The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Matthew Matava Is this you?
  • 14
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
12 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Matthew Matava?


18 Ratings with 6 Comments

5.0 Rating

August 16th, 2016

HE WAS THE BEST AND SO WAS HIS STAFF

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

November 11th, 2015

This is the type of Dr. that gives Dr.'s a bad name. Wait time is always 30-45 minutes (he is overbooked for revenue purposes). Flip side, what would happen if he waited? Communication is horrible. Arrogant. Questions are viewed as a nuisance. Believes that a teenager has the mental capacity to have a medical conversation on their own. Well, teenagers require a parental signature, them to be present for procedures and x-rays. The law doesn't follow the Dr.'s mentality. ER call due to complications. Called back an hour later, annoyed, no apologies, and proceeded to scold based on his needs and his assertion that if it "was in the packet" then it was discussed. Also in the packet after surgery are forms that don't apply to my child (pt which did not apply). So, if you are looking for a "name" with an arrogant attitude, he is your guy. Don't let the title and all the "signed pictures" fool you, they have fooled him into thinking he is a good Dr. We still don't know if the procedure took but him "marketing" on being a sports orthopedic surgeon is nonsense. There is no cohesiveness between explaining the procedure and how it applies to the sport, therapy, or recovery. Just put the surgery on the books, do the surgery, and don't ask questions. That is what you get.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 9th, 2015

Appointment staff were terrific!

Not only did the staff get me an appointment for the same day I called for my daughter, when my 18 year old decided she didn't need to see a doctor after all, they were gracious and equally accommodating. Dr. Matava was recommended to me by an orthopedic surgeon who has moved away from St. Louis. I was told: "Dr. Matava is who I would send my daughter if she needed an orthopedist."

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 4th, 2015

Best doc ever

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 24th, 2013

Retired...Former Boeing Director

Dr Matava is terrific. He shows he cares. As was shown in the video, he has also experienced a knee injury. I am so glad the "God of Knees" is my Orthopedic Surgeon. I very much enjoy his humor. It helps a lot when you are not feeling 100%.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 25th, 2010

An excellent surgeon.

I went in to see him after years of suffering through ACL issues, which led to quite a few cases of both my knees buckling even with just normal activities. Dr Matava was quite careful in his diagnosis, and he gave me the option of doing a bilateral ACL reconstructive surgery, or do it one at a time. I chose the bilateral ACL, and it was a wise move. The surgery went fine, and I started walking without a crutch in about a couple days, and onto doing physical therapy 3 days or so. Amazing. And within 14 days, I could walk fairly normal, and healed very well in about 2 months or so, if memory serves me right. His follow-up visits were just fine, and his overall treatment was just at the level I expected from a top-notch surgeon. Thanks Dr. Matava!

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 14th, 2017

4.0 Rating

January 19th, 2017

5.0 Rating

October 28th, 2016

5.0 Rating

June 2nd, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

April 5th, 2015

1.0 Rating

February 22nd, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Matthew Matava is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Chesterfield, MO.

  • Dr. Cara Cipriano

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Chesterfield, MO 0 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    6
  • Dr. Jeffrey Boyer

    Orthopedic Surgery, Surgery of the Hand

    Chesterfield, MO 0 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    6
  • Dr. Daniel Kang

    Orthopedic Surgery of the Spine, Orthopedic Surgery, Residency

    Chesterfield, MO 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    5