ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Matthew Surgan Is this you?
  • 35
  • 1
  • 2
  • 4
  • 4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
11.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Matthew Surgan?


46 Ratings with 8 Comments

5.0 Rating

July 7th, 2017

He knows how to talk to you explaining in terms you can understand. Great personality feel very comfortable talking to him.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 1st, 2015

And this guy is a doctor???

How is it that if your a little bit late for your appointment (10 minutes), then make you wait 45 minutes only to be ultimately told the doctor won't see you because you were late??? If that is how you treat people let alone patients, God help anyone that entrusts their care to this guy who poses as a doctor.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

March 20th, 2015

follow up is horrible

Dr. Surgan was good for the initial visit taking the time to talk and recommend testing. However, the staff is absolutely horrible my test results came back all negative and it was days of calling to even get results even though I was told they were all received and at the doctor. When I asked for a follow up call from the doctor to discuss next steps, since obviously I was still having the symptoms that caused me the visit in the first place, I was called back 4 days later and told by a receptionist Dr. Surgan says go back to your primary. So basI call he will send u for initial testing just a board of tests that seem like his routine go to, and if they come back negative you are left Hugh and dry unable to speak to him again. Definitely would not recommend him if you are looking for a thorough doctor who will listen to your symptoms and help you find a cause for symptoms. Honestly, just good for writing a s rip and sending you to a lab. Very disappointed.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 28th, 2012

Dr. Surgan is very thorough, observant, and I feel I am fortunate to be his patient. He is down to earth, explains things well, and is gentle and caring. I have only good things to say about him. It is great to find a doctor who is so conscientious.His nurse is also very kind and caring.The office staff are iffy however, depending on what kind of mood they're in, nice sometimes, and abrupt and can be a bit rude at times. Kaden is the exception, and is always very nice and helpful.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

December 28th, 2011

Disappointed

The staff didn't have my medical records when I got there, even though they got my old doctor's info. The doctor wasn't impressive. He did spend more time with me than most will, but he didn't seem very caring or interested in my situation. I went for labs and he called me a week later with the results. He called in the prescription and when I called to find out what it was, it turns out it was what I had been on before. I had explained to him during my visit that it wasn't good for me, that I had heart palpitations on it. Even my old blood-work showed the dose was too high. I left a message to get a different dose, and he called 2 days later wondering what the problem was. I explained that my body was sensitive and even at a lower dose I could feel side effects. He said that wasn't possible. That it takes weeks to get into the bloodstream. He finally agreed on the lower dose, but when I went to pick it up, it wasn't there. He never called it in. He seems lazy, uncaring, and narrow minded.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

March 29th, 2011

Dr. Surgan has a very nice, professional manner and explains things very clearly. He seems to genuinely care about his patients.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 18th, 2010

After seeing 2 other Endocrinologists I saw Dr. Surgan who spent a very generous amount of time interviewing me and answering all my questions, then examining me more thoroughly than I have ever been examined before. This was thrilling for me because he's very easy on the eyes and I didn't mind him having his hands all over me!Once we were done he sent me for labs and called me 2 days later with results and instructions. I've been back to see him a few times since, and I've never felt better!WOW!

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 26th, 2009

Excellent Doctor

Dr. Surgan took extensive time with me to discuss my medical issues. I was very pleased with him.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 23rd, 2017

5.0 Rating

October 9th, 2017

1.0 Rating

August 4th, 2017

1.0 Rating

August 4th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Matthew Surgan is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Summit, NJ.

  • Dr. Daniel Markley

    Internal Medicine

    Summit, NJ 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    10
  • Dr. Jaime Cancel

    Hospitalist, Internal Medicine

    Summit, NJ 0 mi

    4.7
    (5)
    11
  • Dr. Robert Sussman

    Dr. Robert Sussman

    Pulmonary Disease, Internal Medicine

    Summit, NJ 0 mi

    4.6
    (13)
    35