Dr. Matthew Hogan MD Patient Reviews

  • Urology Spring, TX

Overall Rating

3.4
  • 19 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

2.3 (-1.1)

19 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    53%
  • Great
    5%
  • Good
    5%
  • Poor
    5%
  • Bad
    32%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 13.6 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
February 18th, 2017
not caring
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
does not care
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 30th, 2016
Rude Uncaring Arrogant SOB
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was in the hospital a month after having kidney stones. I was in extreme pain and could not urinate. He came to see me because I was admitted into the hospital for urinary retention. When he saw me he didn’t examine me or let me talk about the symptoms I was having. He said “ You have a UTI, you’ve urinated once and you can go home,” and he left my room. He was very rude, condescending, and arrogant. I heard him yelling at my nurse after he left my room about why I was even admitted. I hadn’t urinated in almost 12 hours and I was receiving IV fluids. A few days later, I saw an urologist not in his group, who listened, examined me, and diagnosed me with a severe UTI and a condition unrelated to the UTI that was causing the extreme pain. I would never go to the physician again nor recommend him to anyone else. I only gave him one star because I couldn't give less than that!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 4th, 2015
Visit on August 3rd
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. HOGAN is very professional and also takes the time to listen and ask questions. He is concerned about the overall wellness of me as an individual.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 29th, 2015
do not go here. Dr hogan does NOT understand kidney stone pain
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
To start off the staff is extremely rude and insensitive. Especially the one lady who answers the phone. Dr hogan doesn't seem to understand the pain of a kidney stone. Hopefully one day he will get one and have a better understanding. Wants more tests and more money. Prescribed tramadol which doesn't work when a stone is trying to pass and when you ask for something stronger you have to jump thru hoops to be told yet another test is needed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
May 5th, 2015
Great Doctor, Poor Front Desk Staff
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'm having a hard time being seen at a time that is good for me. Perhaps that means Dr. Hogan has a large client base and he, being only one doctor, can't meet the growing client base demands. His front desk staff is, simply put, rude; very, very rude. I dread having to interact with those people as they are very standoffish and short. No eye contact, no smiles... you feel like you are bothering them in some way. Often when I call, I am transferred while I am in the middle of sentence. Most of the time, I am transferred to an answering machine where I leave a message. I have to call back days later and follow up on my own message. Dr. Hogan is a great urologist and his nurses are, for the most part, friendly. But with a rude front desk staff and inconvenient appointment times, I'm on the hunt for a new urologist.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 18th, 2015
Not for children
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I took my 17 year old daughter to him. He was getting aggravated with me cause I was confused on questions he was asking. He put a catheter in my daughter due to severe urinary retention. After we came back to get catheter out, he said she'd have to train her bladder to work. If we have to do catheter for a while, he rudely said to my mentally disabled child, she'd have to learn to Cather herself. Won't be going to this Doctor again!!! Oh! He also said there's nothing to help with her urinary retention. Well her other doctor is treating her for urinary retention, till we can find a nicer urologist. I give him 5 stars on being a butthole to children.

5.0 of 5
February 27th, 2015
Review of Dr. Hogan
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
I find Dr. Hogan very personable, very forthcoming and interested in my welfare. Yes, I would enthusiastically recommend him to others
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 1st, 2013
Much Appreciated!!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
I went with my Mother to her appointment with Dr. Hogan. She is 89 and our experience with most of her other doctors has been that they tend to look ME in the eye to talk about HER. Like she would not be able to hear/understand them. Well, we were not even to the elevator yet when she commented on how nice it was that when he talked to her he looked at her and when he talked to me he looked at me. It has come up several more times, since our visit, about how we appreciated that and what a nice man he was. We will certainly recommend him to our friends.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 28th, 2013
Put me at ease
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hogan put me at ease after finding out that I had been diagnosed with kidney cancer. He didn't speak to me in medicalese. He spoke to me and my family in layman's terms and answered all of our questions. He even called me at home to answer my questions that I had forgotten to ask. He was very reassuring to me about my surgery and the outcome. I even spoke to him about him some very embarrassing symptoms and he handled it with understanding and compassion. I highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 6th, 2012
Not for children
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Hogan should not work with children. My 9 year old son was nervous and embarrassed about why he was there and Dr. Hogan did not address that at all. When he went to examine my son, he didn't tell him what he was going to do, he was not gentle even when my son said that it hurt. And then he yelled at my son and told him that he should be ashamed of himself. I don't know how he is with adults, but he is not one for kids. I will be looking for a pediatric urologist.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 12th, 2010
Dr. Matthew M. Hogan
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My overall experience was great, especially for having to see a Urologist. Dr. Hogan explained my options regarding Erectile Dysfunction. I highly recommend Dr. Hogan. He's part of a large group of Urologists that are very involved with their patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
November 28th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Matthew Hogan, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Spring, TX.