff member named Gretchen, who has done nothing but make getting prescriptions, medical equipment and stuff that I need due to MS difficult to get. She has screwed up my financial assistance, won't fax prescriptions to my pharmacy or fax needed documents to other providers who are helping me obtain a power chair that I need. Gretchen is the worst administrative assistant I've ever experienced.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 15th, 2011

Jamie Calhoun

Dr. Engelbrecht was my neurologist at UNC-Chapel Hill. I wish all of my doctors were like him.He's very caring. He will take extra time to listen, answer questions and explain things. He shows determination to find out what is wrong and find the best path to treat the problem.Anyone who sees Dr. Engelbrecht is a lucky person. Be honored to have him help you and appreciate him.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 17th, 2009

UNAVAILABLE

SUPERIOR PHYSICIAN WITH "TOP NOTCH" KNOWLEDGE/INS AND OUTS OF "NEUROLOGY". EXCELLENT BEDSIDE MANNER.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 1st, 2017

5.0 Rating

December 28th, 2016

5.0 Rating

June 3rd, 2016

4.0 Rating

September 14th, 2015

4.0 Rating

September 7th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Matthew Engelbrecht is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Asheville, NC.

  • Dr. Robert Armstrong

    Neurology, Psychiatry

    Asheville, NC

    4.3
    (22)
    24
  • Dr. James Patton

    Dr. James Patton

    Neurology, Psychiatry

    Asheville, NC

    3.8
    (55)
    28
  • Dr. Harry Taub

    Adolescent Medicine, Psychiatry, Child Psychiatry

    Asheville, NC 1.18 mi

    4.8
    (6)
    12