The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Matthew Schmidt Is this you?
  • 10
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
  • 3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
37.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Matthew Schmidt?


16 Ratings with 5 Comments

5.0 Rating

October 26th, 2013

Very Satisfied

I have seen both doctors in the practice- Dr. Schmidt and Dr. Schultz. I have been a patient in the practice for many years. I am satisfied that I am getting the highest level of care and expertise for my condition. The office is conveniently located and the physicians are always available if you have a problem. They are easy to talk to and understanding. I would absolutely recommend them to any one.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 27th, 2013

Very satisfied

I would definitely recommend Dr. Schmidt for eye care and surgery. My whole family sees him and saw his father before him. He is extremely thorough and knowledgable. He took his time with me and answered all my questions. The optical helped me choose the right glasses and were very prompt. I think he is in high demand so on some days there may be a longer wait. But if you are looking for thorough care and treatment, he is definitely worth the wait.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

January 17th, 2013

Knows what he's doing but has no manners

This doctor is an excellent doctor for CATARACTS. If you have them and want them out he is your man. All other issues especially routine exam for glasses should be done else where as his wait time is over 3 hours, staff is very unpleasant, especially in the optical, and this doctor has ZERO bedside manner. Take it from someone who was there ALOT, this doctor is all about his money, packs way too many appts into one day and that is why it is a 3 hour wait. Unless he is doing your cataract surgery, go elsewhere.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 26th, 2012

Mother

I took my daughter to see Dr. Schmidt for an eye problem.. He was very compassionate and diagnosed the problem quickly. His office staff was very courteous and professional. I highly recommend him.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 16th, 2012

Too long of a wait for a doctor who does not care.

The wait time for this doctor is over 3 hours and it is not worth it for the care you get and the attitude of the office staff.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

October 12th, 2017

5.0 Rating

May 19th, 2016

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

December 11th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

December 3rd, 2015

5.0 Rating

August 9th, 2015

5.0 Rating

July 20th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

4.0 Rating

June 13th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Matthew Schmidt is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Palos Heights, IL.

  • Dr. Kara Schultz

    Dr. Kara Schultz

    Ophthalmology

    Palos Heights, IL 0.01 mi

    4.1
    (8)
    14
  • Dr. Calvin Grant

    Dr. Calvin Grant

    Ophthalmology

    Palos Heights, IL 0.19 mi

    4.4
    (28)
    21
  • Dr. Scott Siegner

    Dr. Scott Siegner

    Ophthalmology

    Palos Heights, IL 0.19 mi

    4.0
    (1)
    28