Dr. Matthew Ewend MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.6
  • 26 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.4)

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    88%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Wait Time 28.6 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

5.0 of 5
August 25th, 2016
Impressive in Manner and Performance
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I like his willingness to answer questions and the way he follows through following surgery. Also, the bow tie's a nice touch! Seriously, he is clearly an expert practitioner, and I appreciate his efforts on my behalf.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 6th, 2014
Dr Ewend is great but the nurse navigator is nonexistent afterwards
Dr Ewend performed surgery on our daughters cancerous brain tumor. While he was excellent in explaining the surgery, performing the surgery and post op, he emphasized the "team" approach which would follow her through this horrendous ordeal of chemo etc. The team was to consist of a nurse navigator who could answer questions, order chemo and set up appointments. She is a joke. She doesnt answers questions, she forgot to order the 2nd round of chemo even after 3 days of emails inquiring about it, leaving us feeling as though we are on a deserted island rather than part of a team. Trust Dr Ewend's ability to do surgery but don't look for a team to follow you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 12th, 2012
Amazing!
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Ewend is a great doctor! His manner completely put me at ease! Facing brain surgery and he has the ability to make you feel completely comfortable! I love that he has a sense of humor too! Always a great thing! Dr Ewend strives for the best and I believe that he is the best! If you have a choice of which neurosurgeon to you go to,choose Dr Ewend!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 12th, 2012
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He didn't listen to me when he was in the room with me. And got rid of me quick and didn't diagnose me at all and sent me back to my physician. He was very cold and barely made any eye contact.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 4th, 2011
Best Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would recommend Dr. Ewend to anyone who is facing brain surgery. I had a massive brain tumor that was close to my brain stem and it took him over 7 hours to remove it. He took great care to make sure I knew all of my options and once I decided on have surgery to remove the tumor, he explained the entire process and left me without questions. He spends so much time with you at your appointments and never makes you feel rushed to get out. Dr. Ewend is one of the most friendly doctors I've ever met. I also don't like it when doctors sugar coat things and he managed to be direct about my situation without scaring me to death. Without a doubt, this man saved my life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 4th, 2010
ms. nadine cofield
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ewend is an excellent doctor. I had to be operated on three times for brain tumors and each time he did an excellent job. My follow up care was excellent. I thank Dr. Ewend for saving my life when the local hospital had know idea what was happening to me. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 19th, 2009
excellent surgeon
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ewend is an excellent neurosurgeon. He did a very complex craniotomy on me to remove a lesion near my brainstem. His bedside manner just can't be beat either! I had to wait a while for him on my office visits BUT it is because he never rushes you and spends as much time necessary with you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 25th, 2009
Saved my life.
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
What luck I had when I ended up with Dr. Ewend after having a seizure at work one night last august. It was my good fortune that my local hospital didn't have the ability to treat my brain tumor, to get the 3 hour ambulance ride that saved me. I'll be forever grateful to him and his staff, as I wasn't the best patient to be around! He's very forthcoming with the important info you need to stay alive.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 13th, 2009
Great Dr.
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ewend saved my eyesight and fixed my brain
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Matthew Ewend, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Chapel Hill, NC.

Doctor

Dr. Adeolu Olasunkanmi

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Eldad Hadar

25 years experience

3.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jeffrey Aucoin

be the first to rate this Doctor